Skip to content

Texas Tuesday (17)

June 29, 2010

Matt –

We are SOOOO close. Last night was the second to last hurdle of summer school ’10. One test tomorrow, presentation on Thursday, and two finals on Saturday. No prob. Gotta give the ol’ noggin a rest and…. answer more questions? Take a look! Today’s questions come from my future cousin-in-law Katie. If you like what you see, be sure to email us some more. Or you can speak to a manager if you have any complaints. I just work here.

1. What’s your favorite outfit that your fiancée wears?

Ash – I love knowing when Matt has dressed up for me. Period. Which normally involves fixing his hair and putting on the cologne that makes me swoon. If I had to pick though….. his jeans that sag just the right amount (not enough to deserve a depantsing but enough that they look comfortable), his moccasins (that are so worn out that they’ll probably fall apart any day now), and a t-shirt (my favorites are probably the vintage Ole Miss basketball shirt we found in Austin a couple years ago or the Wheezer shirt where the band’s logos look like a bunch of funny owls which I bought him for his 20th birthday).

Matt – It is SUPREMELY tough to answer this question when you have a fiancee that can really make sweatpants look good. She does have a few things she wears that really make my eyes go wide. A grey sundress she picked up last summer. Hubba hubba.

Hubba hubba indeed.

This next one is going to catch me a lot of grief, but I’m just being honest. Ashley, at first, was skeptical about Bear Pit and making a real commitment. I did finally get her signed up and….into a jersey. Everytime I see her in it I can’t help but smirk. She’s a keeper.

Geez oh Pete. She's pretty.

2. If you had an unlimited supply of money, what’s the ONE thing you would buy your fiancée?

Ash – I admit up front that this is kind of all out cheating but a Goldendoodle PLUS an appropriate sized house. I’ve told Matt that my biggest objection to getting a Goldendoodle is how big they are. They need lots of space (the dog is the size of a Shetland pony, people!). But I know how badly Matt wants one. I’ve begun seeing ads for Labradoodles on the side of my facebook, and I suspect Matt might be behind it (the fact they’re labra- instead of golden is just meant to throw me off). So in order to give him the Goldendoodle, I’d also have to buy him the house to go with it.

I know it's blurry but hopefully you can see that's a labradoodle.

Matt – I had to wrestle with the ethical issues of buying Ashley a Goldendoodle and an appropriate sized house to fit it. Is it wrong for me to buy her something that I might happen to enjoy on the side? It surely might be misconstrued that way. I decided to swing clear of that. Instead I would buy my girl a beach house in Italy (on a beach) and a jet to get her there whenever she wanted.

3. If you HAD to get married outside of Texas, where would it be?

Ash – We actually considered a destination wedding what feels like forever ago. Our top choices were England and Italy. Those are my two favorite countries outside the U.S. and both places Matt would love to travel to (especially Italy). Plus what girl wouldn’t enjoy getting married in a castle?

Matt – What she said. No seriously, Italy sounds bomb. I’m not going to lie, England sounds sketch. Lots of rain, bad teeth, and lots of….wait…is there a golf course there?

4. Matt, what Pioneer Woman recipe should Ash try next?

Matt – Man these questions are brutal. Have you seen that book? The thing that first jumps to mind is the mashed potatoes. Ash made them on Valentine’s Day a couple of months ago. Stellar.

5. What do you think your fiancée likes most about you?

Ash – A specific thing? My laugh. I don’t think there’s anything special about my laugh, but it always seems to put a smile on his face. According to him, he lives for that laugh. Anyone still wondering why I love him?

Matt – She’s obviously in it for the money. I realize that the lifestyle associated with the employees of public school systems is tempting and can lead good people to do questionable things.

6. Beach or sightseeing and why?

Ash – But I love them both! For example, I didn’t visit any beaches in Italy, but that was one of my favorite family vacations. I’d go back in a heartbeat. On the other hand, I LOVED our trip to Bermuda. Beautiful water with pretty pink sand? Yes please. Really I love it all. I’m certainly not going to complain either way. Okay I’m ready for a vacation now!

Me kissing a baby dolphin in Bermuda. Awwww.

Matt – I’ve done the “beach” thing quite a bit. Quotes there are necessary. Galveston is a “beach.” I would love to do a REAL beach sometime quite soon. I must say though I’m a history and art nut. I would love to go see the sights in Europe and Asia.

