Skip to content

…and the screaming…

May 17, 2010
Matt –

It was a few years back…in high school. Junior year? I’ve tried to forget it. Succeeded in doing so…for the most part. I still remember the screaming. So much screaming. High pitched, blood curdling screaming. It was terrible. It was so dark too. Pitch black….only the handheld lights of the screamers could be seen. And then you could hear it. Garbled, angry sounds. This was supposed to be a happy time. It was supposed to be a family outing that would give pleasant memories for years to come. But instead….it’s turned into this horrific place where souls go to die. I relive it sometimes at night. It’s time for the people to know.

Hillary Duff was my first live music experience.

Oh c'mon. She's KINDA cute...

It wasn’t their fault really. My parents didn’t fully realize the potentially damaging effects it would have on me. My brother was going out with some female friends of his to the Houston Livestock Show & Rodeo. I was told I was to tag along. How bad could it be right? I mean, I like watching the rodeo. Country music isn’t so bad, right? But nobody told me that the musical performance would be….her.

Don’t get me wrong. She was kinda hot back then. I had a mini crush. But the music. Oh, the SOUNDS. It was horrific. This is why I’ve dedicated myself to undoing the damage that has been done by that one terrible night. I am going to, throughout the rest of my life, experience real live music. From actual musicians. In actual bands. That play actual songs.

Last year, I started my journey back to normalcy. Ashley and I made our first trek to Austin for the Austin City Limits music festival. It was going to be great! The Decemberists, a new favorite band of mine (shout out to Matt H. on that one),  Dave Matthews Band, and a couple of other big names were going to be there. How could it go wrong?

Apparently in October it starts to get cold. When you add precipitation and wind, it gets colder. Most of the day we were wet, cold, and cranky. The music from the Decemberists was all from their new album that I hated. We were about a mile away from DMB’s performance. One of the performers didn’t show up until 20 minutes after his start time (Mos Def, we still need to have a chat about that. Hit up my celly.)

These guys are Airborne Toxic Event. They easily brought the most energy out of all the bands. Stellar show.

 

And the strangest part about it? It was still a blast! This is why I am so FREAKING excited that tomorrow, Tuesday, at about 10am, the list of performers for ACL 2010 will be released. Unless Baylor condemns all of that “sinful rock music and dancing”, I can’t see a reason why Ash and I won’t make the one and a half hour drive down to ATX to experience it once again…hopefully with less moisture in the air.

Who is rumored to be there?

  • Phish
  • The Eagles
  • Muse
  • Arcade Fire
  • Phoenix
  • The Flaming Lips
  • Pat Green
  • The Black Keys
  • Blues Traveler
  • Robert Earl Keen
  • Gogol Bordello
  • Keane
  • The Dead Weather
  • Passion Pit
  • John Butler Trio

I’ve underlined the bands that I will most likely freak out about seeing. Who all else is going? Who are you interested in seeing? How long am I going to be made fun of for the Hillary Duff incident? Will I ever get over it? Will we have awesome questions for tomorrow’s Texas Tuesday?

You guys hold the answers. Share them with us.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Judi Brenstein permalink
    May 17, 2010 7:34 am

    Well clearly it was on a mistake that you forgot to underline “The Eagles”

    • May 17, 2010 7:36 am

      Matt –
      Don’t get me wrong, love their music. But I have a hankering that they aren’t that great live….. I hope they change my mind.

  2. May 17, 2010 8:06 am

    There’s some great bands listed there….hopefully some of those rumors turn out to be true!
    As for Hillary Duff…I won’t make fun of you for that one. Just being there was bad enough.

  3. Hansen permalink
    May 17, 2010 9:04 am

    Holy crap Phish! You should go to their show just because it’s insanely ridiculous. You may or may not see two guys playing guitar and bass while jumping on trampolines while another guy plays a vacuum.

  4. May 17, 2010 5:34 pm

    robert earl is good too!

Leave a Reply

