Skip to content

Texas Tuesday (7)

April 20, 2010

Matt –

Sorry guys. I kinda fizzled out on you there fore awhile. I think the stress and workload of school finally caught up to me. No worries, I’m back on my feet and ready to answer some questions! Let the Texas…ness? begin!

1. What is your favorite color and why? What does that color make you think of?

Matt – In all honesty, its usually blue. Light blue, navy, royal. All of it. However, I must say that in the past three years here at Baylor, it really and truly has become green and gold. I mean look at this:

Rawrrrrrrr

The just play so nicely together! Also, watching a sea of green and gold and black shirts is kinda AWESOME.

Ash – Normally my automatic answer would be blue also. Growing up that was my favorite because it was pretty without being overly girly (definite tomboy). Doesn’t hurt that I have blue eyes. However, these days I really like red and purple. Both have good memories. Purple is the first color I painted my room at home. Not to mention the first color Matt really complimented me on. Red is just so rich and warm. Which is why it’s the theme I chose for my apartment and one of my wedding colors. As much as I also love green and gold, I will never look good in yellow.

2. What would you name your respective dog choices? Does the name depend on the kind of dog it is?

Matt – The name depends on the personality of the dog. Weird, I know. But its mandatory. If the dog is really goofy, fat, and has an addictive personality you can call him Farley.

Too soon?

Ash – For me it depends on the dog’s personality. Or what the dog looks like. So yeah breed is kind of important. For example, if I get a pomeranian I want one that looks like a little bear. Then I can name it something like Teddy.


3. Why do leaves change color in the fall?

Matt – Leaves are born with special cells that have a color, or pigment, in them. These cells lie in layers under the leaf’s outer skin. They are called chromatophores (kro MAT uh fors). The top layers of chromatophores have red or yellow pigment. The lower layers have blue or white pigment. When these pigment cells change, the leaf’s color changes. When the brain tells the leaf there is danger near by, the substances mix like paint, allowing for the leaf to become nearly invisible to predators. Or something like that.

Ash – Hmmm. Well I’ve had to teach honors students about plants and their life cycles. So let me see if I can explain this in an educated manner. chlorophyll = leaves look green. fall = chlorophyll killing season. color change = death to all chlorophyll. Yep that sums it up.


4. How do you take notes? Pencil/pen and paper or laptop?

Matt – Sorry what? I was playing Bloons. And when I can bring my laptop to class, I prefer to do it that way. Otherwise, I go the pen/paper route. More often then not my prof’s have PowerPoint slides available to use to print off.

Ash – Depends on the class/semester. But normally I use pen and paper since it forces me to listen. And something about writing helps me remember the material.

5. What’s been your favorite class and why?

Matt – My favorite class so far has probably been Marketing. The subject is right up my alley of interest, and the assignments weren’t busy work, but rather real life applicable projects.

Ash – Yoga. Our teacher never gave any tests (which they do for volleyball, bowling, etc.). The one paper we had to write was only 50 words…… and he said he didn’t care if you wrote the word “yoga” 50 times in a row (but you’d get extra credit for writing a real paragraph/poem). Every class let out probably half an hour early. Plus the hour or so that we actually were there, we’d spend the last 10-15  minutes sleeping. If only all classes could be so educational.

yeah i could do that. i just don't want to...

6. If you had an incurable disease what would you do?

Matt – Get more cowbell. Jeez, Tuesday puts me in a weird mood apparently. (Can’t this guy give a serious answer?) I would most definitely spend every moment with the people I love. The journey we are on isn’t made by anything else but the people we share it with. Corny, but very very true.

Ash – I mean is it fatal or chronic? Do I have a month, a year, or decades to live? I would just continue living life and spending it with the people I care about. Which is exactly what I’m doing now. Not to be morbid, but we all have an “incurable disease” – it’s called life.

7. What’s your favorite kind of weather?

Matt – Good question. Cool, a little cloudy, NO WIND. If there is wind you can’t play good golf!!!

Ash – To go outside, sunny and warm but with a cool breeze (which happens all of two weeks in Texas). Those are the days that make you smile even when everything seems to be going wrong. To sleep, pouring rain (I can and have slept through potential hurricanes).

8. How do you entertain yourself when standing in long lines?

Matt – I do this:

I NEED KID’S HAIRCUT. That is all.

Ash – Daydream. Think JD from Scrubs.

9. I’d like to hear about the continuing quest for Matt”s latest footwear – Did he get Toms?

Matt – No. No I didn’t. I’ve decided that I would not be able to pull them off. I don’t want them to turn into the red cowboy boots from How I Met Your Mother. What’s next on the radar for Matt’s New Kicks? These:

The Nike Hyperfuse. Set to drop in Summer 2010.

10. What makes you scream Ash? And Matt what makes you scream like a girl?

Matt – This is a totally irrelevant question. I have never screamed like a girl.

Ash – I’m not answering until Matt gives an honest answer. And if he still refuses, I promise to dedicate an entire blog to this question including a sound clip of Matt screaming like a girl. Watch your back Matthew!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Judi permalink
    April 20, 2010 12:52 pm

    I like the last one and cannot wait for the full blog on said answer.

  2. Matt Hansen permalink
    April 20, 2010 5:43 pm

    I see you forgot “If you were stuck on a dessert island and had a mix cd with 10 songs on it, what would those 10 songs be? Yes, dessert. You’re welcome. Eating Twix while listening to your jams.” Nice work, Matt. I also cannot wait for the girly screams.

  3. Flo permalink
    April 21, 2010 9:05 am

    Love the scream-off… and I love Ashley’s reply to “incurable disease” – LIVE LIFE STRONG

  4. Flo permalink
    April 21, 2010 9:06 am

    And love your choice of kicks, Matt – beautiful – but remember, you’ve got to actually wear them places that don’t involve polished hardwood and hoops.

Leave a Reply

