Skip to content

Raindrops on Roses

May 10, 2010

Ash –

I know I’m not the first one to use this blog title. But today (really Sunday night) it fits. I’ve been singing those words to myself again and again ever since I saw this adorable frame at Target earlier today. It was colorful and plastered across the top and bottom were the words “these are a few of my favorite things.”

Here's a picture just in case you don't like musicals and never saw "The Sound of Music." Although i don't know why anyone wouldn't like Julie Andrews

Girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes
Snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes
Silver white winters that melt into springs
These are a few of my favorite things

When the dog bites
When the bee stings
When I’m feeling sad
I simply remember my favorite things
And then I don’t feel so bad

And I admit tonight I’m feeling a little sad. Mother’s Day went off without a hitch. I loved spending the day with my family. My mom is one of my best friends. Considering I just got home, I’m a little sad that she leaves in the morning for the Philippines. For 2 weeks of work. Yuck.

On top of that, Matt told me today that he might need to stay at Baylor for the second summer session. He and I are already attending the first session together. So I was looking forward to having July and half of August to do Galveston trips and wedding planning stuff (in between preparing for medical school interviews of course). Instead he might be in Waco until early August… and then has to head back a week later for a work retreat. Double Yuck.

Sure I could list some other stuff about why I’m feeling sad. But then this post would quickly spiral down into a pity party. Instead I thought I’d share a “few of my favorite things” from this weekend.

The color red – I went to see Iron Man 2 on Friday night. Even though I was ready to pass out, I knew Matt was dying to see it. And he did just help me clean up my apartment. Plus I still felt guilty that I was the one to suggest Olive Garden (read Friday’s blog). The Ashley rating: maybe not quite as good as the first one, but overall I really enjoyed it. Although I’m a little afraid of Scarlett Johansson now.

First the kitchen aid mixer. Now iron man. I just really like candy apple red

LOL conversations – Sometimes kids say the cutest things. It’s one of the things I miss most about babysitting. On the drive home from Waco, I had to stop by my favorite sushi place in Houston. You just can’t get good sushi in Waco. At the table over, there were two little boys. Clearly competitive. Each trying to out do the other. So one of them began to brag about how much chocolate he’d eaten the day before. His brother thought it over and said, “Wouldn’t it be awesome of you were pregnant? Then you’d have to eat twice as much food! You know because of the baby.” Too precious.

Flowers – Kind of appropriate considering my blog title is about roses, but I love both giving and receiving flowers. But especially giving. I decided to stop by Whole Foods before going home on Saturday in order to get some Mother’s Day flowers. If you don’t live near a Whole Foods, I’m so sorry. The only grocery store I love more than them is Central Market. But Whole Foods might have even better flowers. I admit I’m a sucker for pretty tulips. They brighten up any room and last so long. How could I pass these up?

A final touch to my Mother's Day gift

Perhaps one of my favorite things of all – SLEEP. Which is exactly what I’m going to do right now. Maybe the best cure of all for feeling sad. After all things always look a little better in the morning. PS We could really use some Texas Tuesday questions so please send some in! Have a great Monday everyone and good luck if you are still taking exams.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Flo permalink
    May 10, 2010 2:33 pm

    When the dog bites, when the bee stings, when you’re feeling sad… Hope Monday is less sad – loved reminiscing about of mutual love of the “Sound of Music” with you today – we could probably get through all the songs in that musical with no prompting whatsoever. Have a great day, Ash! Glad to have you home.

  2. Flo permalink
    May 10, 2010 2:37 pm

    Start of Summer Questions:

    If you could choose between a summer of fun but no money, and a summer of work (ergo money) and less fun time – which would it be? Which summer do you envision this to be?

    What are you looking forward to most as a college senior? least?

    If you and Matt are forced to try this long-distance July – how will you make each other less lonely while apart?

    Name 3 ways to make money this summer that don’t require finding a full-time job.

    That’s all I can think of for now…

  3. Judi Brenstein permalink
    May 11, 2010 12:50 pm

    For Tuesday:
    What is your favorite date memory together? Why?
    Who is better? Pepper, Hershey, or Buddy? Why?
    What do you think will be your most intersting class next year?

Leave a Reply