7. Tell us your favorite meal and give us the recipe if you dare?

Ash – Some of my favs are my mom’s lasagna, Ms. Flo’s potato salad, grilled salmon, freshly cooked veggies (especially mushrooms and zucchini), and way too many other things to list. But one of my favorite Thanksgiving meals is a family trademark – Crockpot Potatoes. I come from a potato loving family on my mom’s side. I won’t even pretend that this recipe is “good for you” (there’s a reason we only eat it once or twice a year), but boy is it delicious. Plus ridiculously easy to make.

Ingredients: a bag of southern style hash browns (cubed potatoes), 1/2 c. butter, 1 tsp. salt (but not too much!), 1 chopped onion, 1 pt. sour cream, 2 c. (8 oz.) shredded cheddar cheese, 1 can cream of chicken soup, and plenty of pepper

Directions: Throw it all in the crockpot for 6 hours on low (or 4 hours on high). You want to cook it through without turning it into mush. And that’s it!

Matt – I’ve been eating these my entire life and I highly doubt we will see me stop anytime soon.

Ingredients: two pieces of bread, peanut butter (creamy), jelly or preserves (cherry or strawberry)

Directions: peanut butter on BOTTOM ( I can’t tell you how many people get this wrong), jelly on TOP

Notes: toast bread at 40% or so for better results

8. You’re not going to name your first child Candy, are you???

Ash – Ignore Matt’s answer (he hasn’t even written it yet but I can promise it’ll make you shake your head). I promise no child of mine will have the name Candy. We actually did mention some of our favorite names for future children in another Texas Tuesday. But only time will tell. Children certainly aren’t going to happen any time soon. Although no matter how much time passes, I’ll put my foot down on the Candy idea (*gives Matt a pointed look*).

Matt – You bet your bippy we are. As an intended handicap to the social life of future little Wilson, we will be conducting a social experiment (the effects of a name associated with the seedy underbelly of society) while simultaneously forcing our child (especially if it is a son) to overcome social hurdles to be sucessful.

9. Chocolate or vanilla?

Ash – Is this even a real question? Don’t get me wrong. I like vanilla. Some things REQUIRE vanilla. But in the eternal battle between chocolate and vanilla, chocolate will always come out victorious. Chocolate brownies. Chocolate ice cream. Frozen chocolate covered fruit. Notice on the Pioneer Woman’s website, she has a separate section for chocolate and NOT for vanilla.

A hilarious Google Ad (link attached).

Matt – Totally depends. Most times definitely chocolate, but here are some examples of must-have vanilla:

  • Chips
  • Yogurt. If it’s not vanilla, then its chocolate pudding.
  • Ice cream

In about 20 minutes that’s all I could think of.

10. What is it about your fiancée that will make him/her a good teacher/coach/doctor?

Ash – You mean besides how much he cares? About kids? About the game? His interest in business? How well he relates to students while still maintaining their respect? I’ve gotten to see Matt coach a kids YMCA basketball team for two summers. He has been helping create lesson plans and teach classes for nearly two years now. He is passionate about both. Matt is going to make a fantastic teacher and coach. I don’t have a single doubt in my mind.

Matt – The cool thing about Ash is that she takes everything she does and adds an extra level of effort into it. Her schoolwork, working out, even giftgiving. She throws herself into it to get the best results. Knowing this, plus knowing her desire to help heal people is what makes me confident without a doubt that she will be able to do some pretty great things for people who need it.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2010 9:15 am

    You two are so freakin’ adorable. Love this entire post =) Ash: the grey dress is great! Where did you get it? I’m always looking for cute summer dresses. Also envious that you got to kiss a dolphin!!!

    Matt: the how to make a PBJ directions crack me up. It’s true, they are better toasted. I always toast my bread.

    • June 29, 2010 9:40 am

      Always toast on setting 4. Always.

    • June 29, 2010 1:38 pm

      Thanks. I got the dress at American Eagle last summer. It’s one of my favorites. Super comfortable but makes you feel dressed up all at the same time.

  2. Judi Brenstein permalink
    June 29, 2010 9:39 am

    Best thing I’ve read today!

  3. Flo permalink
    June 29, 2010 3:31 pm

    Bravo to the Question-submitter – Loved them all! I have to say, as much as I love crock-pot potatoes a la Judi, that PB&J sounded great to me – as long as the PB has lots of nuts! What’s wrong with the name Candi? (just starting a little war, is all)

Leave a Reply

