Skip to content

The Day Before Friday

April 15, 2010

Ash –

Gooooooood morningggggg Thursdayyyyyy (said something like Robin Williams). Since we typically alternate, I know y’all were expecting Matt. But the poor boy didn’t have time last night and is completely bogged down today (teaching/class for a few hours, taking a friend’s shift at work, meeting with a professor, and then working his own shift). Meaning he won’t be done until something like 10 p.m. tonight (and that’s not including doing any homework).

On the contrary, I only had ochem lab for half an hour  (and we are officially done!). Normally, I use Thursdays to shadow some type of doctor for my clinical supervision class. This is actually supposed to be my week to see an OB in the hospital. But the doctor didn’t have anything until Tuesday afternoon. I could do an “alternate” instead (which I’ve had to do numerous times this semester) but why miss the chance to see a baby being born? Yeah I know some of you probably wouldn’t mind missing that (something to do with the whole screaming woman thing). But for me, it’s totally worth having to double up on rotations next week.

Anyway, that was the long way of saying I have nothing else on my schedule today! It’s just me, my couch, and my sociology research paper on pregnancy. I’m hoping to get past page 3 of 15 (as in I will eventually have 15 *fingers crossed*). I have lots of ideas but am struggling with staying focused since all of my ideas are all over the place: pro-life vs. pro-choice, in vitro fertilization, miscarriages, OB’s vs. midwives, alternative medicine, discrimination in the workplace, teen pregnancies, the media, etc.

Lets just say if I don’t get at least 5 pages done today, somebody please come smack me….. except not really for those of you actually living in Waco. I bruise like a peach! Besides I’m already being mean enough to myself as it is. The only break I’m allowed to take is to go workout at the gym. I need a Jillian Burn Fat break after the torture that was yesterday. No real results yet (as in toning and weight loss). But I will say my endurance is better. Now I can race across the parking lot to catch the trolley without huffing and puffing (my class always lets out late! please don’t judge).

Mid-writing this post, I found out LaceDarius Dunn (another top-scoring Baylor basketball player) will be holding his own press conference at 5 p.m. today. My guess is that he is leaving too. After all, how often does a person hold a highly publicized conference to say lets celebrate because I’m going to stay put? Why do all my favorite players keep leaving me????? First Josh and Tweety. Then Ekpe. Now Lace???? I’m not sure I can handle supporting Baylor basketball next season. Future Ashley will be too busy suffering from her abandonment issues.

Anyway I’m afraid I don’t have anything else for you today. For this week, I basically have no life outside of this research paper. But don’t forget to send any Texas Tuesday questions or a wild card rule for ScatterBrain. Also, here’s a funny video that has nothing to do with anything in this post.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2010 10:42 am

    can a rule be something random like you must type the whole post blind-folded with one finger? that would be pretty ridiculous. i have a couple questions for you, yay! how do you take notes? pencil/pen and paper or laptop? what’s been your favorite class and why? if you had an incurable disease what would you do? what’s your favorite kind of weather? how do you entertain yourself when standing in long lines?

  2. Flo permalink
    April 16, 2010 5:39 am

    Did you get 5 more pages done? Next Tuesday, I’d like to hear about the continuing quest for Matt”s latest footwear – Did he get Toms? I’d also like to hear about any birth Ash gets to witness. And finally – the whole woman screaming thing – what makes you scream Ash? And Matt what makes you scream like a girl?

Leave a Reply

