Skip to content

Life in the Wack

June 21, 2010

Ash –

Good morning everyone. Hope y’all had a great weekend. Mine was meltingly hot and busy, but everyone deserves some sort of treat (not including ice cream – which is more of a requirement than a treat). So on Saturday evening, Matt and I decided to see a movie and go on a photo shoot (or “safari” as my family likes to call them).

Of course we wear these cute safari outfits. A must for any serious photographer.

In case you’ve never been to Waco (which I’m guessing is 99% of you), I thought y’all might enjoy checking out our pictures of “downtown” (that would be the Houston snob in me coming out – I apologize).

Ummm. Why did we decide to do this again? It has to be 90 something degrees out here!

Ummm. Why did we decide to do this again? It has to be 90 something degrees out here!

And while we’re at it, why not throw in some Waco fun facts?

Fun fact #1: Dr Pepper was invented in Waco in 1885 (which is our reasoning behind Baylor’s Dr Pepper hour once a week. Jealous?).

Mom has dubbed this one "Tattoos."

Fun fact #2: 75% of the world’s Snicker bars are made at the Waco M&M/Mars plant (anyone in Waco want to break into the Mars plant with me?).

Don't you love the empty feeling? Downtown was actually unusually crowded (which you wouldn't guess by this picture). Looked like there was a wedding going on.

Fun fact #3: Country singer/songwriter Pat Green was raised in Waco.

Matt and the "Baylor" fire hydrant. Thanks Mom for editing these pictures for me!

Fun fact #4: Baylor University is the second top employer in Waco (we even employ two amazingly awesome bears – Lady and Joy).

The Waco "skyline"

Fun fact #5: In 1978, excavations found 68,000 year old mammoth bones in Waco (the site is still there today…. not sure if it’s open to the public?).

the good ol' Hippodrome

Fun fact #6: At 22 stories, the Alico building (shown earlier) was finished in 1910 and was once the tallest building in the Southwest.

Creepy, right?

Fun fact #7: Lance Berkman (for all you Houston Astros fans) was born in Waco.

I love the texture of this building. Really makes the painting come alive.

Fun fact #8: Waco was named after the Huaco Native Americans, who were the first settlers of the downtown area (don’t even get me started…).

Yay Texas!

Fun fact #9: Comedian Steve Martin was also born in Waco (I love him in Father of the Bride! Speaking of which, happy late Father’s Day to all you fathers out there).

the local court house

Fun fact #10: Double Shot of Texas is based out of Waco approximately half of the year (yeah that’s right. I’m out…. and need to get back to my homework. But do you really want to hear about how Waco experienced one of the top 10 tornadoes in U.S. history or has some of the highest poverty rates in Texas? Lets leave that to the history books).

I've heard his name is Darwin?

There is one picture I wish I could have gotten. While we were walking back to the car, we passed this adorably old couple (they were all dressed up and probably heading to that wedding I mentioned). We were almost right in front of them when the man spotted a penny on the ground. He bent down to pick it up while holding his wife’s hand the entire time. “Find a penny. Pick it up. All day long you’ll have good luck.” The two of them just smiled. I guess there’s just some things you never grow out of.

Have a great Monday everyone!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Judi Brenstein permalink
    June 21, 2010 7:45 am

    Great shots Ashley! I knew all those photo safaris would turn you and your sister into good photographers! Love the feel of a hot Texas day in all of these.

  2. June 21, 2010 8:36 am

    Love the fun facts. Dr. Pepper plus the Mars plant? Sign me up.

    The artwork on the buildings is amazing too! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  3. June 21, 2010 8:59 am

    Looks like a great time! A photo safari is right up my alley 🙂

  4. Flo permalink
    June 21, 2010 2:23 pm

    What a great way to remember Waco, TX – I’m so glad you did this – I’ll take all the photos when you get home – they are great

Leave a Reply

