Skip to content

Texas Tuesday (6)

April 13, 2010

Okay so it’s Tuesday morning, and we are finally answering your questions! We had to do some serious last minute scrambling to even get questions for this week’s Texas Tuesday. Very dissapointed in you readers. We’d love for y’all to send in more though… and by “more” I mean we don’t have any left.

I beg you. Please don’t make us google ice breaker questions or steal from other people’s blogs for next week’s Texas Tuesday. We’d much rather answer any questions y’all have. And you don’t have to send in 10 at a time. Feel free to leave just 1 or 2. Maybe even half a question? That might be a overdoing it just a little, but desperate times call for desperate measures, my friends (please don’t judge).

But desperate rant over. Let the Texas Tuesday begin!

1. Why’d you decide to start blogging as a couple?

Ashley – First I want to give credit where credit is due. Especially when the person has a blog that y’all can check out. So this question is from Jessica at Road to Anywhere. As to why we blog as a couple…. do you see how we barely put out a blog every day together? It’s like having a workout buddy. Even if they live across the country, you need to know that your person might call you later and ask if you did your 30 Day Shred for the day. Matt and I force each other to write on those day we feel completely uncreative. But we also get to take turns so blogging doesn’t become some kind of chore. Also taking turns is great with how busy both of our schedules are: classes, jobs (2 of them in Matt’s case), Bear Pit, AED, working out, etc. The coffee can only help so much people!

Matt – Blogging is like riding a bike. You need to wear a helmet and reflective clothing. Always use your hand signals properly. Make sure your tires are inflated to a proper degree. Also, tandem bikes are more fun.

2. Is your closet clean or messy?

Ashley – A little bit of both. After my sister organized her clothes according to color, I was inspired to do the same with my at home closet. What I learned: I have very few brown and orange items. For my apartment, I was too lazy to do the by color. But I actually have two smaller closets. I dedicated one to summer/spring and one to fall/winter. However, any of the closets always have random stuff stored there (extra purses, suitcases, etc.). Plus my shoes are all over the place. At home, we had to convert the linen closet in my bathroom into a shoe closet so I could have access to my regular closet.

Matt – I get anxious if my closet is messy. It goes about a week between cleanings, at which point I just can’t take it anymore. I wear a lot of clothes during the day, so many of them get thrown on the floor of the closet. I tolerate it until I have time to organize, but then I go pistachios. I tidy it up crazy neat.

3. Luzianne or lipton tea?

Ashley – Actually neither. I think I’ve only tried Lipton once and that was at a friend’s house (it was the raspberry kind). If I’m going to have tea, it’s going to be one of three things. 1. Peppermint (if I’m sick) 2. Homemade sweet tea (during the summer), or 3. McAllister’s sweet tea (whenever I’m in Waco).

Matt – Lipton Green Tea in the bottle. Making it is WAAYYYYYY too hard. It’s kind of expenisve though.

Yummers.

If those aren’t available, McAllister’s half sweet-half unsweet with extra lemon. If that’s not an option, Lipton Brisk Lemon flavored in a can.

4. If you could have any kind of dog, what would it be?

Ashley – Depends where I’m living. If it’s a small apartment, a Pomeranian. They’re cute, small, and fluffy. Look like little teddy bears. A terrific lapdog. If it’s a decent sized house, a Husky-German Shepherd mix. Have you seen them??? They are GORGEOUS. Imagine smart like a German Shepherd but with the blue eyes of a Husky.

Matt – Not even a competition. Last year Ash and I were walking around PetsMart here in Waco for fun. As we were just entering the store, a middle-aged couple rounded the corner of an aisle in front of us being dragged by this wonderful creature:

AWWWWWW. You don't realize he's so big from this pic....but he is.

A goldendoodle. This dog was AMAZING. Huge, curly, always “smiling”, goofy personality (like a puppy). This is clearly MY dog. I have yet to convince Ashley to accept one into our future home, but I will wear her down eventually.

5. What is your favorite thing to do with your younger sibling?

Ashley – I think Sam would agree that we have two favorite things. First, we both love ice cream. Wendy’s, Ben & Jerry’s, Dairy Queen, Marble Slab… You name it we like it. She likes anything with cookie dough. I typically get something with chocolate. So our tradition during school breaks is to wait until Matt comes over, volunteer him to drive us, and all get ice cream together (one of us usually pays for Matt to be fair). Second, we both like movies. I can’t count how many times we’ve been bored in our respective rooms late at night, and one of us goes to the other and says, “Wanna watch a movie?” We pop in a movie, curl up on my bed, and trade foot massages.

