Skip to content

Catching Up on My Mail

August 19, 2010

Ash -

Dear Blogging World,

I am sorry for the disappearing act yesterday. I promise we made it to Waco safely. It’s just crazy settling back in for the senior year! Books to pick up. Allergy injections to drop off. Freshmen to stare at (and silently curse at for taking all the parking). By the time I realized we hadn’t blogged, I was curled up with my pesto tortellini, zucchini, a glass of wine, and a movie. I still love y’all though!

Welcome to your senior year, Ashley :)

***********************

To: Target

From: Your Adoring Customer

Oh Target. You are a true friend. A $10 office lamp? Yes please. 4 chip bag clips for a $1? Sure those could be useful. 20 hangers for $2? Just what I needed! A $1 box of pretzel stick bags? Yum. I love these back to school sales so much. Although thank goodness I went shopping before the students “officially” move in today. I remember those times…. pretty sure my family made 2 or 3 trips to Target that first weekend. And that’s not even including any trips to Walmart or Bed Bath & Beyond. So glad I’ll be in Vegas instead.

***********************

Memo: This Afternoon

Remember to stop watching The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air and leave your cereal companion to go to work! You are supposed to help train the new SI (Supplemental Instruction) leaders*. Remind them that it’s okay to be nervous. There will be students that hold up their newspapers or listen to their music while you are trying to teach. There will be students that think and will let you know that SI is not worth their time. That’s okay. Because you are helping someone. Mostly likely multiple someones. Often half if not a full letter grade higher kind of help. The statistics have already proven it!

*If your school doesn’t have a SI program, it’s “facilitated review sessions.” Essentially a group tutoring program (free for the students). “Leaders” already took the class and did well. They are then paid to attend the class again, get to know the students, and hold bi-weekly study sessions. For example, I mostly work with new honors freshmen in biology 1.

***********************

Dear Pioneer Woman,

Your new photography assignment is a good one. The theme? Love (click me!). You’re really choosing some great pictures to post. I can’t wait to see who you select as the winner. Maybe I should convince my mother to submit one of hers?

************************

Attn: College Apartment

I would really appreciate it if you wouldn’t get so dusty while I’m gone. It’s not good for my allergies. Plus I’ve already spent hours trying to whip you in shape…. you’re still winning.  But give me a couple more days and we’ll see about that. However, I love having the extra bedroom this year. It’s going to be wonderful to have my own office (rather than studying on the comfy bed where I somehow always seem to get sleepy). That is all.

My old high school desk that we hauled up here. Boy did it need a good dusting.

***********************

This post was short and sweet. Just like the shower I need to go take. But have a great Thursday everyone. Matt should be dropping in to leave a message this afternoon. Be back for Quick Takes tomorrow!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2010 9:48 am

    I wish I was curled up with a bowl of pasta, glass of wine and a movie! Except it’s not even ten in the morning yet… We’ll just overlook that little fact.

  2. August 19, 2010 2:47 pm

    I kind of miss my college apartment! I hope the semester will go well for you, though I don’t really doubt that it will!

  3. August 23, 2010 9:59 pm

    Ash-
    You won the giveaway on my blog! You need to send me your email address (send it to pinkpunch at gmail dot com). I tried sending an email to the one you guys had listed in your About Me section, but haven’t gotten a reply yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

