Skip to content

Cigarette Sunglasses and Spikey Bras

April 21, 2010

Matt –

Sorry it’s so late today guys! Accounting tends to drain the brain.

WOW. I’m only halfway through it, but it has been a draining week. One of the few brightspots in this storm of homework and studying was last night’s episode of Glee. Not that it was an outstanding episode of my favorite show, but it was something to look forward to, something to briefly take my mind off of all the stuff I have to do.

Last night’s episode was centered around the music and attitude of Madonna. For those of you who haven’t seen it yet, I won’t spoil anything (Dumbledore dies!). But watching it cemented a belief held by many other music critics and interested fans around the world: Madonna has reincarnated herself.

Now I’m not an expert on religion or anything, but I’ve done some research. The only way this could have happened was through the magic of Madonna’s religion Kababa. Something about sacrificing a woman “like a virgin” and then chanting for a period of four minutes with Justin Timberlake.

This is KaBob. The god of Kababa.

All of the silliness aside, Lady Gaga seems to be following almost directly in the footsteps of The Pointed One. Both are Italian in descent, both are relatively progressive in their approach to music, and both are very, very, VERY weird.

That’s Gaga’s latest video, “Telephone”. I wish I could give you a very elequent breakdown of the symbolism presented in this visual piece, but I can’t. It’s just friggin weird. I will say that it is possibly one of the most entertaining videos I’ve seen. Some of that comes from the just plain shocking imagery, some of it comes from the mindboggling dialogue (When you kill a cow, you gotta make a burger), and the rest comes from sheer WTF-ery.

Madonna ruled her time. She was THE icon. Not one of a few, she was without question dominant in the world of entertainment. She reinvented people (not to mention herself quite a few times) and the way they think about music and music videos, not to mention celebrity status as a whole.

The scary part? Lady Gaga is starting to mold a persona comparable to Madonna. On the red carpet, her outfits are the first thing people ask about. Her performances, while they may not include the kissing of Brittney, are always creative and….bold.

I won’t say I’m the biggest fan, in fact I think Gaga (SOMEBODY PLEASE TELL ME HER NAME. I CAN’T KEEP TYPING GAGA AND FEEL SANE) is a tad overhyped. But its definitely not a secret, she’s made a name for herself.

PS. I’ve been slacking lately. To make it up, I promise a good read tomorrow. Going to try my hand at a Scatterbrain post!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2010 8:42 am

    I think the parallels between them are just so cool- Gaga is amazing from her just sheer amount of talent to the whole way she approaches her brand.

    ps – according to wikipedia, her real name is Stefani =)

  2. April 29, 2010 1:22 am

    e cigarettes

Leave a Reply

