Skip to content

7 Quick Takes (15)

June 18, 2010

Matt –

You know when you go for a super long run or workout for a long time or walk to your car in Houston during summer time? Do you know that feeling? How about the feeling of an ice-cold bottle of water hitting those dry lips? This past week is that humid, muggy heat. This upcoming weekend is that bottle of water. The work I have to do this weekend is like the small plastic death particle that gets in your bottle of water because you left the whole case in your backseat (which happened to reach 145 degrees). Sleeping in late is…I’ll let you figure out the rest.

1. Matt – WOW. When Ash and I started this blog, I had “safe” expectations. I didn’t want to get ahead of myself and then be dissapointed in the results later on. Terrible outlook, I know. Well I’ve gotta say that the past week has effectively defenestrated all past expectations. (All big-time bloggers, it’s time to make that blood oath not to laugh at our “great” results). The weeks leading up to this past one we had averaged around 50-70 unique hits per day. For one reason or another, this week we jumped rapidly up to an average of about 110 readers a day! 110! That’s three digits! Apparently Ashley taking over the blog gave it the boot in the pants that it needed. Promise not to go away after seeing that I’m back?

2. Ashley – Thanks for your votes last week. I have finally chosen the Kitchen Aid mixer’s name. Candy! What’s that? Candy wasn’t even one of the choices? You voted for Nelly? Don’t worry. Matt’s pouting too. He came up with that one, and he’s fairly depressed that I refuse to give my beautiful mixer a name that reminds me of singers/rappers and horses (as in “Whoa, Nellie!”). I have nothing against the name, but I don’t want “Ride Wit Me” or “I’m Like a Bird” to play in my head every time I’m trying to bake. Thanks to the couple of you who suggested Candy instead.

Speaking of baking, I’m slowly but surely corrupting my friends and family with the Pioneer Woman. My poor innocent cousin came to visit last weekend and had no idea who the Pioneer Woman even was. Look at the picture she sent me this week.

why yes that is the Pioneer Woman's chocolate sheet cake

I apologize. I just can’t seem to help myself….

3. Matt – Something that we both get a kick out of here at the DBL is the google searches that bring poor, unfortunate souls to our blog. I feel bad because there is no way half the people find in our quaint little blog what they are looking for. See for yourselves:

  • clipped golden doodle
  • goldendoodle adult
  • white goldendoodle
  • goldendoodle
  • goldendoodle straight hair
  • goldendoodle donnie
  • huge goldendoddle (not a spelling error on my part)
  • standard full grown goldendoodle
  • goldendoodle pictures
  • small standard goldendoodles full grown

Dear GoldenDoodle Enthusiast,

I want to tell you that I share your passion for the best overall dog in the world, bar none. Goldendoodles ARE awesome. They ARE big and fluffy and resemble a beefy Shetland pony. For these things, we love them. But it has been brought to my attention that you have a problem. Searches for “goldendoodle” and “goldendoodle pictures” are perfectly acceptable. This being said, searches for things like “goldendoodle donnie” and “clipped goldendoodle” and “huge goldendoddle” are considered highly crude and inappropriate. Please tone down the amount of time you search for these pictures and more time buying me one.

Sincerely,

Matt

Goldendoddle. Unclipped.

4. Ashley – Like Matt said, it’s great to see the sudden surge in readership (if this keeps up Matt will actually have to make good on his promise to renovate the website and find us some sponsors – meaning giveaways for y’all). Thank you especially to those of you who are leaving comments. I’ve really enjoyed reading some of your blogs. My blog bookmarks are getting packed!

In fact, I read a particularly great post just yesterday after receiving one of those comments. Hannah Katy at As Simple as That recently wrote a refreshing post on talking holding hands with strangers. Click on the link and check it out!

5. Matt – Something happened yesterday on campus that really just reaffirmed everything I am striving to be and do. Baylor is holding a youth basketball camp in the student recreation facility. From what it looked like, about 150 campers spend all day learning, practicing and playing the game they love. As a large group of them walked by, I couldn’t restrain myself. I asked a group of boys if they were learning a lot of good stuff in there. The looks on their faces was something similar to the crazy kid opening up the Nintendo 64 that you see in the Funniest Home Videos episodes. “Lots!” they shouted back. Excellent. I hate it when kids go to BAD camps or are playing under BAD coaches and end up hating the game for it. I actually have bad dreams about being a bad coach. (Bad not necessarily meaning not experienced or not having the basketball smarts, but rather not being a teacher of the game and instead being a dictator.) I want to be the coach or camp group leader that brings that same enthusiasm that the kids I spoke to today had.

6. Ashley – During the school year, I need one show to look forward to during the week (and the school year includes summer school). I don’t really have time for more than one show, but the one is always a must. Which is why I was so sad Glee ended last week. What am I supposed to watch for the last three weeks of summer session 1? Most of you are probably shouting True Blood, which started back up this last Sunday. Sadly I don’t get HBO.

Instead, Matt and I have agreed on So You Think You Can Dance (Wednesday nights at 7 p.m. – that’s Texas time). I watched it with my family last summer, and Cat Deeley is one of the best hosts around. Matt is just glad that Mary Murphy is gone. So far, I really like “our top 11” although I’m not sure I’m loving the whole all-star thing. As for the dances themselves, last night’s “Hallelujah” was awesome. Although the judges might have been going a little far to call it the best piece ever danced on SYTYCD.

This one was pretty good too:

7. Matt – It’s over. Kobe won his 5th ring. I will have to devote my obessive nature to the World Cup now. Whats the buzz around the biggest soccer/futbol stage in the world? The vuvuzela horns. The crazy part? The TEN THOUSAND percent profit margin.  Make a horn for 15 cents and sell it for 15 dollars. Gotta love sports fans. And in case you are wondering what the Vuvuzela horn has to say for itself, you can check out its Twitter page.

Alrighty guys, I’m gonna knock out these classes and see if I can muster up the energy to go see Buzz, Woody, Rex and Slinky Dog tonight. Have a great weekend, and Ash will be back on Monday.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2010 6:22 am

    Last December, I had a Christmas party/housewarming party. A friend of mine, who is relatively new to blogging, was over, and confessed that she didn’t know who Pioneer Woman was. I spent the next half hour showing her my favorite blogs (PW, Bakerella, etc…), it was boring for the last three guests, but they were my family, so I told them to suck it up.
    I also bonded with one of the Kindergarten Moms (when dropping off/picking up the boy I nanny) over PW. She’s bridging generational gaps everywhere! 🙂

  2. June 18, 2010 7:32 am

    How is anyone unaware of PW??

  3. June 18, 2010 8:24 am

    Congrats on the surge in readership =) It’s amazing how it can happen over night, isn’t it?

    Side note: I had no idea that you had goldendoodle. How adorable!

    And yes, Matt, I promise that I will still read when you post. I think it’s awesome you two share this blog and to have a guy who blogs? Lucky you, Ash! 🙂

  4. June 18, 2010 8:55 am

    I don’t think there is a way to track UNIQUE visitors, is there? If there is, teach me!

    I’m going to go ahead and take credit for introducing you to PW… for that, you are welcome! 🙂

  5. Judi Brenstein permalink
    June 18, 2010 10:44 am

    I agree with you Ashley. While I thought Alex’s performance was quite good, I didn’t think it rose the the “best ever” or “a new bar” category. There have been better ones. Although, the nice thing about SYTYCD is that there are SO MANY good performances over the course of a season. I love that show.

Leave a Reply

