Skip to content

Sin-namon Rolls

June 10, 2010

Ash –

Remember Double Shot’s first ever poll on Texas Tuesday? Well the people have spoken… let there be cinnamon rolls! Oh Pioneer Woman, why must you taunt me with such delicious recipes?

This isn't a dessert.... it's in the breakfast section.

So delicious that I (maybe a little too quickly) throw aside my homework, internship, and med school apps to go buy the necessary ingredients.

Meet our cast of characters.

Oh yes. There will be fun to be had.

Look how excited she is!

So lets get cracking. First up. Making the dough. I admit I was a little nervous about this part. I tried to make cinnamon rolls with my family once… I could not for the life of me figure out how to make the dough rise.

Just watching it simmer.

But with “Beauty” (or whatever her name is), I’m willing to give this thing another try. Speaking of which, anyone want to suggest a name? I’d love to hear them. Or you can vote on the already suggested names.

And without further adieu, please witness the first “official” use of my Kitchen Aid mixer (because obviously blogging makes this official).

Such a proud moment.

I squealed with joy when the dough began to rise. But a girl has to sleep sometime, and the Pioneer Woman promised me I could store the dough in the fridge overnight. So off to sleep I went with dreams of cinnamon rolls in my head.

Those silly classes are over. Lets get back to work!

Yes the picture doesn’t lie. I had to convert my living room table. College apartments are not entirely baking friendly.

I never thought I'd see the day where I'd be baking cinnamon rolls. Eating, sure. Baking, no.

Now for some cinnamon, butter, and sugar (a.k.a. the “good stuff”).

Matt - "How are the Pioneer Woman's kids not huge?" Ash - "I don't know. I suppose they're active. They do live on a ranch." Matt - "Yeah but no amount of ranching, exercising, or Michael Phelps'ing could prevent the weight I'd gain."

Roll it all up. Slice and dice. Throw them into the oven. What to do in this free time? Read a little bit of Gulliver’s Travels for Brit Lit? OR whip up some homemade icing for my beauties? I think we all know which one I chose.

Only 15 minutes until they come out of the oven....

My apartment should smell this good all the time.

What? You want to be smothered in delicious icing? Well if you say so...

I forgot to mention a little side note. The Pioneer Woman says her recipe makes 40-50 cinnamon rolls. I fully planned on cutting everything in half (despite Matt’s protests). However, one of my best friends called right as I was starting. I’d been having an outside issue that I wanted her advice on. I asked Matt if he would help me out by throwing the necessary ingredients on the stove. I’m sure you can see where this is going. He says it was an “accident.”

Cinnamon roll anyone?

Clearly I have way too many. Good thing I’m going home this afternoon because I need to find some extra mouthes. Or maybe I should bring them to classes? Fitness Theory? After all, cinnamon is good for your metabolism.

His newest facebook status: "I'm so going to marry this girl. Magic in the kitchen. Anyone else eating freshly homeade cinnamon rolls?"

These things might be a heart attack in the making, but they’re beyond delicious. Thank you beloved parents for my Kitchen Aid mixer. She worked like a dream. And thank you Pioneer Woman for your sinful recipes.

And scale…. I would thank you to be kind. Pretty please?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2010 6:21 am

    If you start baking regularly, there’s no hope for the people around you; they’re bound to gain a pound or two 😉 I avoid it because I bake and give most of it away! Your cinnamon rolls look great. I need to try these sometime, I’ve only ever baked “jiffy cinnamon rolls” (which were still fantastic).

  2. June 10, 2010 7:05 am

    I’ve been planning on making these for a while now, and probably should do so before I move out of my parents house and do no have access to her KitchenAid Mixer. I sadly do not own one yet, but it IS on the registry!!

    ps, I vote you name her “Candy”

  3. Hansen permalink
    June 10, 2010 7:20 am

    Now you just need to make a 3 pound cinnamon roll. http://img534.imageshack.us/img534/899/89725989.jpg

  4. Flo permalink
    June 10, 2010 7:42 am

    Ash, you could write a very amusing Cookbook… with pictures of Matt eating each dish! What fun… I can’t wait to try them… drive safely so the C-Rolls arrive unharmed and uneaten.

  5. June 10, 2010 7:51 am

    Candy! Because she’s Candy Apple Red! Sorry I’m so cheesy. I can’t help it. My dog’s name is Frank because he’s a dachshund. Frankfurter. Yeah, it’s bad.

    P.S. College Station and Waco are really only 2 hours away. I would gladly sacrifice my calories to one of those cinnamon rolls. Just saying 🙂

  6. June 10, 2010 9:06 am

    Freeze them! Wrap them in foil and throw them in the freezer. Just reheat when you want to serve them. They are fantastic.

  7. June 10, 2010 1:25 pm

    Ship them to Canada ?

  8. June 10, 2010 10:28 pm

    If I lived in TX I’d be at your door with a movie and a smile, hoping maybe that would earn me a cinnamon roll or two 🙂 They look delicious! Also, incredibly jealous of your mixer.

Trackbacks

  1. 7 Quick Takes (14) « A Double Shot of Texas

Leave a Reply

