Skip to content

Summer School: Week 2

June 7, 2010

Ash –

Good morning sunshines. Yes I know it’s a Monday. NOBODY should actually be happy on a Monday. Not unless it’s a three day weekend Monday… which this isn’t. But I must confess that I am in a very good mood.

1. I’m not sick anymore  (we’ll touch back on that in a minute).

2. My engagement party is this weekend.

3. Because I have family coming in this Thursday, I’m planning on skipping my Friday classes to go home. So it’s almost like having another short week!

notice the flowers Matt got me are still going strong 🙂

But back to the being sick part. I know I left you on a pretty ugly note this last Friday. Even though I spent most of Thursday drinking orange juice like it was going out of style, I only felt marginally better on Friday. A trip to the doctor was no longer a question.

The problem was as I mentioned before I don’t currently have a car (not that I should’ve been driving at that point anyway). But there was no way Matt was going to skip his classes (these are important to his major and I wouldn’t have let him).

So how does a sick girl bide her time until 3 p.m.? She sleeps. Duh. Except then she wakes up two hours before her classes. Feeling a little better…. Slightly bored of sleeping… Wanting to escape her apartment… If you’re in my family you definitely know where I’m going with this. The point is I wanted to go to class. Yes I am that student. Mock me all you want but I just told you that I’m skipping classes this Friday. And I already had to miss my fitness theory class on Thursday (for whatever reason Matt didn’t think I looked “well enough.” Go figure). Plus Baylor has a rule about having to attend at least 75% per class in order to receive credit. Yes I know I’m being defensive and that I have a problem.

But lets blame the enabler! When Matt checked in on me that morning, he TOLD ME to text him if I was feeling well enough to go to class and he’d ask his teacher if he could leave 15 minutes early to come pick me up. Maybe the idea wouldn’t have crossed my mind if he hadn’t said that (okay completely untrue… he only offered because through past experiences he’s learned how anxious I get about missing class). But I think I like my version better.

Anyway I texted Matt. He asked his teacher prior to class, and the teacher generously said he didn’t mind. I was estatic to break free of my germ infested apartment. Finished Richard II in Brit Lit. Explored the SLC (student life center) during Fitness. And headed off to the doctor at last. I love the clinic I go to in Waco. Always so cheerful. A nice t.v. and comfy feel in the waiting room. And they actually give me medicine unlike the school clinic (who just kept trying to do blood tests the few times I went to them – vampire conspiracy maybe?).

maybe they've seen Twilight one too many times?

Of course by that point I was exhausted. Maybe the going to classes part hadn’t been such a great idea after all. So I passed out in the passenger seat while Matt went to drop off my prescriptions. Being the lovable man that he is, he offered to stop at the redbox and pick up a couple movies for me to relax with. Awwwww. Honestly I was too tired to get out and help him pick, but I told him a couple of comedies would be great.

My friends, I may not have learned anything in class that day, but I did learn a valuable lesson. Always go with your fiancee to the redbox. The first movie he got me was Up in the Air. Never heard of it? Neither had I. But turns out it had George Clooney in it. Plus Matt said, “I heard it’s funny.” Happy with my medicine and sleepy, I figured why not. Not a comedy. *MOVIE SPOILER ALERT* George spends something like 320 days of the year traveling. His job is to fire people. He barely keeps in touch with his family. Even though their father is dead, his sister doesn’t choose him to walk her down the aisle. And the one shining moment is that he falls in love…. only to show up at the woman’s house and find out she’s married with kids. As I said, not a comedy (although not a bad movie… just disappointing when you really want to watch/are expecting a comedy).

According to Matt, “It wasn’t so bad.” But then again he only watched half of it before he had to leave. So his vote doesn’t count. The next day I decided to try one of the other movies he rented – The Invention of Lying. Someone please explain to me why this movie didn’t receive more complaints? Kids at school (remember I went to a Catholic high school) were talking about how sacrilegious Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy was. Facebook groups were popping up all over the place for The Golden Compass. But I swear I didn’t hear a peep about The Invention of Lying. *MOVIE SPOILER ALERT* He writes ten “commandments” on the back of pizza boxes? God or “the Man in the sky” is merely the product of a guy lying to make his mother feel better about dying? And this is supposed to be a “romantic comedy?”

Jennifer Garner why would you choose to be in this movie?

Jennifer Garner why would you choose to be in this movie?

Side note: I had to look up reviews for this movie afterward, and my best friend Wikipedia had lots to say. I got a chuckle out of this comment:

The United States Conference of Catholic Bishops rated The Invention of Lying as “O – morally offensive” calling it venomous and pervasively blasphemous.

Anyway I wouldn’t recommend this movie, and I apologize if I’m offending any of you who loved it. Just not my cup of tea. Matt did rent one other movie – Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus. To be honest, I couldn’t make myself watch it. Has anyone else seen it? Is it good? Because I may never know. I love Matt, but from now on he is only allowed to recommend movies that he has actually seen or has heard from reliable sources that are good. Either that or I will get my sick behind out of the car to help him choose so I can at least share in the blame.

Bad movies aside, it was a enjoyable weekend though. Lots of rest. Lots of antibiotics. End result? A happy and healthy Ashley. Have a great Monday everyone!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2010 9:05 am

    Ugh, I’m sorry to hear you’ve been feeling so crummy. Thanks for visiting and commenting at my blog a couple of weeks ago (sorry I’m just now returning the favor). It sounds like your fiance’s flaw is he is a bad movie picker-outter. If that’s the worst of it, you’ll be okay 😉

  2. June 7, 2010 1:08 pm

    HATED Invention of Lying. Absolutely hated it. I really liked Up In The Air. I won’t ever buy it or anything, but I enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

