Skip to content

Day #365

May 24, 2010

Matt – 

364 days out of the year we are socially required to maintain a somewhat balanced composure. Well today is my day #365. The light of my life, my beautfiful and talented fiancee turns 21 today! 

 

It was only a couple of months after we started dating that I got my first chance to celebrate Ash’s big day. I needed something special….something to show her how much she meant to me. Something to show her that even just three or four months into dating that, hey, I’m not just some regular guy. Your mind probably went straight to jewelry or a custom something or other. Mine didn’t. Your brain probably didn’t make it to “buy a generic bear and chocolates from the bookstore”. Apparently mine did. I will never live this down (do I even really deserve to? not so much) but it does need to be said that now, after spending closer to 3 years with her I am a MUCH better gift giver. This is just one of the reasons the world is better off with an Ashley in it: 

  • I’m a much better gift giver. Ashley is one of the best and most thoughtful gift givers I have ever seen. So much time, thought. Exhausting to me at first, but I’m getting the swing of it.
  • I have regained my love for reading. After seeing how enveloped she gets into a novel, I have since redeveloped my addiction to books. It used to be video games and tv and basketball, but at the moment its reading. Weird! But cool.
  • She’s an amazing doctor in the making. Seriously. When she finally breaks into the professional world, she is going to be able to bring a lot of good and healing to a lot of people who need it. And the coolest part about it? The motivation to do all of this is not about what comes with being a doctor (the nice paycheck). To her it’s all about the people she can help. Incredible character.
  • This:

I kind of live for that same smile today.

 (before)

This is not a picture of her. This is a picture of me pretty much melting in her arms.

 (after)

  •  And possibly the most impressive thing she’s done? She’s made me want to be better myself. Ever since the day that I started really getting to know this girl, I’ve wanted to be better. I’ve wanted to strive for things that are better, I’ve wanted to do better for myself and even better for her. It takes a special person to do that. And for this, I thank her.

This list could last 4 novels long. I just don’t have the time or space! Hopefully I’ve done a little better this year than in past with my selection of gifts (crossed-fingers) and I suppose we will find this out tonight at dinner. I’ve also promised to take her to a local bar or somewhere to get her her first official drink as a citizen of legal drinking age 🙂 

If you have time, please let her know one way she’s made your life better (whether its by Facebook post or text message or phone call or carrier pidgeon). After all, its not everyday somebody gets their Day #365. 

Have a wonderful week everyone!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Flo permalink
    May 24, 2010 7:20 am

    Ash – hey’s a keeper!

  2. Flo permalink
    May 24, 2010 7:21 am

    He’s a keeper!

  3. Judi Brenstein permalink
    May 24, 2010 7:21 am

    Matt, sometimes you make me downright weepy when I read your writing skills. While you are busy being a teacher and coach, do yourself and the world a favor and write a book on life’s lessons!

    Ashley, happy birthday little one! Can I still call you that? You have already become an amazing young woman. It is an honor to be your mother and to watch you, share your life with you, and I could never tell you just how proud I am to be your mother. You will find out one day, if you are lucky, when you have children of your own! Besos baby!

  4. May 24, 2010 8:13 am

    Happy Birthday, Ash! I had no idea our birthdays were this close (except like, a year apart). I hope you have a wonderful day and you’re totally getting a text if I happen to have your phone number.

  5. May 24, 2010 1:20 pm

    This is just the sweetest post ever.
    Happy birthday Ash!!

  6. May 25, 2010 9:48 am

    Naw, this is so cute! Happy birthday from a new reader 🙂

Leave a Reply

