Skip to content

7 Quick Takes (5)

April 9, 2010

Ash –

As a little preview to our too cool 7 Quick Takes, let me share with y’all the top 5 things I’m celebrating today: 5 weeks of blogging, 4 day school weeks (this one is at an end but we have another one soon), only 3 more weeks of school (!!!), 2 hour naps (I had one yesterday…. they make my entire day better), and 1 dinner date (Matt is taking me out tonight. Granted it’s burgers and a movie at the dollar theater, but for college students that’s living the dream). But something everyone can celebrate is that it’s Friday. Another school and work week has come to an end. So sit back, relax, and enjoy our Quick Takes.

1. Ash – After months of waiting, it is finally coming back this upcoming Tuesday! “It” being one of the best shows on television… GLEE! Now I know a lot of you are already dismissing me in your head. Some of you figure it’s just another High School Musical but with less annoying actors. I’m not going to lie. I was one of you. Everyone oohed and aahed for months. I just didn’t get it. I saw the teaser before the summer and wasn’t horribly impressed. Average, but nothing special. I figured why bother wasting my time. This is why:

Depending on your movie taste, you may have seen Jane Lynch in other roles. She’s amusing HILARIOUS. I love some of the other story lines in Glee, but none of them top the Sue Sylvester moments. I cannot wait to see what she has up her sleeve this season.

2. Matt – So I know my blog yesterday wasn’t terribly exciting for most of you. A quick update on the Master’s and I will drop it. Tiger survived his first day back on the job. Much to my chagrin, the crowd gave him a more than warm welcome. I’m not sure if I could have been so enthusiastic. Tom Watson (read “unknown old white guy”) is actually leading the pack of young guns. Seriously, did anyone even watch or am I the only nerd?

3. Ash – If the thought of adults in diapers makes you uncomfortable, please stop reading now. Because I’m supposed to wear an adult diaper this weekend. No joke. My bioethics teacher assigned us the homework of wearing diapers that one of the local hospitals was willing to supply. According to him, it is “interesting” that we begin and often end life in diapers. And to humble ourselves, we are supposed to wear them over the weekend and discuss it on Monday. The rules are we don’t have to “use” the diapers in the traditional sense, and we should actually wear them on top of our underwear (since he’s only supplying us with one). However, it’ll probably still feel fairly awkward since most of the clothes we wear aren’t designed to wear diapers underneath. As embarrassing as that might seem, I’m actually curious if I will learn anything from it.

(I apologize if this was too much information for some of you, but I figured it was a “unique” homework assignment.)

4. Matt – It’s about time for me to register for classes. This year is unique though, as next semester I will be a near full-time intern at a local high school. Compared to the past two semesters where I have taught one period a day, I will be teaching 5 periods a day. Whew! A little bit of a jump. I’m excited as ever though. I can’t believe it took me this long to realize how much I love doing this. I also might have a couple of interview opportunities for interships this summer. Keep your fingers crossed!

5. Ash – I’m having a baby-filled couple of days (aside from having to wear a diaper). Yesterday, I went to the hospital for my clinical rotation, and I actually got to see a circumcision. The process is hard to explain – even the doctor tried and basically said, “Well you’ll see in a minute….” Plus I doubt most of you want to know the specifics anyway. It was interesting though (maybe a little less so for the baby). Tomorrow, I’m volunteering at the March of Dimes, which is a fundraiser for premature babies. AED, the “pre-professional honors health society” that I’m pledging, is putting together several booths for the kids to enjoy. I think the one I’m helping with has something to do with baseball…. Clearly, I’m all over that. At some point during the weekend, I am also doing research on pregnancy for my sociology paper. I’ll be looking into how pregnancy plays out in society: family dynamics, economics, social issues, advertising, technology, etc. Obviously, it’s going to be a busy weekend, but cute babies make up for that.

6. Matt – This video. That is all.

7. Matt – To cap this Friday off, I will be making my second attempt at the God-awful Maximize Your Friggin’ Metabolism and Burn Fat DVD (or something like that) from Jillian. The last attempt was borderline successful, but I definitely cheated. A reader sent in this comment about a similar first experience:

I don’t have the Banish Fat DVD, but I have the No More Trouble Zones (and Shred). My husband did the Shred with me a couple of times. He thought he was a tough guy and one day popped it in and went straight to Level 2. I tried to warn him. About 7 minutes had passed when he said, “This b**** is crazy.” Admittedly, it has been awhile since I’ve done either video, but NMTZ is 45 minutes long and about 15 minutes in, I want to throw my dumbbell thru the TV!

I feel his pain. Literally. Good news is I’ve actually gone down a pants size! This sometimes happens randomly to me, but I’m sure it has something to do with eating better (read “not as bad”).

Ladies and Gents, SEND US YOUR QUESTIONS! We need more for Tuesday de Tejas. Anything you’ve been wondering? What weird things do you want to know about us? There are more than you can ask!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2010 9:22 am

    1.) Ok, so I’m totally jealous that y’all only had a 4 day week because our’s was definitely 5 over here and I had a test on that Monday. Also, I LOVE GLEE!!!
    2.)I actually watched part of the Masters and I would have given him a warm welcome too. Who he is as a person doesn’t affect his golfing abilities.
    3.) Ashley, you should totally use the diaper. I know that’s weird, but you should. Or else what use is it?
    4.) Matt, that is awesome! I’m taking a full load this summer and this next semester. It’s sad. But then I’ll be done! My grades this semester really suck though. Like… really.
    5.) Yeah, I got nothing there. Maybe it’s a sign?
    6.) We did not a date for RUF and one group remade that music video. It’s awesome. And that song gets stuck in my head so easily.
    7.) I still think you’re a baby. Sorry. Just kidding… =]

    I have a question for y’all! Why’d you decide to start blogging as a couple?

  2. Judi permalink
    April 9, 2010 12:16 pm

    Ashley, you had me at #1! I’m SO READY for Glee to return!

  3. Flo permalink
    April 10, 2010 10:52 am

    Matt – congrats on 5 periods a day – you will be a great teacher, I just feel it – and you always sound so enthusiastic – its as though it keeps the little boy in you alive while allowing you to care for others at the same time – what a blast – (hear Yoda) Proud of you, I am.

Leave a Reply

