Skip to content

Texas Tuesday (14)

June 8, 2010

Ash –

Yay for having actual Texas Tuesday questions this week! Thank goodness. I didn’t think I could pull off a “currently” two weeks in a row. Unfortunately not a lot changes when you’re busy with summer classes and medical school applications. So please keep sending in those questions! It’s a huge help until Matt can rejoin us full time here at the Double Shot.

1. How does it feel to be just one year away from the wedding?

Ash – Really exciting and nerve wracking all at the same time. But mostly I can’t wait. For a lot of you, it probably seems like one year is such a long time. But I know it’s going to be here fast. Already it’s been half a year since Matt proposed. And I know this upcoming year is going to be extremely busy with classes, med school interviews, working on my thesis, making the last of the wedding decisions, etc. I have an amazing year to look forward to and it all culminates in me marrying my best friend.

2. What do you think you will most like about being married?

Ash – I could remind you about the best friend part. But I’m afraid some of you might already be choking on all the sap. So I’ll give you a more trivial answer. This isn’t what I’ll “most like” but I’m looking forward to changing my last name. Something I wrote as a joke on my facebook (although it’s true):

The last name is Brenstein. Not like the Berenstain Bears. Also notice the “r” comes before the “e” (that always trips people up). It sounds more like “Einstein” or “Frankenstein.” It’s okay if you’ve mispronounced it. Almost everyone does =D

My cousin Katie made me laugh when she sent a text one day saying she’d just noticed my facebook joke but I wouldn’t have to worry about that much longer since I’d be a Wilson soon enough.

3. What do you worry about when it comes to being married?

Ash – Probably the finances. Matt and I might be young, but I don’t think either of us are naive. We know we’re going to be fresh out of college and newlyweds. He’ll be starting a new career, and I’ll still be in school. Nobody every said that was going to be “easy.” But I know we can do it especially with our saving now and learning how to spend as smart as possible.

4. What is the first thing are you going to make or have made with “Beauty” (and is that the final name)?

Ash – I forgot to mention that my parents actually came up with this week’s questions. So they have the insider information that I’m currently calling my Kitchen Aid mixer “Beauty.” Still debating if that is her name (and yes we’ve decided it’s a she). I’m sure I sound crazy giving my prized possessions names but ever since Lappy the laptop in high school there’s been no stopping it.

She's happy in her new home

As for the first thing I’m going to make, I got several more cinnamon recipes from friends and readers on here and on facebook (thank you everyone!). And I think I’ve gotten it down to two. So we’re going to put it to a vote!

5. What do you learn in fitness theory exactly?

Ash – Well right now it’s mostly boring book stuff like how to make “SMART” goals, the need to exercise in order to be healthy, what is “health,” etc. But eventually we’ll try sports we don’t normally play as a chance to explore new physical activities that we might enjoy (i.e. racquetball, rock climbing, and so on). We’ll also talk about things like the proper shoes for running, how to train for a marathon, proper nutrition, which weights in the weight room are best for your needs, and things of that nature. I’m hoping to get a lot out of it.

6. When you read Brit Lit, does the little voice in your head have a British accent?

Ash – Uhhhhh. I didn’t before but now it definitely might. ‘Erry Potter anyone?


7. What fruits would you like in your kabobs? So far, pineapple, watermelon, and cherries. Shall we add kiwi if I can find it?

Ash – Yum! Yes please. We are making fruit kabobs for the engagement party (my aunt’s idea). I can’t wait to go home this weekend and help set everything up. Plus I’m going bridesmaid dress shopping with my lovely ladies!

8. What new songs would you recommend for my summer playlist?

Ash – Lots and lots of Glee. It’s a sickness. The finale is tonight and I’m majorly bummed that it’s ending so soon (especially when we waited so long to get the “second half” of the first season – can they really call it the same season when they already sold the “first half” at a full season price?).

9. What is your favorite black and white movie?

Ash – Probably Schindler’s List. Although I obviously love all of the Audrey Hepburn movies in black and white. Casablanca was great…. So was Bringing Up Baby…. but Schindler’s List still wins.


10. Name something quirky that the other person does.

Ash – When he goes indoors (i.e. it’s no longer super bright and sunny), he doesn’t put his sunglasses on top of his head or in his pocket (which is what I think most guys tend to do). He likes to put them backwards meaning upside down on the back of his head. Sometimes it’s cute. Sometimes I think it looks silly. Most of the time it’s just Matt.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2010 7:45 am

    fruit kabobs?! I’m excited.

    Also, I’m sad tonight is that last Glee episode. I’m totally going to miss it.

  2. Judi Brenstein permalink
    June 8, 2010 7:52 am

    The KNOWLEDGE I get from Texas Tuesdays is just astounding! Here are some questions for next week!

    1. What was your favorite moments from the engagement party?
    2. What do you like about your new internship?
    3. What is your favorite part of Brit Lit so far?
    4. Who came the farthest to attend your engagement party and tell us something about them?
    5. Who was the oldest person to attend your engagement party and tell us something about them?
    6. If you could go on a vacation to the new Harry Potter theme park, would you?
    7. What is your favorite type/from of chocolate?

    That’s all I’ve got this week!

  3. June 8, 2010 8:53 am

    Changing your name is very weird. Very very weird. It takes a long time to get used to.

    Yes, you will be young and poor. It’s rough but it makes you a stronger couple. I truly believe that. Try to enjoy it!

  4. June 8, 2010 9:04 am

    You’re not the only one who names inanimate objects! My iPod is named Dexter, and my Kitchen Aid is Lola. I haven’t named my laptop yet though…

    • Judi Brenstein permalink
      June 8, 2010 4:25 pm

      Oh I like Dexter. That’s perfect!

Leave a Reply

