Skip to content

365 and Counting

June 14, 2010

Ash –

Sorry to disappear on y’all on Friday. But I had an ahhhh-mazing weekend at home. So much so that I don’t think I can possibly fit it all into one post. Seriously I made every second of my “vacation” count. So today I’ll just tell you about the engagement party. Look forward to other stories the rest of the week!

Guess who?

This party has been in the works for quite some time (my amazing man proposed mid-October but we decided to wait on the engagement party since we had so much time before the wedding). And lucky for me I have a family that was determined to make this day as perfect as possible. I mean just look at our backyard.

How lucky am I to live here?

Loving the flowers.

Your Basil Jr. update - he's doing quite well!

And the food? Oh my goodness. Yummy fajitas and bbq from Vasos (a local favorite). Texas for the win.

How on earth did my aunt come up with those crazy (awesome) fruit kabobs? And look at the hugely delicious cake Matt's mother brought (half chocolate and half yellow cake)

Plus we can’t forget the “candy station” (well done Aunt Pat and Aunt Amy!). In case you haven’t guessed, our colors of choice are a deep red and champagne.

Does anyone have a sweet tooth or is that just me?

Or the Pioneer Woman’s sangria (which most people said was the best they’d ever tasted – how does she do it???).

Someone needs to come burn my Pioneer Woman cookbook. It has become an addiction.

But more importantly were all the people who came – family, friends, neighbors, and even some new people. I could not have been more thankful for the people who came to celebrate with us – exactly one year from our future wedding date.

The girls.

The boys... plus dog.

Cousins.

My aunt/godmother and my mom (isn't that a great shade of red???)

Ms. Flo and Mosh (Matt's grandmother) - I love laughing shots. Can't you just feel the joy?

Matt's father giving a toast (the guy next to him would be Ryan - the best man. And he's currently single, ladies. Do I hear any bidders?)

But what’s a summer party if you don’t throw in a little swimming? Or is that just a Houston thing? Seriously if the heat doesn’t get you, the humidity will.

The future groom showing off his skills. Look at that extension.

Psh. I'm not going to get wet.

The winning Team Bridesmaids - Katie, Angela, Monet, me, and Chioma (who kindly took the place of the girl above a.k.a her sister)

Funny how the boys got more aggressive as they lost. Was it really an accident that I got pushed into the stairs? Hit on the head? And had my feet yanked out from under me?

But I forgive this boy anyway.

I apologize to the numerous people who came and weren’t featured in today’s post because everyone who came made it that much more special. In fact, I wish I could just spend all day posting pictures, but even that wouldn’t do the party justice (although the footage of my engagement “toast” might). We’re talking happiness that easily exceeds how you felt as a kid coming downstairs on Christmas morning (which for me was one of the most magical days of the year). I simply can’t believe that I am less than a year away from marrying Matt. Let the countdown begin!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Flo permalink
    June 14, 2010 7:45 am

    Wow, Ash! Just wow

  2. June 14, 2010 8:18 am

    It looks like you had a great time!

  3. June 14, 2010 8:28 am

    Aww Congrats you two!! Looks like a great party 🙂

  4. June 14, 2010 9:52 pm

    Aww, looks like an amazing engagement party! You two are adorable and all the food + drink + swimming (plus the cute single boy) would make for a fabulous party indeed 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. The After Party « A Double Shot of Texas

Leave a Reply

