Skip to content

7 Quick Takes (16)

June 25, 2010

Ash –

First things first. Breathe in deeply and then let it all out. I don’t know about y’all but I was ready for this Friday to get here. Or maybe I’m just ready for these silly summer classes to be over. Either way welcome to this week’s Quick Takes…

1. When I was home a couple weeks ago, my mom gave me a late birthday gift. A new coffee cup. Except it looks like a beaker! And has the organic chemistry symbol for caffeine! The nerd in me is very happy. The caffeine fiend in me is even more happy.

Matt – Kinda overwhelmed this week with classwork so I’ll be chipping in here and there. I desperately want to steal this cup for myself, but not only will I be pinched within an inch of my life. I will also most likely break it into 6.4 million pieces.

2. We’ve started our second to last book in Brit Lit – The Go-Between by L.P. Hartley. How have I never heard of this book before? Seriously the writing is fantastic. I know most of us would rather read some chick lit on the beach, but consider picking this book up if you want to try something different. Here are a few of my favorite quotes so far.

First line of the book: “The past is a foreign country: they do things differently there.”

The narrator is looking at a childhood journal: “Something came and went between us: the intimate pleasure of recognition, the almost mystical thrill of early ownership – feelings of which, at sixty-odd, I felt ashamed. It was a roll-call in reverse, the children of the past announced their names, and I said, ‘Here.'”

The main character (a little boy) realizes his mistake: “Then, with still greater force, it struck me that I ought to have known. It had been obvious from the start, too obvious. But I was like that. Two and two never made four for me, if I could make them five.”

Matt – She is a severely self-underrated photographer. Definitely runs in the family.

3. That there is a veggie burger. A first for me. We picked up some frozen ones from Whole Foods a couple weeks ago. My assessment: pretty good. Maybe a tiny bit bland but adding some cheese and broccoli on the side made up for that. Plus I got a filling, nutritious, and inexpensive lunch for under 300 calories.

Matt – “Maybe a tiny bit bland…” Maybe. Just maybe.

4. The NBA Draft. Another first for me. I cried (not literally) and pouted (very much literally) when Ekpe Udoh said he was leaving Baylor to enter the NBA. But I’ve managed to move on somehow…. and watched him get chosen AS THE SIXTH OVERALL PICK last night. A new record for Baylor. Congratulations Golden State Warriors. You’ve gained a great player.

Matt – It has to be one of the cutest most lovable phases I’ve seen her go through. Ever since we lost to Duke in the Elite 8, she has pouted and threatened not go to go games next year (even with the promise of Perry Jones, a stud of a recruit, coming in). Cut her some slack, this is the first sting from a team she was emtionally invested in. I am so going to marry this woman.

5. In a world filled with amazing technology, I love getting snail mail every now and then. There’s something special about seeing that other person’s handwriting. Knowing they took the time to pick out a card, look up your address, make sure it has enough postage, etc. I mentioned Mary Kate, one of my bridesmaids, is off galavanting (such a fun word) around Italy for her study abroad. Here is the beautiful postcard that she sent us.

Matt – My grandpa always has a joke for this, “You know, I used to study a-broad. She wasn’t that pretty though.” At this moment, every female member of my family stares him down and silently plans on where to hide the body.

6. This week’s failed pumpkin pie smoothie experiment. On the new and improved blogroll you’ll see Julie at Peanut Butter Fingers. One day she posted this delicious looking smoothie. I had to try it. The ingredients were simple: canned pumpkin, whey cupcake batter (or vanilla) protein powder, spices, ice cubes, and water.

Julie works out a lot so the powder made sense. I figured if I wasn’t having this after a workout I could skip it (it seemed silly to pay over $10 when I really only wanted it for one or two drinks). I actually have some powder but it’s strawberry flavored (am I the only one who thinks pumpkins and strawberries don’t go together?). Not sure where my head was that day. The powder clearly would make the smoothie thicker AND sweeter. Mine was awful (*hangs head in shame*).

Matt – It wasn’t THAT bad. We just need to make some adjustments. Also, Peanut Butter Fingers should be renamed Peanut Butter FANGAZ. It’s much more hip and urban and such.

7. Our last Quick Take of the day doesn’t have a picture yet because I thought I’d let you in our weekend plans. Obviously lots of studying in preparation for our last week of summer school. We’ll even be hitting the books after classes today, but that’s only so we can take half of tomorrow off.

We were planning to visit relatives in Austin. Not to mention, one of my best friends who’s there for an internship. However, turns out she’ll be in San Antonio. As well, Matt’s aunt has a surgery this upcoming week. Since her white blood count is low, her doctor has ordered her not to have any outside visitors at home this weekend.

A little disappointed I won’t get to see some of my favorite people, but Matt and I aren’t giving up on Austin. Instead, we’ll drop off his aunt’s gift, catch a delicious meal (something we can’t get in Waco like sushi or Pita Pit), and pick up some yummy fruits and veggies from Whole Foods. Still a nice break from Waco and studying.

Matt – A shoutout to my Aunt ‘Toria (When my brother was little, “Victoria” was a little hard to say). She is truly a soldier and an inspiration. Breast cancer never stood a chance.

Have a great weekend everyone. Make sure and get some sleep! I know I will.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2010 6:18 am

    I love that coffee cup, Ash! I read a food blog (Momofuku for 2), and the person who writes it has measuring cups shaped like beakers! I get a serious case of envy whenever I see them.

  2. June 25, 2010 7:53 am

    I had too much to say about this to not leave a comment. I’m sorry if it turns out longer than my blog post, itself.

    1. I love that cup! My friend Lucy has a teacher’s catalog and it has that and a periodic table of elements shower curtain (like in Big Bang Theory) and I want them both. So I guess you could say I’m slightly jealous. A little.

    2. I might have to give that a try.

    3. Boca Burgers are nasty.

    4. NBA = meh. NCAA basketball = <3. I'm kind of sad we don't root for the same team. Sorry I want to beat y'all all the time.

    5. MK is soooo lucky. And gallivanting is a very fun word. Matt, your grandpa is hilarious.

    6. Protein powder = nastiest stuff on the face of the planet.

    7. WHAT?! You don't have sushi or Pita Pit?! That makes my heart sad. I cry for you. Especially since we have two Pita Pits. I would share with you. Y'all should come visit College Station for the weekend! I think Monet is going to be here and y'all could see Reckless Kelly tonight! Think about it.

  3. peanutbutterfingers permalink
    June 25, 2010 8:29 am

    omg yeah you definitely need the protein powder!!! i bet it was TERRIBLE w/out it! not sweet at all, i’d imagine! you poor thing! 🙂

  4. June 25, 2010 9:43 am

    Will be thinking of your Aunt ‘Toria; hope the surgery goes well next week!

    And Matt: my grandfather said that same kind of thing about studying a-broad. It was kind of funny coming from him.

  5. June 25, 2010 11:35 pm

    #1 –> LOVE the coffee mug. We actually have a set of real beakers that we use for all kinds of beverages. 🙂

  6. June 26, 2010 6:54 am

    Your coffee mug is amazing! I’ve seen all kinds of necklaces like that, but I’ve never seen a mug like that. That warms my geeky little heart 🙂

    And The Go Between sounds so interesting, that first line grabbed me. I think I’ll have to look into it 🙂

  7. June 28, 2010 3:46 pm

    I love love love Pumpkin smoothies. And the protein powder is a God send, with or without the workout. The extra 30 grams helps your body so much.

    Best,

    Hannah Katy

Leave a Reply

