Skip to content

7 Quick Takes (14)

June 11, 2010

Matt –

I’m BAAAAAAAAAAAAAAACK! I know it’s been awhile, so let’s use our time wisely before I have to scamper off again into the rabbit hole that is my hellacious summer school schedule. As the ever wise Dalai Lama said, “It’s Friday. Where the heck are my Quick Takes”?

1. This is just exhilarating. Should blogging be a rush? Tomorrow is the big engagement party (her name is Ashley. keep up.) Hopefully we can grab some stellar photos and Ash can bring ’em to you on Monday. From that date, we might start running a countdown here on the DBL to keep track of HOW OUTRAGEOUSLY FAST the next year is going to go.

2. To all my soccer fans (All 6 of you left reading, I know its called football. Tolerate my insolence for a slightly longer time. I’ll make up for it.) I’m sure I don’t have to remind you that arguably the world’s biggest sporting event starts today. The World Cup, an international football tournament that happens every four years, is being held in South Africa. From the brief clips I saw on ESPN, the opening ceremony looked like it rivaled (maybe not in Chinese precision) some Olympic ceremonies. These people are serious about soccer. I will admit I’m not the biggest fan, but I did watch 4 years ago. I think I’m hooked. When crazy things like this happen (below), how can you NOT tune in?

(for a little extra fun, search for the parodies made from this video)

3. I understand there is a picture of me floating around the internet. I realize that what I was doing was maybe not the healthiest behavior. I can assure you used my greatest mental capacity to resist the tempation that was presented in front of me. I had a temporary lapse of judgement and willpower. I also promise that this lapse will never happen again. I owe to myself better behavior and self-care. Treating myself in this mannnner on a constant baasis can only lead to self-loathing and possibly even heealth problemssss. Dangggg. Aaall the icinnnng is stickinggg the        kkkkkeys. Might as well finish the pan.

4. Some movies that I really need to see:

  • Kick-Ass
  • Pulp Fiction (for the millionth time)
  • any movie that erases my memory of Invention of Lying
  • The Last Airbender
  • Toy Story 3 (anybody who was under the age of 3 when the original Toy Story came out, you have no legitimate claim to anything related to “LIKE OH EM GEE I HAVE TO SEE THIS MOVIE”. You weren’t part of the original. This is my movie. I have been waiting 11 years for this since Toy Story 2. Back off.)
  • Sorry about that. I really like Toy Story.
  • Get Him to the Greek (spin off movie from Forgetting Sarah Marshall)

Why couldn't they come up with a better name for him than "Slinky Dog"?

5. I’m quickly running out of things to share. My life conists of waking up, rummaging around for the strongest source of caffeine or B-vitamins or methamphetamines (I’m joking about the B-vitamins…too much of those are bad for you), sitting in class for what seems like a kabillion hours, and then coming back to the sanctuary of my apartment where I have Vietnam-like flashbacks of accounting concepts or business law statutes. At least I have a girl who doesn’t get weirded out she finds me at my desk with dried tears and cinnamon goo on my face.

6. I need some good ideas for two things: ringtones and text tones. Ring tones obviously being what is played from my phone as a result of somebody calling me and text tones being the shorter sound that plays whenever I receive an email or test message. Some current ideas:

  • Power Rangers communicator beep
  • Banana Phone (click for the video)
  • for my Always Sunny In Philidelphia fans, “Day Man”?

Help me out guys!

7. I really have nothing else for you guys. I feel like I’ve stolen something away from you. In any case, keep the questions coming! Ash needs you to help pick up my slack! Have a stellar weekend!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Hansen permalink
    June 11, 2010 9:26 am

    Text tone: COO CA COO CA COOOOOOOOO or just COO CA COOOOOOO
    My name is Judge
    COME ON!
    Female voices saying “Mr. F!”

    Ringtone: Always Sunny theme music
    Any one of the Always Sunny songs from The Nightman Cometh
    Faith No More – Epic
    The Final Countdown

    But seriously, put the thing on vibrate.

  2. June 14, 2010 9:54 pm

    Definitely see ” get him to the greek;” it was so worth it! And I want to see Toy Store Three as well, so much so that I offered to take the kids I baby-sit as a “guise.” 🙂 Oh, I saw Kick-Ass as well; it’s dark but oddly humorous at times. Ash may want to cover her eyes at times as I felt it necessary!

Leave a Reply

