Skip to content

Texas Tuesday (13)

June 1, 2010

Ash –

I know y’all have come here expecting your usual Texas Tuesday. And I hate to disappoint. I really do. But today is the first day of summer class. What this means for you bloggers (besides having to listen to me whine about homework for the next month) – Matt will only be blogging on the weekends in order to focus on his heavy course load. Since I’m only taking 2 classes (vs. his 4), I’ll take on most of the writing. Pretty sure I’m up for the challenge! But I might need some help…. such as Texas Tuesday questions!!!

Sadly we didn’t get any questions this week. And considering the long drive back to Waco, the unpacking, and the fact my AC doesn’t seem to be working, I didn’t really feel like coming up with questions myself. Instead we’ll have a “currently” edition (as inspired by Lauren from Texas).

Current Book(s): Just finished reading Dear John. I’ll try not to ruin anything for those of you who are about to rent the movie…. But really? Really that’s how it ends? How depressing. Anyone got some good chick lit to recommend? I need something light and very happy.

Current Playlist: Basically all the new Glee songs. Perfect for road trips and working out.

Current Shame-Inducing Guilty Pleasure: Normally this would be a food answer. But Matt and I are making this our no fast food month (part of our 101 in 1001)…. Wow. I’m really drawing a blank. I probably should be ashamed of how much I play “Angry Birds” on my iPhone. But can’t say that I am.

Current Color: Candy apple red.

Current Drink: Water and lots of it. Not sure about y’all, but it’s in the 90’s here in Waco. Thankfully not as humid as Houston, but anything over 90 is a little more than just “warm.” And when your AC is only sort of working (calling maintenance after class!), you need to stay hydrated.

Current Food: Anything from Whole Foods. I was lucky enough to stop for some groceries before leaving (only HEB’s in Waco. I’m not asking for a Central Market or Whole Foods, but couldn’t we at least have a little more variety? Maybe a Kroger? Or a Randalls?). Thankfully everything stayed fresh since we brought a cooler for the trip. My goodness I love a fridge stocked with fresh fruit and vegetables. We even got shrimp burgers! Now if I could just stop daydreaming about what my parents told me I missed for dinner – spaghetti squash with avocado pesto. Jealous? Me? Oh nooooo…..

Current Favorite Show: Glee. But in my defense it’s practically the only show that’s still airing new episodes right now.

Current Wishlist: Not much. I got most of what I wanted on my birthday. And plenty of money and giftcards for anything I “didn’t get.”

Current Needs: For my AC to work! It’s only going to get hotter! This is Texas!

Current Triumphs: That when I came home for the summer my mom actually noticed my arms were starting to look a little more toned. Nowhere near perfect. If they were, my arms wouldn’t hurt so much (ps Did anyone else know that Lifetime has these air compression weight machines??? They are surprisingly awesome). Anyway, thank you Jillian. I’m actually encouraged to keeping doing your workout video this summer.

Current Bane(s) of my Existence: Medical school applications. Enough said.

Current Celebrity Crush: None are coming to mind at the second. Then again I’m only half awake. I think I’m waiting to see if any great movies come out this summer. So far I’ve seen Sex and the City 2 (a C+ or maybe a B- when I’m less sleepy/grumpy) and Prince of Persia (a solid B+ but way too many snakes for my liking). I’ll probably hold off on any other movie fun until weekends or after summer classes end. Any movies y’all are looking forward to?

Current Indulgence: Well it was enjoying my beautiful new backyard. Sheesh I love that patio. So comfy and you can always take a dip in the pool if you get too warm. But now my family will have to enjoy it without me 😦

Current #1 Blessing: My Baylor scholarship. As much as I might whine about school, I know I have it good. Quite a few people are taking on super heavy course loads so they can graduate a semester early. Mostly for financial reasons. And I’m grateful I don’t have to do that.

Current Slang or Saying: Oddly enough, it’s “the devil.” No idea when/why I started saying that lately. But I realized I’ve said it a lot the last week or two. Can I use it in a sentence? Sure. Summertime mosquitoes are “the devil” (and if you disagree you clearly don’t live in Texas. Our mosquitoes are practically small birds and are all currently on a mission to seek and acquire their target – me).

Current Outfit: Well it was my new jean shorts for the past week. But my outfit for the next month will be Nike shorts, a shirt, and tennis shoes. I’m taking a fitness theory class every MTWRF. Why wear cute clothes when I’m going to have to workout anyway?

Current Excitement: My engagement party in a couple of weeks. I can’t wait to go home for a weekend. The fact that I’m coming home for a party is just too perfect for words.

Current Mood: Missing my family and puppies. Look my Pepper wanted me to take her with me (note: this picture was not staged but Pepper is also known to climb into suitcases when people are packing).

Current Link: Well I could talk about the Pioneer Woman and that delicious looking recipe for homemade tortillas….. but I’ll resist. There are certain things I open up on my computer every morning (or whenever I turn my computer on). One of them is the Knot. Not because I read it everyday, but it keeps an ongoing countdown of how many days there are until our wedding. That makes me smile.

And that is all for today my dears. Hope everyone has a great Texas Tuesday, and please send in some questions for next week! The sooner the better so I can make Matt help me answer them this weekend.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Judi Brenstein permalink
    June 1, 2010 8:51 am

    Questions for next week:
    1. How does it feel to be just one year away from the wedding?
    2. What do you think you will most like about “being” married?
    3. What do you worry about when it comes to being “married?”
    4. What is the first thing you are going to make or have made with “Beauty” (and is that the final name?)

  2. Flo permalink
    June 2, 2010 8:33 am

    For TT:
    What do you learn in fitness theory exactly?
    When you read Brit Lit, does the little voice in your head have a British accent?
    What fruits would you like in your kabobs? So far, pineapple, watermelon, cherries, shall we add Kiwi if I can find it?
    What new songs would recommend for my summer playlist?

    Have a great two weeks, Ash – we miss you too!

  3. June 2, 2010 9:48 pm

    I love that Glee is still on! I’m getting into the Bachelorette though right now.

    It really sucks that y’all only have an HEB. We have at least 3. We also have 2 Krogers, an Albertsons and probably some other stores too. Can’t forget Super Walmart and Super Target.

    I know what you mean about those blasted mosquitoes! I can’t even tell you how many bites I have right now. It’s ridiculous.

    I too am wearing workout clothes to class this summer, but it’s not because of class, they’re just super comfortable and I do work out eventually (we’re doing p90x).

    And as for movies I CANNOT wait until Eclipse comes out. I have to wait until July 2 to watch it though because my mom doesn’t want it to interfere with my studying. Thank goodness I don’t have a final otherwise it would be the 5th! I’m a little Twilight Saga obsessed if you can’t tell. I’m not ashamed.

    I guess you already have your Texas Tuesday questions for next week, but these can be fore the NEXT week.

    1. What is your favorite song and why?
    2. Do you miss anything about being single?
    3. Is there any place to go dancing in Waco?
    4. What extracurricular activities did you do in high school and did you wish you still did them?
    5. If you could live anywhere, where would it be?
    6. What’s the color of the nearest object to you? and explain it in five words without telling us what it is.
    7. Would you ever want to be on your own tv show?
    8. How do you remind yourself to do things?
    9. Do you turn the water on before or after you get into the shower?
    10. Who is your favorite friend of your fiancees?

    Hope those were random enough for you. Can’t wait to see you guys next weekend!

Leave a Reply

