Skip to content

Texas Tuesday (8)

April 27, 2010

Ash –

Ever have one of those days where you wake up and just want it to all go away? The day before was crummy on oh so many levels. You didn’t get enough sleep. And when you go to your favorite coffee place, it randomly smells like sewage. Nope? Just me?

(Matt – It wasn’t me. I promise.)

Well I promise today isn’t a whine fest (although I would like some cheese). One step outside with sunlight and vitamin D, and I already feel a little better. I swear I get giddy off of sunlight sometimes. And what the sunlight cannot cure, Glee can.

Maybe not your usual introduction to Texas Tuesday, but it puts a smile on my face. Also, thank you to Jessica (Road to Anywhere) and Alejandra for sending in questions. We’d love to hear from more of you so keep sending them in!

1. What’s the weirdest outfit you’ve ever worn?

Ash – Hmmmm. Most embarrassing outfit would be a totally different answer. But weirdest (or most “unusual”) outfit would probably be my Polish getup.

Oh sure. I look cute here. But I looked odd the older I got.

Matt – Without a doubt it was freshman year of high school. I was in my, erm, culturally diverse phase of my life. I wore my throwback Houston Rockets warm-up SUIT….not just the shirt, but the pants too, to a birthday party. It was terrible. I was all red and yellow and weird looking. I cringe thinking about it. Terrible.

2. If you could only eat 1 food for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Ash – I’d like to nominate chocolate or ice cream. Since I can’t imagine the rest of my life without either one (judge all you want but it’s true). The problem is something like this would happen easily within a year.

Gwyneth Paltrow. Except I wouldn't be filming "Shallow Hal"

Maybe eggs? I can eat those for almost any meal. Plus, they’re healthy and lots of ways to cook them.

Matt – One food? Geez. Eggs is a good answer, but I get tired of them after one day in a row. Can we say sandwiches? We can put a lot of things on sandwiches….turkey, beef, chicken, fish, veggies, peanut butter….somebody stop me! Also, this:

Sandwich.

3. How do you stay organized?

Ash – My definition of organized is not letting my floor turn into a very large bookshelf and keeping a planner in my purse (something nice about having a hard copy instead of using my phone).

Matt – Sometimes I stack my papers up into a pile. In actuality, if my clothes are all over the place I will get super frustrated after a few days and put them up all at once. That’s about it.

4. What’s your favorite thing about yourself?

Ash – That I’m me. Plain and simple.

Matt – She cheated. MY favorite thing about myself is that I’m myself. To actually answer the question, I would say it would be my sense of humor. I love making people laugh and I think I’ve learned how to do that somewhat well. At least high schoolers (which will come in handy as a teacher).

5. Out of all of these which is your favorite?: snakes on a plane? pandas on a bicycle? chinchillas on a moped? frogs on a skateboard? dogs on a razor scooter? squirrels on a 18-wheeler?

Matt – I frickin love pandas. But my favorite would be dogs on a razor scooter. Chincillas wouldn’t be able to operate a moped safely. Nor would frogs be able to kickpush effectively.

Ash – Some of y’all are like “Uhhhhhh…..” But this question came from one of my high school friends, and it’s thanks to her that I was never bored in Spanish 5. She drew lots of things, but the best were always the various animals on different modes of transportation. I remember liking the kangaroo on a taxi, but from this list I’d probably have to pick the squirrels on a 18-wheeler.

Jedi squirrels on an 18-wheeler? They could help Bruce Willis in the next Die Hard movie

6. Who do you think is the worst well-known actor/actress?

Ash – Well I really don’t like Angelina Jolie, but that’s her as a person more than her as a actress. However, I think the award might have to go to Kristen Stewart (Twilight). I’m sorry but what was this?

Matt – KEANU REEVES. HOW DO PEOPLE LIKE THIS GUY. THIS IS HIS EMOTIONAL REACTION TO EVERY SCENE IN EVERY MOVIE HE’S IN:

Isn't he dramatic! <fawn>

7. What is the funniest prank ever played on you or by you?

Ash – I’ve played a few pranks in my lifetime, but none of them are quite as funny when looking back. Like the time I used makeup to create a “bruise” on my arm and convinced my mom that my sister had hit me. Don’t worry she only believed me for like two minutes. Or the time I raved about the Jelly Belly margarita flavored jelly beans but then offered people the (closely colored) jalapeno beans. My favorite prank story is actually one of mom’s from college. Some of her engineer friends decided to play a joke on fellow engineers. So they snuck into the dorm and attached/glued/nailed/etc everything to the ceiling. It was all exactly as the owners had left it…. just upside down.

Matt – Nothing special comes to mind. We’ve had a lot of guys pile furniture outside of dorm rooms freshman and sophomore year. Not to great success though. I’ve stayed out of the line of fire for the most part. One guy did set his neighbor’s dorm door on fire….after spraying body spray on it….that was interesting.

8. Do you have any phobias?

Matt – Some of you all might know this already. But knives. Not like JUST knives, but knives being used in an unsafe manner. Stabbing? Unsafe. Running the blade over a would-be victim of torture in a dramatic movie? Untolerably uncomfortable. Using a knife to open a package then stabbing myself? Surprisingly, not that bad.

Ash – Snakes. Seriously. I was at a friend’s house in elementary school, and while we were playing in the driveway, a snake came toward us. We were lucky that her mom and the gardner were nearby. He took his shovel and killed it. I’ve been afraid of snakes ever since.

9. What do you think is the best invention from your lifetime? Why?

Ash – The Snuggie. Why you ask? Because who doesn’t want to look like this?

Yeah the Ninja Turtle theme song is going to be stuck in my head for the rest of the day

Matt – The modern Internet. I realize the “original” wasn’t invented in my lifetime, but the one we know today was. Remember AOL dial-up? Lol. Seriously, the Internet is what helps run my school work, my job, my social life, my entertainment….it’s huge.

10. What is your favorite thing about Tuesdays?

Matt – Tuesdays are my short days. I have class ’till noon at latest, and most days I have work at 5, during which I can study. Other then that, Tuesday’s are a breeze.

Ash – Right now? Definitely Glee. It gives me something to look forward to every Tuesday.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 27, 2010 6:53 pm

    I hate Kristen Stewart as well. Robert Pattinson too. In fact, all of Twilight drives me nuts.

Leave a Reply

