Skip to content

The After Party

June 17, 2010

Ash –

I’m pretty sure I pinky promise this is the last post related to the engagement party (thought I was kidding when I said I couldn’t fit it all into one post didn’t ‘cha?). But  lets be logical here (for the record, we will be using Ashley logic, which cannot currently be found in textbooks… but I’m working on that). I already told you about prior to the party and the party itself so I might as well round it all off with after the party. Logical, right?

Honestly I couldn’t tell you what time the party ended. On the invitations, we listed the “end” as 6:00 p.m., but really who watches the clock when you’re having fun? And when you’re having fun who wants the party to stop? Certainly not my group of friends.

Sooooooo what do you want to do?

Movie? Bowling? Movie? Bowling? Movie? Final decision – bowling. A couple of people wanted to clean up before heading out to the glamorous bowling alley (we’re such a classy crew). So I decided to buy those people some time… and what better way to buy them time than to open the wonderful gifts people bought for us?

I’m not going to list all of our gifts especially since I had to leave some at home (things like champagne, chocolate, and gift cards only serve as VERY BAD distractions from summer classes and med school applications, and I figure we can survive the next two and a half weeks without them). But here are a few that I “allowed” myself to bring to Waco:

From Rosey

Don’t you love the box it came in??? Seriously that might be my favorite part. Although the frame is gorgeous, and my coffee cup actually came with a silver twin (it would have been in the picture too but Matt has surgically attached it to his left hand).

And then there was our gift from Monet – “the original potion for love everlasting.” Eight ounces of body creme “with the romantic scent of Elixir of Love – a captivating fragrance.” Smells delicious and the description is hilarious.

Oh la la

And to help us get through the next couple of weeks:

Okay so they're all chick flicks but Matt needs to study anyway!

Again I really love the box. Are you sensing a theme? Normally I’m not such a box person (unless I go to the Container Store and then all bets are off). But it’s just so Texan looking with its adorable lone star. After all, we are “A Double Shot of TEXAS.” Look how creative my parents got in finding a way to prop up the movies in the box:

I almost don't want to tear it out. Bright colors can be so much fun.

Once we finished creating Mount Trashmore on the kitchen table, anyone under the age of twenty-five was kicked out of the house so the “adults” could clean (or so they say….. it looked like they were about to roast some marshmallows on mom’s new fire pit in the backyard. And was it my imagination or was the sangria gone when we got back?). I’m only teasing!

We piled up in three cars and headed off to the alley. Of course we had to decide on teams. There was no way we were doing boys vs. girls again (read about how “sportsman-like” the boys were during the basketball game in Monday’s post). Instead we reverted back to middle school. Matt and I were named team captains, and we took turns picking our players (is it just me or do you always feel bad that someone has to be picked last?).

Indeed I think we shall 🙂

In the one corner, we had Team Energy – Matt, Archie, Monet, and Chisom. In the other corner, we had Team Awesome – Katie, Blaine, Samantha, Angela, and me. Ding ding ding. Let the match begin!

I’ll confess my sins now. Monet was actually the one to suggest “Team Awesome,” but her team cruelly shot her down (yeah that might be over the top but since Matt isn’t here to defend himself I think that’s the version we’ll go with). Besides really? Team Energy? Like the Energizer Bunny? Lame. Anyway I jumped at the chance to steal Monet’s idea (sorry Monet – you should’ve switched to our team!). Barney Stinson anyone?

Taken from Angela at Craving Cupcakes - who borrowed it from We Heart It (sorry but for some reason it won't let me add the links for those two)

We laughed at each other’s techniques, cried at our many gutter balls, accepted marriage proposals (Katie proposed to Blaine with a fake ring and he said yes! Wonder when that wedding will happen?), and had an all around good time. In the end, neither team really had bragging rights (especially not me… I literally threw the ball down the lane on my first try). We took the first game while they took the second. Normally my competitive gene would have demanded a tie breaker, but it was a long day (it took me three posts just to tell you about all of it).

And that was the end to an epic day. For those of you who are ready for me to move past last weekend (especially when this weekend is a mere day away), thanks for putting up with all the stories. I had a great time sharing them., and please join us for tomorrow’s non-engagement Quick Takes. Matt has even promised to grace us with his presence!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Flo permalink
    June 17, 2010 10:23 am

    I thoroughly enjoyed re-living the weekend with you Ash, especially those parts I didn’t see first hand. Big hug to everyone for a memorable weekend… and the start of an even more exciting year for Mashley.

  2. June 17, 2010 1:50 pm

    This engagement party definitely deserved several posts! Team Awesome is the best name ever, such a great idea.

  3. June 17, 2010 3:21 pm

    I love the chick flicks & the box they came in! What a wonderful idea 🙂 Team bowling is always so much fun! Glad you enjoyed your party!

Leave a Reply

