Skip to content

Texas Tuesday (4)

March 30, 2010

Ash –

Y’all had me worried. Last Texas Tuesday, I mentioned how excited I was about already having half of our questions for this week. I guess most people interpreted that as we don’t need more ANY other questions? Haha no. We always need questions. For the record, we like comments too (hint hint). I woke up yesterday to discover my Aunt Brenda sent in some questions (even a couple for next week). What a great way to start a Monday (as if there is any “great” way to start a Monday that doesn’t begin with “I just won the lottery”). Add that to Mom’s questions from last week (the first five below), and we can scrape by with another Texas Tuesday. Please send more questions though!

1. What is your favorite childhood memory and why?

Ashley – Hmmm. I had lots of good childhood memories so it’s hard to choose (the fact that it’s late at night has nothing to do with it). Perhaps my visits to Poland as a kid. Especially seeing the “famous” castle. If I went back today, it would probably seem cheesy. But as a kid, it was magical. There was a cool entry way. In the center of the courtyard, a well that you couldn’t see the bottom of. Someone juggling. They converted the castle itself into a museum (mostly paintings and stuffed animal displays – meaning I pretended all the animals were real). Narrow spiral stairs (with no hand railing) so I could nervously fantasize about ancient castle life. People speaking a language you didn’t understand. Foreign ice cream. Yeah it all comes back to ice cream….

Matt- My favorite childhood memory has to be one of my birthdays. My dad had created a seascape/aquarium looking scene out of a plank of plywood. He then would hide behind it and attach prizes to the fishing line. Most awesomest birthday ever.

2. What is your favorite adult memory and why?

Ashley – The day Matt got down on one knee and asked me to marry him. I won’t retell the whole story since I blogged about it last semester (check out Three Promises if you missed it). But it was perfect. Matt planned out a moment that would mean something to the both of us beyond the cliche movie proposals (no rings accidentally sent to someone else’s dinner table). And even though I was expecting a proposal sometime in the near future (not to mention, he had already told the rest of the world), he still managed to take me by surprise. I never thought I’d enter college and find the man I’d want to be with forever. But just goes to show you how God works in mysterious ways.

Matt – I could be corny and tell the same story as above, but I won’t. I will tell you my second favorite memory. It has to be finally realizing what I wanted to do with the rest of my life (at least the majority of it), teach. Ever since, I’ve been focused and determined to become the best educator I can be. It’s totally changed my life plan and I’m loving it.

3. If you could choose one person you most want to secretly be like, who would it be?

Ashley – Now if I told you, it wouldn’t be a secret would it? But seriously I’ve had a lot of positive female roles in my life. Most of our closest family friends evolved from their daughters being in my elementary classes. I have only one biological mother (who I love dearly and admire greatly), but any one of these other women would also be happy to step in and “mother” me. I think I want to be like all of them but in different ways (how confident Mom is, how resourceful Ms. Flo is, how outgoing Ms. West is, how down to earth Ms. Mouret is, etc.). I’ve been quite blessed.

But if we had to say a famous person, I’d probably choose Audrey Hepburn. Class, beauty, and a humanitarian? The woman was amazing.

Matt – I would definitely want to be more like Lebron James (at least the parts that I know about). From what I know, he is a relentless worker, a great leader, and a fierce competitor. I want to eventually develop that kind of determination and crazy work ethic.  

4. Name your favorite vacation. What made it so good?

Ashley – ITALY!  I could go on and on about the wonders of Italy. The food, the sights, the way women with blue eyes and blonde hair are adored, etc. But part of what made the trip so great was that it was something my family saved toward. For a couple of years, we had a “Italy jar” that we would add to whenever we had change or were feeling generous. We bought books to stare at and plan out all the places we wanted to see “one day.” We even tried to learn a little Italian. It was something we worked toward and didn’t just plan overnight. We eventually took a two and a half week trip to Rome, Venice, Florence, and Milan as a part of Sam’s and my graduation gifts (her from middle school and me from high school).

Matt – There is a spot on the Frio River (out by San Antonio) called Seven Bluffs. This is, without a doubt, my favorite vacation spot. Rafting down the river, smores, late night walks, warm nights, the dog that lives in the small pen nearby, fireflies, junk food, everything is perfect.

A view from one of the banks of the Frio near Seven Bluffs.

5. If you could go anywhere on your honeymoon, where would it be?

Ashley – After the last question, you’d think I’d automatically say Italy. And I did at first. But Matt and I are now debating that. We’ve basically divided our favorite locations up into two categories: beaches vs. sightseeing. For example, Italy has lots of sightseeing but fewer beaches. Greece has some sightseeing but more beaches. France you could easily combine beaches and sightseeing, but you’d probably have to split your trip between two cities. It’ll be summer so coming back a little tanned would be nice (and to see water that isn’t muddy brown like the lovely Galveston). However, this is probably the only big trip will get to take for some time. So some sights are a must. Suggestions are welcome!

Matt – We are seriously considering a cruise around Greece now. Ash hasn’t been on a cruise, I’ve been on one. I think the fact that cruises are virtually no hassle means a lot.

