Skip to content

The Replacements

April 28, 2010

Matt –

While Ash and I have been in a transition period….wow. That sounded kinda bad, didn’t it? The Girl (look for one of my Quick Takes to be about my nickname) and I are doing awesome 🙂 I mean we are in transition between TV series addictions. Nip/Tuck was just wayyyy too dark for rapid digestion. Episode after episode got really depressing, really quick. Besides, finals time is way too dark on its own, right?

Anyway, in this period of TV series non-committance, I have tried to find temporary fixes. A good while back I got into a show by the name of Aqua Teen Hunger Force. It’s an animated series starring a sphere of transforming meat (Meatwad), a milkshake cup (Master Shake) and a human size, floating serving of french fries (Frylock). Obviously this is a show that stretches the intellectual bounds of every individual who watches. The characters are “detectives” who basically just make a mess of things for 11 minutes at a time with reoccuring characters such as the Mooninites, Moth Man, and Ol’ Drippy (who happens to be a pile of mold that was given life). It really is quite funny….if you are a 13 year old male with a mature sense of humor.

I’ve recently revisited a show that I’ve watched for some time, Two and a Half Men. Charlie Sheen plays a middle-aged bachelor who womanizes and drinks beyond safe measures….so basically himself. Jon Cryer plays his brother with infinitely more brains and common sense, but with considerably less bravado. Makes for a good time, especially when Jon Cryer’s son gets involved. Unfortunately, I’ve seen most episodes, so I get bored easily.

Eastbound and Down has been a real pleasant surprise. Think Talladega Nights bred with Major League Baseball. Kenny Powers is a former major league pitcher battling a bum shoulder and his own ego. More often then not, you can clearly see the unique style of the producer (Will Ferrell) shine through.

But I must say, my newest and most favorite “show” has to be Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog. Neil Patrick Harris plays Dr. Horrible, a lovestruck evil genuis, bent on creating a new world “system” and gaining the respect of his laundry day crush. Every so often, Dr. Horrible will burst out into song about his inability to talk to his lady, his freeze-ray (not a death ray), or doing what a man’s got to do.

His nemisis, Captain Hammer (played by Firefly star Nathan Fillon) always shows up at the inopportune time not only to ruin his evil plans, but to steal his love away from him.

 NPH is at his absolute best, and only five bucks on iTunes can get you the three part series. I just finished the first this morning, but won’t be able to concentrate all day because of it!

On a final note, I want to thank everybody who voted for me and supported me in my quest to become an executive officer in Bear Pit. We were successful! I am absolutely estatic about serving as the Bear Pit’s vice president. Congratulations to all the other newly elected officials. It’s going to be a great year with a lot of opportunity to build upon last year’s success!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2010 10:07 am

    Neil Patrick Harris!!! I love him! I wish he wasn’t gay =[
    And Matt, your taste in television seems… lacking. You should watch better shows.

  2. Judi Brenstein permalink
    April 28, 2010 1:47 pm

    Congrats on the Bear Pit Matthew!

Leave a Reply