Matt – It’s either play golf or wrestle. In the past year, Michael has not only grown about half a foot, but he’s gotten a lot stronger. He also gets to play a lot more than I do. If he’s calm and relaxed, he can really play some golf. For any guys reading, remember wrestling with your dad or an uncle or something? Imagine that same level of difficulty but against somebody much younger and energetic….and unwilling to give up. Seriously, Michael is getting BIG.

6. What is your opinion on Obama canceling NASA’s mission to the moon?

Ashley – Huh? Seriously I have got to put away the school books and watch the news more often. I referred to Sir Google to catch up on this one. Not sure where I stand at the second (please read: I don’t feel like getting political this early in the morning). But what do you other Houstonians think? Most of us have a special place in our heart for NASA. All those school field trips. All the times we proudly quoted, “Houston, we have a problem.”

Matt – I really think it’s unfair to the moon. I think that the moon probably gets really lonely, stares at the plaque, flag and footprints we left there and cries softly. How can we, NAY, HOW DARE WE let our moon, our giver of tides, our ever-present night light be all alone? Also, I’m out of cheese.

Uhhh, Houston. We have a Provolone.

7. What is your favorite comic book or series?

Ashley – I only read one comic series as a kid – Archie & the gang. My mom would buy them for me at the grocery story. A classic, my friends. Where else can you read about a football player named Moose? Also the eternal battle between Betty and Veronica? Blonde vs. brunette? I was always a Betty fan myself (yeah I’m blonde). Veronica had the cooler clothes, but Betty was so much nicer.

Matt – If I had to pick only one, hands down Calvin & Hobbes. Absolute brilliance. More than just a comic, a story of an ornery kid and his journey through growing up. My family bought my dad the entire anthology of the series. I’ve read them….close to 5 times over.

8. What kind of things do you plan to teach your future children?

Ashley – Lots of things. Is there ever really an end to what you can teach your children? But here are a couple. How to cook eggs. They are delicious and nutritious. You will never starve if you can cook eggs. And a love of reading. My mom would take us to the kids hour every weekend at the library, and I was always allowed to buy at least one book whenever we went to Barnes and Noble. Not much time for pleasure reading these days, but there are times when I crave a good book. Sure, there are lots of other more important things (family values, honesty, giving back to the community, etc.). But I think those would require an hour and a good coffee.

Matt – My immediate response would be basketball. “But Matt? What happens when they don’t wa”YOU SHUT YOUR MOUTH. I realize they might not want to. I will deal with that when I come to it. Little Matt Jr. will need to know how to mow the lawn, how to fix commonly broken household items, and how to drive.

9. What has been your favorite random Facebook day? (examples: Hug an Engineer Day, Velociraptor Awareness Day, Harry Potter Status Day, etc.)

Ashley – Suit up! Yes, there is a “Suit Up Day” later this year referring to Barney Stinson from How I Met Your Mother. I fully intend to participate…. just as soon as I buy a suit (I have to buy one anyway for medical school interviews).

Matt – Dang. She stole mine. My other favorite is definitely “Velociraptor Appreciation Day”. Who doesn’t love the smartest dinosaur? They run in packs, they strategize, and they are movie stars!

Screeeeeeee!

10. Can Ashley make me more pie?

Ashley – Haha. So we’re clear, Matt’s roommate Matt Hansen asked this question. I made this amazing chocolate pie for Valentine’s Day this year. I insisted my Matt give up a slice to Matt Hansen so I could get less biased feedback. Come on. My Matt loves me, and is he really going to criticize a pie I make him on Valentine’s Day?


Check out the Pioneer Woman if you want to give it a try (warning: it has raw eggs so you shouldn’t eat this if you have a weakened immune system, are pregnant, etc.). I actually do want to try making this pie again – it was that good. I’m just waiting for some sort of event that requires me bringing food.

Matt – Mmmmmmmm. Pie.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Hansen permalink
    April 13, 2010 11:01 am

    GOLDEN DOODLE!

    Also, comment.

  2. April 13, 2010 2:03 pm

    I love how all of Ashley’s answers are serious and Matt’s are.. not.
    I have kind of a random question but you can answer it next week if you want. It’s really just for Ashley. How hard is A&P? and should I take it if I don’t have to?

  3. Mary Kate permalink
    April 14, 2010 2:20 pm

    questions I came up with after class this morning:

    What is your favorite color and why? What does that color make you think of? (Technically 2 questions but they are related so i think that they count as 1)

    What would you name your respective dog choices? Does the name depend on the kind of dog it is?

    Why do leaves change color in the fall?

    This is what I have so far. I will come up with more random questions. From now on I will direct all the random questions that pop into my head at y’all. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

