Skip to content

7 Quick Takes (13)

June 4, 2010

Ash –

TGIF to the max. Ugh. I went to bed Wednesday night feeling a little congested. But I constantly suffer from allergies (the word “seasonal” has no meaning anymore). I figured a good night’s rest would fix everything. Oh but I was wrong. So incredibly wrong. Cue more congestion in the morning. Proceed to sneezing fits. How might we improve this scene? Pressure on the ears? Burning of the throat? Awkward staring from the other students? Or as my friend Chisom would say, “Stay home, Sickface!!” The story only goes downhill from there. That’s the long way of saying today’s Quick Takes is going to be a little…. short. But if you forgive me, I’ll promise not to sneeze on you.

1. Ash – A girl’s best friend when she’s sick.

2. Matt – I sat down to write this little quick take, this little paragraph of one interesting aspect of my life over the last week. Nothing. School has drained all fun and social aspirations out of my soul. It’s like I am now physically unable to goof off. It’s kinda scary. Example? I walked onto the basketball court on campus. Picked up a ball. Shot 5 times. Realized it’s getting late and that I need to get home to finish my work. Ugh.

3. Ash – One of my all time favorite Cyanide & Happiness cartoons. It’s a hoot if you were ever into Mario Brothers on the good ol’ Nintendo 64.

4. Matt – A store here in Waco was running an awesome special. Buy orange juice for your sick fiancee (couldn’t just be any ol’ regular orange juice), get a bouquet of flowers and a vase for free! It was a “sick” deal (generational slang pun).

5. Ash – One of yesterday’s highlights (because they’re so many when you’re sick) was my friend Angela randomly sending me this skype:

Dear Ashley,

You have lovely blue eyes.

Love,

Angela

Angela drew this awhile back. Notice the eyes are blue!

6. Matt

Set them up on her desk. Hope she likes em!

7. Ash – Alrighty. Sick girl is ready to get some sleep. But last week I asked for some cinnamon recipe recommendations for my new Kitchen Aid mixer, and I got a grand total of one suggestion (which was a great suggestion but I’m pretty sure we can do better). So anyone want to add on this week?

And while I’m eating my (deliciously sinful) cinnamon treats, I’ll need to mentally prepare to work off said calories. Anyone want to suggest some good arm workouts? Or any favorites in general? I have a gift card to buy some new swimsuits in July… please help!

Matt –  Sorry I suck. I will try to write a nice little story for y’all this weekend. Whatever you do, have fun!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2010 7:36 am

    Snickerdoodles! = cinnamon

  2. Heather permalink
    June 5, 2010 2:09 pm

    I don’t know that this officially counts as a cinnamon recipe since it’s only used sprinkled on top, but it’s delicious nonetheless.

    Enjoy!

    Better Than Cheesecake

    1 C. + extra Sugar
    2 Packages Cream Cheese
    1 tsp. Vanilla
    2 Cans Crescent Rolls
    1/2 Stick Butter
    Cinnamon

    Mix cream cheese, 1 C. sugar and vanilla (with new Kitchen Aid mixer). Grease 9x13in pan. Spread one can crescent rolls in bottom of pan. Spread cream cheese mixture on top. Spread second can of rolls on top. Melt butter. Pour on top. Sprinkle sugar and cinnamon on top. Bake at 350 for around 20-25 minutes, or until browned. Can be served warm or cold.

Leave a Reply

