Skip to content

There Went Peter Cottontail!

April 5, 2010

Matt –

Sip. Ahhh. Sip. Ahhhhh. SLURRRRRRRRRPPPPP. AHHH. The first cup of coffee in the morning.

This Monday is a particularly sad one, as if most need a special excuse, because it marks the ending of Easter. Sad in the idea that 1) we must return to school today for classes tomorrow and that 2) classes are tomorrow, and we have to drive back today. In actuality, this Monday is one of the happiest. It’s reinvigorating knowing that I’ve got a God who cares enough about me to sacrifice himself for me. Gives me an “extra shot” to my day (I almost said “to me day”, but then I realized not all of our readers are leprechauns).

This Easter weekend was a pretty awesome one. It started last Thursday, right after classes. Ash and I packed up the truck (I should really dedicate an entire post to this beautiful creature) and headed for Houston. There was, as you probably read about, a wedding ceremony that we were honored to attend. It was beautiful, casual, and very fun.

Friday brought about “Study Day”. It was just a day to get organized, buckle down, and do some work sleep. It was nice to have a day to get caught up.

Saturday was the reception for Ms. Mouret’s wedding. REAL, GENUINE, Texas. Margarita machine, excellent BBQ, and perfect music. Not to mention my beautiful fiancee and her family made some more amazing cake pops (pics to come later in the week).

A sidenote on Saturday’s festivities: Samantha was hired to work at the reception to make a little extra cash. The unexpected bonus result for us? This:

I need to find a way to get her to wear that apron in front of her friends.

I can feel the bruises on my body starting to form from the punishment I will receive after publishing that picture.

Easter Sunday. Love Easter morning. You wake up, say grace, and share food with family. I forced myself out of bed at the ungodly hour of 11:00, stumbled across the street and ate a wonderful meal of pork roast, sweet potatoes, green beans, croissants and to top it off? Lemon meringue pie. YUM! I’m so spoiled between the two families, because for dinner Ash’s mom created a masterpiece roast. Potatoes, onions, carrots, rolls. I’m still stuffed 24 hours later.

Before dinner is the annual Easter Egg hunt with Ashley’s family. Let me give you a little background. Around 30 eggs are hidden in the backyard in extremely difficult-to-find places.  Money and candy are the prizes inside the eggs. Last year was my first year competing, and it wasn’t pretty. I found maybe 10% of all the eggs hidden, leaving the rest to Ash and her sister.

Rightfully confident in her abilities, Ashley decided to let me know how this year was going to be a repeat of the last. She let me know that in order to make it competitive, she would have to come up with some sort of self-imposed handicap.

It takes heart. It takes dedication.

Now, I could choose to be bitter. I could choose to get angry. But readers, I choose to take that negative energy, FLIP IT and change it into positive energy.

Rule #1 - Check the fences. Always check the fences.

Ladies and gentlemen, you have your 2010 Easter Egg Hunt Champion. With a score of 13 of 34 eggs and a money prize total of $24, it was a sweet victory. Ashley has yet to weigh in on the results. You can ask her after she stops hitting me.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Flo permalink
    April 6, 2010 9:15 am

    Matt, have I told you lately how much I enjoy your writing style? You are a funny man. Congrats to the E.E.Champ!

Leave a Reply

