Skip to content

Texas Tuesday (15)

June 15, 2010

Ash –

Good morning everyone. Normally we answer questions in the order you send them to us, but I’m going to break ever so slightly  bend the rules for Texas Tuesday this week. Sorry to those of you who sent in questions before this particular set, but I couldn’t pass the opportunity to continue with the engagement party/weekend theme. I promise your questions will be answered in the upcoming weeks! And always feel free to send in more. The Matt part of Mashley will be back in three weeks (yet another countdown).

1. What was your favorite moments from the engagement party?

Wow. How do you pick? Despite all the pushing and shoving (guys play dirty), I really enjoyed the boys vs. girls (or bridesmaids vs. groomsmen) basketball game. Another great moment was when Mom pulled out her videocamera for the cake cutting (everyone politely refused to eat until we officially cut it). Since we were all gathered together, she asked if anyone wanted to give a toast. Matt’s dad went first (and of course he did a great job). Then Matt. Remember the part where I’m normally a shy person? Well just this once I decided to be the exact opposite. I announced, “I have a toast I’d like to give…” And proceeded to give Matt a big Texas style kiss. Talk about a crowd pleaser.

2. What do you like about your new internship?

Well I love the part where I can do my work anywhere. As long as I have a computer and the internet, I’m good to go. Makes it real easy as far as summer plans are concerned. I’m also enjoying brushing up on my Spanish. It feels like I haven’t gotten to practice my language skills in decades (last Spanish class I took was freshman year of college although I’ve been learning since pre-K). Doesn’t hurt that I have an extremely nice boss, who actually told me to take my engagement weekend off.

3. What is your favorite part of Brit Lit so far?

Probably the part where I don’t have to write any papers. Our overall grade is made up of daily reading quizzes, a midterm (which is this Thursday), and a final. I’m really enjoying reading Browning poems right now (even though there seems to be an awful lot of murdering going on).

Baylor actually houses the Armstrong Browning library which holds one of the largest secular stained glass collections (each scene represents one of Browning's poems).

4. Who came the farthest to attend your engagement party and tell us something about them?

Actually I think the person who came the farthest was Katlin – a surprise guest. She and Rosey (one of my bridesmaids) went to school together in Missouri before Rosey transferred to UH this past semester. As one of Rosey’s best friends, she and Rosey’s parents planned a surprise visit. However, I guess you might argue that Kaitlin technically came to see Rosey and attended the party by default.

So our second farthest guests, who came specifically to attend the party, were my cousin (another one of my bridesmaids) and my aunt from Arkansas. My aunt is also my godmother and the fruit kabob designer (see pictures of her and the kabobs in yesterday’s post). She’s very creative (as a kid I used to have the most adorable jean jacket that she decorated for me). My cousin Katie is exactly 6 months and 1 day older than me. She’s the only one of my cousins that is older than me (somewhat surprising considering I have 8 other cousins). She was also the first person to introduce me to fried pickles with ranch.

5. Who was the oldest person to attend your engagement party and tell us something about them?

I’m pretty sure it was one of Matt’s grandfathers – Grandpa Wilson or Posh. Grandpa Wilson (Matt’s Dad’s Dad) was in the Navy as a flight engineer. Posh (Matt’s Mom’s Dad) actually lives across the street from Matt’s family and is an avid golfer (Matt comes by it naturally). He also says hilarious things like, “Ashley, we need to find Ryan [our best man] a girl among all the pretty ladies at this party. Matt should have someone to go into ‘bondage’ with him.”

Posh. One of the many pictures I couldn't fit into yesterday's post.

6. If you could go on a vacation to the new Harry Potter theme park, would you?

Yes! I was into Harry Potter right before it became massively popular in the U.S. Mom got me a copy from Britain (the whole Philosopher vs. Sorcerer’s stone) back when she had to do a lot of traveling there. Her tradition was to bring me and my sister something back from the countries she went to, and she happened to notice a small display in a bookstore near her workplace. I’ve been a fan ever since.  I’m not sure if the Harry Potter theme park would make my list of top 5 or 10 places I’m dying to go to, but I’d definitely go on a vacation there if someone offered.

7. What is your favorite type/form of chocolate?

This was a hard question. But I’m going to go with Ms. Flo’s brownies. They beat all other brownies. And that’s with one metaphorical hand tied behind their backs.

8. Uh, Matt?  You still out there?

Yawwwn. Yeah, I’m here. Late nights turned into early mornings make long days. Today marked my second test in as many days. But its all good though. I’m enjoying the classes and I’m really learning quite a bit. Plus after this summer, fall semester will seem like a breeze. I miss blogging often. Maybe on Friday I can pay some more attention to you guys 🙂

9. What kind of music did you play at the engagement party?

All sorts. Matt and I were in charge of the playlist, and we’re fairly open minded. Except screamo. My sister used to listen to that. I didn’t like it then, and I don’t see myself liking it any time in the future. But there was some country, Glee (which is its own category), 80’s hits, 90’s hits, etc. I’ll go ahead and list a few to give you an idea.

  • “God Bless Texas” by Little Texas
  • “Rock You Like a Hurricane” by the Scorpions
  • “Mr. Jones” by Counting Crows
  • “Any Way You Want It” by Glee
  • “Somewhere Only We Know” by Keane
  • “The Call” by the Backstreet Boys (which my friends and I proceeded to sing word for word between fits of laughter)
  • “Wrapped Around” by Brad Paisley
  • “My Life Would Suck Without You” by Glee
  • “Slide” by the Goo Goo Dolls
  • “Final Countdown” by Europe

Blaine is "busting a move." Honestly I have no idea what he's actually doing in this picture.

10. Did anyone do anything special for the engagement party?

Well I’ve talked an awful lot about food (cake, candy station, fruit kabobs) so I’ll toss that category aside. And I could probably write an entire blog on all the decorations and the stories behind some of them. Mom made a great slideshow video. It was about 4 or 5 songs long so maybe 15 minutes (which is cool when you have a super large comfy couch). Basically it was pictures of anything and everything related to me and Matt – us growing up (including naked baby photos… I’ll leave it at that), our engagement photos, pictures from when we first met, moments with our respective families, memories with our best friends, and so on. Everyone kept commenting on my “priceless” (please read “awkward” and/or “entertaining”) faces. I suppose it’s time to retire that Top Model dream.

Have a great Texas Tuesday everyone! Make sure to send in any questions. Also look forward to tomorrow’s blog about bridesmaid shopping.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Judi Brenstein permalink
    June 15, 2010 3:37 pm

    You need to update your list, because I know you have made recipes from “The Pioneer Woman”

  2. June 17, 2010 3:26 pm

    Love the playlist you played at the party; I think we’d get along very well given the selection. (though confession, i’m a bit of a newbie when it comes to country music but I’m trying to fix that!)

Leave a Reply