6. Ashley, since you are going into the medical field, I want to know your opinion on self paying patients. I recently witnessed a doctor check out a patient’s payment status before he went to see them. He was a self pay with no insurance because he lost his job due to the horrible economy. Age 61 and needed medical treatment. The doctor would not see him because he knew payment would be late or none. What are your thoughts Doctor Ashley?

This answer could get messy real fast so please try and bear with me. They simple answer would be that I would do my best to treat this patient. If they are in need of medical treatment, you (as a doctor) are the only one trained to treat him (aside from the other medical staff, such as nurses, pharmacists, physician assistants, etc.). Most physicians (although certainly not all) go into medicine because they want to help people. Turning such a patient away goes directly against that desire to help (especially when people like this man are the ones who need help most). However, I’m beginning to see more and more about how “healthcare” is a business. We live in a capitalist society, and consequently we place a price tag on everything. I can’t buy my medical supplies and equipment if nobody is paying me. It doesn’t sound like that was the case here. I don’t see anything wrong with being a “self paying” patient as long as the patient pays (as he has seemingly agreed to do). On the flip side, I don’t think medical prices are fair, especially to those without insurance. That is the very long way of saying I still have so much more to learn.

7. Matt, I know you love basketball just as much as I do. And if I am not mistaken, I think you are going to be a teacher. Anywho my question to you is you have tryouts for basketball. 25 uniforms to give out and 27 people there. 2 individuals have no skills at all, but try their hardest in tryouts. You can cut them and just say that is a part of life. Sometimes you win and sometimes you lose. Or do you dig to find 2 extra old uniforms and realize that just maybe you might make a difference in their life if you let them be a part of the team.

Matt – Where did you get 25 jerseys? That’s quite a bit, haha. My position is, the individuals who have put in the work beforehand deserve to get there. I have no problem with the two extra kids having a role on the team, maybe not as a player, but maybe as a manager or “assistant”. I feel for the kids, but I’m not going to disillusion them into thinking they can compete. There will always be tryouts next year. I know that sounds harsh, but cutting them from the team doesn’t mean that I don’t care about them, but I don’t know that I would be able to run a full speed practice with kids who have significantly less skill. I’m in it to win it, but I’m not completely heartless, lol.

8. Do you have a junk drawer?

Ashley – Not so much a literal drawer as several junk bins. You know those colorful little storage bins you can find at Bed, Bath & Beyond? They’re adorable, fit perfectly on my shelves, and make my room appear “neat.” I had good intentions to organize myself throughout college. But just about every one of them have become a place for me to throw the things I don’t want to find a proper place for.

Matt – All of my possessions are located in my junk drawer. In all honesty, I have numerous junk drawers, organized by type of junk. School junk, electronics junk, cleaning junk, random junk. Everything is in a junk drawer.

9. Do you brush your teeth in the shower?

Ashley – Wow. I’ve never even considered brushing my teeth in the shower. Especially since I’ve had an electric toothbrush for awhile now. Is it actually more time efficient? Reminds me about the joke of ironing your clothes while wearing them. In case you love Wikipedia like me, here is a “how to” on brushing your teeth in the shower. Somehow how-to’s are always funnier than the actual process.

Matt – I don’t see what’s wrong with it….it’s not exactly a habit, but if I’m feeling lazy I will go ahead and brush in the shower.

10. Orange juice with pulp or no pulp?

Ashley – Either way works for me. Although sometimes I prefer it with pulp. I like the texture and the sense that it could’ve been freshly squeezed mere seconds ago (even if I bought it at the grocery store). I tend to only drink orange juice when I’m sick though. Instead, I love to eat those little clementines whenever they’re in season. No real way to avoid pulp there.

Matt – When it comes down to it, light pulp. I can drink anything really. I LOVE orange juice when my throat is scratchy or sore. Morning OJ can turn my frown upside down. Juice is my friend.

Pulp or no Pulp? Choose wisely.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Flo permalink
    March 30, 2010 1:50 pm

    I just got back from C.S. and the first thing I was told to do was to read Texas Tuesday – so glad I did – way to brighten my afternoon. Thanks Ash and Matt.

  2. Brenda Kunick permalink
    March 31, 2010 9:17 pm

    Loved seeing my questions in your blog and just for the record…
    Ash, the elderly man did receive treatment from two other doctors and we requested to leave because he knew the expense is something he could not pay without insurance due to job loss…loved that man..very proud and faithful prayer warrior!
    Matt, I do have that many uniforms and this did happen to me this year.
    I did let those 2 girls make the team as players. They didnt receive much playing time but proudly wore the jersey and very excited. It also helped one girl raise her grades because she had to have a certain GPA to even be on the team, plus one of my favorite moments of
    the year is when one of these young girls came to me at the end of a game with tears in her eyes and said thanks for giving my daughter a chance. I know she struggles with her skills but she works really hard in the driveway and when you two coaches allowed her on the team her whole attitude changed. So good things happen when someone is just given the chance…:) Brenda

  3. Brenda Kunick permalink
    March 31, 2010 9:20 pm

    let me recap and say
    That the man requested to leave and
    that one of the young girls mothers came to me with the comment.
    geez…cant type worth a darn when trying to get my comment in
    very quickly….love you guys. Brenda

Leave a Reply

