Skip to content

Texas Tuesday (12)

May 25, 2010

Ash –

Good morning boys and girls. Sorry this is out a little late, but I was enjoying my birthday all night long (okay maybe just until midnight but I was tired! I woke up at dawn aka 6:40 that morning to take my sister to school, eat “brunch” with Matt [really breakfast but brunch sounded cooler], and run some errands). Thanks to everyone for making it special. To my family for the amazing birthday dinner! And to all my friends for coming out to play afterward! Also thank you to Angela from Craving Cupcakes for giving me the “life is good” award last week. Matt and I decided to use those questions toward today’s Texas Tuesday.

1. What do you do when you’re bored?

Ash – Is there anyone in the house for me to go bother? No? I chased them all away? I guess cuddle in bed with a book or play on my laptop. Maybe bake (but that requires I already have the right ingredients). Maybe go workout (but typically that’s not a “bored” activity for me).

Matt – Depends on how bored. Bored enough to see how many marshmellows I can fit in my mouth? Depends. Usually I will fall back on social networking or reading blogs and forums about basketball. If I’m bored without my computer, I usually try to envision the room I’m in if it were being attacked by ninjas. Makes me aware of my emergency exits. I wish I was kidding people.

2. Are you an Autumn or a Spring?

Matt – Winter by far. I love the cold air, I’m a fan of layers, and it usually means Christmas break is near. Also, Ash gets these cute little red blush marks on her cheeks when its cold.

Ash – As in favorite season? Series of colors that looks best on me? Probably Spring for both. I really like Autumn. I promise. It means tons of great family holidays are on their way not to mention the summer heat is finally coming to an end. Plus I love getting to wear boots and scarves. But I crave Spring. Suddenly it’s not cold. The sun is shinning more than ever. It’s warm but not too warm. Perfect for road trips. Beautiful flowers. You realize school is about to end and kick off summer. Almost time for another birthday for me (by the way isn’t Matt too sweet for his post yesterday?). I could probably survive without Autumn, but I need me some Spring!

3. Quick! You’re stuck at an airport for hours, and the only options are crossword puzzles or an old novel nobody’s ever heard of. Which do you pick?

Ash – Probably the crossword puzzles as long as they look challenging without being New York Times challenging. I actually like a good crossword puzzle. Nice stretch of the mind. But I’m game for the book too especially if the back sounds decent.

Matt – If there is somebody with me, crossword puzzles. If I’m alone, I’ll take the novel. I feel I would give up way to easily on crossword puzzles, mainly because I am TERRRRRRIBLE at them. The worst.

4. Jane Austen or Emily Bronte?

Ash – Jane Austen. Hands down. I read Pride and Prejudice in middle school. I’m pretty sure my copy fell apart (literally) because I read it so many times.

Matt – Rafael Nadal? Lady Gaga? The Smoke Monster from Lost? I’m really not sure what we’re doing here.

5. Do you feel prepared for the five other questions coming your way?

Matt – I’m not so sure. What is a Bronte?

Ash – I certainly hope so. Do I get to stop if I say no? I’m actually more worried about the time. Still need to eat breakfast, get dressed, go pick up my sister, and come home to go shopping with my parents (today is medical interviews suit shopping day).

6. Who’s your hero?

Ash – Aside from Superman? My parents (lets hear a big “awwww” now). But seriously they are the best parents a girl could have. They make all sorts of sacrifices for me, my sister, our family, and friends. Some I’m aware of. Some I’m not. And yet they are never superior about it. Very down to earth people, my friends. Plus there is the whole me loving them and them loving me part.

Matt – And I’m supposed to follow that….how? I suppose my SUPERhero would be Wolverine. (Quick tangent, you know what would be ironic? If the enemy to finally defeat Wolverine was some sort of hybrid fingernail clipper mutant. Think about that. Hard.) Supreme tough guy of all time. Plus, he has awesome hair. I have many many real life heroes. One of them has to be my high school golf coach, Mr. Baacke. Especially since I graduated, he’s taught me what’s important about “real life”. He’s not the only one though. More on this in the future.

This is the real Wolverine.

7. Favourite word?

Matt – What’s that between the “o” and the “r”? Anyway, my favorite word is either “defenestrate” or “interdigitate”. One means to exit a building via window, one means to hold hands with interlocking fingers. Use both in the same sentence for bonus points.

Ash – In high school, I actually used to make up words to be my favorite. Weird, I know. But I’m sure you’ve figured that out by now. I tend to have favorite words of the day/week. Yesterday was “snarky.” Last week was “plethora.”

8. Are you one of those “checklist” people, or are you a “wing it and hope everything goes well” sort of person?

Ash – Both but with a tendency toward a checklist. It takes too much energy to always be a checklist girl though. Sometimes you just need to wing it and hope for the best. But checkout the “notes” app on my iPhone. It’s one long list of many other lists.

Matt – My issue is that I love to make lists, but I have a hard time remembering to refer back to them to see what I need to do. Short lists are GREAT. They give me a mental image of what I needed to do and I can just memorize that. Longer lists need to be displayed in multiple places where I usually look for me to even find them again. It’s a terrible cycle: make a list, go a few days without checking it, realizing you need to make a new updated list, losing it, etc etc.

9. What phrase has stuck with you in your life?

Matt – This prayer has been the motto of my life for awhile now. I haven’t always been the best at carrying it out, but it’s helped me quite a bit.

God,

Grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,

The courage to change the things I can,

And the wisdom to know the difference.

Ash – “Did you try your best?” My mom always used to ask me that. Because being the nerd that I am, I was often much harsher on myself in school than she ever was. I would be in tears over bad grades (we’re talking Niagara Falls here), and so she’d ask, “Did you try your best?” I’ve learned that you can’t always succeed, but if you can at least say you tried your best then you have nothing to be ashamed of.

10. If you were to choose between coffee and tea… which would you go with?

Ash – Am I up late studying? Coffee for sure. Is it a pre-bedtime drink with a small snack? Am I sick or congested? Peppermint tea without a doubt. Is it a special treat for myself? Iced coffee or sweet tea. Sorry that’s not really choosing, but it’s much closer to the truth.

Matt – Coffee without a doubt. Tea is only imbibed when iced, sweetened and with lemon. Coffee is all around, any time of day, iced or hot, sweet or more bold, with extra flavors or not. No debate needed.

Matt – Sorry this took so long to get out today! I’ve been running around town trying to replace my phone contract which expired last night. More on this later. Until then, have a great day!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Judi Brenstein permalink
    May 25, 2010 3:00 pm

    Ashley, I feel compelled to say that on #9 below, you were usually crying because you THOUGHT you did badly, and then it would turn out you got maybe an A-! Thanks for all the kind thoughts in today’s blog. I love you!

  2. Flo permalink
    May 26, 2010 7:46 am

    Great Tuesday, Mashley. Awwwwww thanx! Big hugs to u both!

Leave a Reply

