Skip to content

Thursday Thoughts

September 2, 2010

Ashley -

Good morning everyone… well sort of. There’s a big storm brewing outside my window. Makes the morning feel a little less “good.” Especially when you have to go out into that rain for classes. Plus your puppy hates the rain (even though I tried to put an umbrella over her, she still made a wild sprint back to the apartment door). But hey at least I’m finally writing posts again!

So what has been going on since the last post I wrote a thousand years ago? Well you heard about our new addition here at the Double Shot:

Elly really does love her Mr. Bear.

We also made our last trip of the summer to Sin City. If only I could have recorded our mad dash to Cirque du Soleil’s LOVE.. Let me put it this way. 15 minutes until the show. 25-30 minute walk. Taxi line a mile long. Over 100 degrees outside. Running in a little black summer dress. We made it with time to spare. I guess the people who couldn’t afford a show that night got lucky.

Prior in the day we picked up the tickets. Good thing we got pictures then.

We got back around midnight on Sunday and made the drive to Waco. When I told that to my teacher the next morning, her response was, “Wellllll you must be a senior!” That’s right. I am a senior. Woop! Last year of college! How did we get here so fast?

Classes are going fairly well. I’m taking biochemistry, aerobic running (yuck), philosophy and medicine, classical mythology (my teacher is hilarious not to mention looks/sounds like Matthew McConaughey), cross cultural health communications, and a couple of thesis hours. Add that to my job where I attend an honors freshman biology class every MWF and hold review sessions Tuesday and Thursday evenings. Busy semester, indeed.

Speaking of busy school years, I can’t believe my baby sister is a senior in high school. She’ll be applying to colleges soon?!?! She’s getting her own “little sister?” (Our high school does a “fish week.” A senior is paired with a freshman. The freshman doesn’t know who her senior is until the end of the week. In the meantime the senior leaves gifts according to the themed days – such as baby or beach day. At the end of the week there is a freshmen parade where the seniors dress up their fish – members of the Breakfast Club, the goldfish snacks, Tetris pieces, Snow White and the Seven Dwarves, etc. Plus a school dance).

We dressed our girls up as sushi.

I can’t wait to go home this weekend to hear about how her school year is going. Plus our friend (and one of my bridesmaids) Lindsay is turning 22! Lots of fun ahead. I love long weekends. And today’s good/awesome/hugely wonderful news? Chelsea at Roots and Rings (and Lindsay’s older sister) had her baby today! Her new facebook status: “Jansen made his arrival at 1:37am! He weighs 7lbs. 14oz. and is 20″ and SO stinking cute!” Congratulations again, Chelsea and Stephen!

Sighhhhhhh. I guess I’ve put it off long enough. It’s still raining, and there’s still classes… Have a great Thursday everyone!

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 7, 2010 12:45 pm

    What a cute puppy!
    Definitely sounds like you are a busy bee lately :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

