Skip to content

Nana, It’s Not THAT Bad…ScatterBrain(4)

May 20, 2010

Matt –

I’m kind of proud. I’ve been writing actual blog posts and staying away from random collections of ideas and fleeting thoughts. That is, its been awhile since I’ve done a…

1. Well, it can officially be deemed summer. Yesterday in an attempt to be athletic, energetic and not asleep, I ventured over to the local golf course to hit a couple. Wellll, remember how I said my nickname used to be Casper? You could probably change that now to Lobster….or hopefully something cooler.

This is a webcam pic of me. Real time. Seriously.

Anyhow, the main concern now is not the pain and intense heat radiating off my skin like some sort of red blistered mosquito trap, but rather to keep my distance from Nana. Nana, if I haven’t introduced her in the past is my grandmother. I will probably never refer to her as grandmother, as she is The Nana. But if I even get close to her wearing any kind of c0ntrasting colors, she will immediately realize that when I answered, “yes” to her question “Do you have a hat?” that I was blatantly lying my little  and at that time still pale face off. It turns into some kind of twisted game. (How long can I hide my neon red existance?) Did I mention she lives across the street? If you are ever looking for a challenge….

2. Over the past semester or so, Ashley and I have been combining our change and putting it into a Farm Fresh milk jug. Well, as the jug was full as of about two weeks ago, we decided to take it into my bank to get it changed into currency that is a little flatter. Turns out, over just a couple of months we managed to save around $160! We have put the cash at the bottom of the jug and plan on filling it right back up with change. And after the wedding? We’ll see how much we have to place in our first savings account together (que the collective “awwww”)  :p I’m curious to see what other people collect their change in. As a kid I used one of these:

The best part? Came filled with candy. How cool is that?

3. Last night was awesome! I finally got to meet up with my friends from high school for the first time in a couple of months for some board games. The original plan was to meet them at Fuddrucker’s for burgers and fries and everything good in the world and then head back to one of the peep’s houses to play games like Apples to Apples, The Game of Things, and Catch Phrase. I don’t know how many of you guys have played Apples to Apples, but it really is one of the greatest feats of mankind. It works best with a group of 4-5 (or more) people. There are two colors of cards: GREEN prompt cards that have adjectives on them and RED play cards that have a whole slew of nouns (people, places, and things. keep up, college station.) Every player plays a RED card to the current GREEN card. The current player who flipped the GREEN card is in charge of selecting the RED card that best matches with the adjective. For example, if the GREEN card was “sunburned” and the RED card options were “laptop”, “golf course”, and “Matt”, one could reasonably choose “golf course” or “Matt” since they are both related. (Some people like to play very literally, some play the funny cards, some read the additional adjectives on the bottom of the cards, some pick at random.) Unfortunately, I have friends that like to choose cards like “laptop”. (Nathan, “three-legged race” is a WAYYYY better option for “wobbly” than “mannequins”. Seriously.) The person who has their RED card selected by the player wins that GREEN card and can stay in the country. I mean, if they have the most GREEN cards at the end they win. Hilarity ALWAYS ensues.

SOOO fun. Please try.

4. Since I live a good ways away from…well….civilization, getting over to my friends’ part of Houston is usually a challenge. After Ash got here, we did the change thing, but couldn’t meet them in time for dinner. Shucks. We decided to grab a bite to eat on our own at a local Mexican restaurant. We did our usual fajitas thing and our rice and beans thing and our “Should we get dessert?” thing. We definitely did the dessert part. Definitely. Ever had flan? I hadn’t. I thought it was some nasty, soft, jiggly, floppy pudding weirdness. It IS weird….different I guess you would say. But my GOODNESS was I wrong about the nasty part. Ashley always picks better meals/desserts/everything at restaurants. I really could make an entire post about that phenomenon. In the end, flan is possibly my new favorite caramel-based custard desert.

Until tomorrow, don’t lose or break your computer. We like our readers.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2010 8:10 pm

    I just bought Apples to Apples before my last party, and we had a blast playing it! Such a fun game.

  2. May 21, 2010 7:50 am

    I can’t believe that you finally made it over to our side of town when Mariah and I are in Florida. Sheesh, Matt.

Leave a Reply

