Skip to content

This Is You Time

April 7, 2010

Ash –

Owwwww. “Come on. Don’t give up. This is you time.” If you workout with Jillian, you learn to hate those words. Why? Sounds encouraging, right? Oh so very wrong. She says them every few minutes, and you just know that means things are about to get really painful “challenging.” Matt told you how demanding the 30 Day Shred is. I was sore for a week after I did level 1 the first time. You want to smack the one girl (the Solange Knowles look alike) for smiling throughout the entire workout. But I’ve discovered that the 30 Day Shred is a walk in the park if you try Jillian’s “Banish Fat, Boost Metabolism.”

Let us do a little comparison test:

  • 20 minutes for the 30 Day Shred vs. 50 minutes for the Banish Fat
  • 3 circuits of strengthen/cardio/abs vs. 6 circuits of cardio
  • 3 progressive levels vs. no levels (you have to buy an entirely different dvd to reach the next “level”)
  • will be “shredded” in 30 days vs. “lose up to 5 pounds a week!”
  • sweating Ashley vs. almost crying Ashley

I think you get the picture. The Banish Fat video is intense. I did it twice this weekend, and both times I was surprised I didn’t collapse. Trust me, by the time she says, “We’re not even halfway done yet,” you’re already panting, grunting, yelling at the screen (in between pants), and dripping with sweat. As tough as the 30 Day Shred was, I was proud of myself for fully working out the entire 20 minutes. I absolutely had to take breaks during the Banish Fat. My lungs threatened to override otherwise.

You can’t say I don’t believe in a challenge though. In spite of all that sweat and pain, I convinced Matt to go to Target yesterday to pick up a copy (I didn’t want to steal yet another workout video from home). It was probably a sign from God that they didn’t have any (although they had all the other Jillian workouts). But I’m determined to do what’s best for my health and body. Looking good this summer wouldn’t hurt either (I get to do my first wedding dress fitting!). And for whatever weird reason, Matt thinks it’s going to be “fun” (lets see if he still feels the same way later this week). Unfortunately (or fortunately depending on how you look at it), they did have several copies at Walmart today. It was even on sale. Maybe God changed his mind after he saw my number on the scale this morning?

In addition to mixing up the workouts, I’m also trying to eat better. After our engagement photo shoot, we had time to stop by Central Market. I LOVE that place. So many healthy and delicious options. As Matt promised, at least one of us will tell you what we ate for the day. So here I go…

Breakfast:

  • Half an english muffin (pre-morning workout)
  • Banana and yogurt (post-workout)

Lunch:

  • Chicken salad (freshly cooked chicken strips on lettuce bed with half a tomato, half an avocado, and balsamic vinaigrette)

Snack:

  • Cooked baby portabella mushrooms

Dinner:

  • Salmon filet
  • Zucchini

Snack:

  • Red apple

Who knows how many calories that is, but I’d say it’s pretty good. I admit that’s not how I was eating this entire weekend. Remember the cake balls I made? They were such a hit that my mom was encouraged to try making the pretty ones I showed you last week. A trip to Michael’s, the grocery store, several hours, and participation from the entire family. Here was the end product:

we bought easter baskets to carry them to the reception. want a closer look?

i promise i didn't actually lick any of them =D also notice the tulip pops in the background

this was my favorite one that i decorated. i made it specifically for the bride

I have a suspicion that Jillian would not approve of cake balls. Her loss, and my gain (literally).

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Flo permalink
    April 7, 2010 9:29 am

    Love it! You are the best “exercise critic” I’ve ever read. Makes me want to run and pop in a Jillian DVD ————- not.

  2. April 7, 2010 9:44 am

    Those cake pops look amazing. They also make me want one

  3. Lindsay permalink
    April 7, 2010 5:10 pm

    I DIED laughing at this post…I seriously know what you mean. The first time I did that DVD and she said “We aren’t even halfway done”..I wanted to kick the tv! She’s crazy but awesome. After doing that workout for 5 days straight, I already saw a difference in my core…and I didn’t even change my diet! When I do Shred now, it really is a joke!

  4. April 7, 2010 6:31 pm

    I don’t have the Banish Fat DVD, but I have the No More Trouble Zones (and Shred). My husband did the Shred with me a couple of times. He thought he was a tough guy and one day popped it in and went straight to Level 2. I tried to warn him. About 7 minutes had passed when he said, “This b**** is crazy.” Admittedly, it has been awhile since I’ve done either video, but NMTZ is 45 minutes long and about 15 minutes in, I want to throw my dumbbell thru the TV! 😀

Trackbacks

  1. Day 182 « A Double Shot of Texas

Leave a Reply

