Skip to content

Row-Day-Oh!

March 14, 2010

Ash-

Boy do I love Texas! Seriously how can you have a beautiful day (which Saturday most certainly was), a fun rodeo (aka the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo), and not thank the Lord for the wonderful state we live in? Needless to say, I was very happy to go to the rodeo. Last year, Matt and I went to see Brad Paisley (who was awesome), but the weather was awful. Lots of drizzling rain, cold bursts of wind, and gray skies. This year, Matt and I thought it’d be more fun to put together a group. So we rounded up Rosey, Blaine, and Ryan to see Blake Shelton. The weather was perfect – in the 70’s, pretty blue skies, and sun shining. We could not have asked for a more perfect day.

We ended up having quite a few fun moments. Everything from us teasing Blaine about his trouble finding a parking spot (good weather means LOTS of people and poor Blaine was not aggressive enough), Matt spilling food all over his white polo (that’s why I love him!), Ryan’s hilarious laugh during the mutton bustin’ (those kids are PUHrecious), and Rosey’s frustration with her phone’s texting ability (apparently turning it left, right, upside down, and waving it in the air will not achieve desired results). That doesn’t even begin to describe our debates over the riders’ names (how many are real vs “cowboy names?” – example: Howdy Cloud. Cowboy name or hippie mother who just knew her son was destined for the rodeo?), Rosey’s love for the rodeo fountains (“that is the BEST tasting water”), the six-or so-year old girl enamored with Ryan (she kept turning around to shyly peek at Ryan even after her family decided to move up five rows), cheering on the kids trying to catch the calves (especially the ones who’d making a flying leap for a calf… and miss), and so many other great moments.

My only disappointment is that it had to end. Instead, I had to go home and pack up all of my stuff (which somehow multiplied during the break?). And then I had to kiss both my spring break and family goodbye as I hopped in the car to drive back to wacko Waco the next morning (a very boring 3 hour drive, and what’s up with the whole losing one hour of sleep thing?). Depressing! So for all of you on spring break this week, I hope you enjoy it!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2010 10:28 am

    I’m glad y’all had fun at the Rodeo. Matt shouldn’t be allowed to wear white anything, as he always spills SOMETHING on his shirt. Does he forget this? I feel for Rosey. Most of the time I have to turn my phone off then walk around in circles before it’ll send a text. Reception should have been really good there, though. It’s probably just Rosey’s luck.

  2. Lindsay permalink
    March 15, 2010 8:33 pm

    Not only did my phone not work, I left my ID in my car and so I couldn’t get a drink..cuz I look like I’m 12. Someone else could have gotten for me but if I had really lost my ID, being pulled over would be BAD.

  3. Monet permalink
    March 16, 2010 11:24 pm

    Im sad I couldn’t be there to go to the rodeo this year! But Im sure yall had a blast even without me there.

Leave a Reply

