Skip to content

Yes I Would Like Some Cheese With My W(h)ine

June 30, 2010

Ash –

This post isn’t very long.

Because I’m sleepy after staying up late to work on Spanish translations for my internship. Because Tropical Storm Alex (soon to be Señor Hurricane Alejandro) is sending lots of rain our way making me wish my puppies were here (they like to cuddle when they’re scared). Because I have homework and two exams to prepare for (in fact one of my teachers suddenly announces that we’ll have a paper due in two days and our exam will be Friday instead of Saturday). Because I feel like throwing my scale against the wall (I know it’s “just a number” but it’s frustrating to steadily gain weight almost every day for a week when you’re making an effort to eat right and get exercise). Because I decided what little brain power I had left would be better spent on the Pioneer Woman’s Word Nerd quiz.

Because because because. From the bottom of my heart, I’m sorry. I’m a teensy bit whiny tonight. And nobody wants to listen to a complainer. So I’m going to share the funniest moment of my day and then ship myself off to bed. I promise the sweeter, less whiny, and somewhat entertaining Ashley will be back on Thursday (and Matt will officially be back in less than a week). Have a great Wednesday everyone!

The sign said "seedless watermelon." It didn't say anything about it being yellow...

Remember that trip to Whole Foods in Austin over the weekend? We picked up some delicious looking watermelon… did anyone else know it came in a yellow variety? Surprise! It most definitely does. Good news is it tastes just like the typical colored watermelon. So no disappointments there. Matt’s reaction was priceless though.

"HUH???" *hangs head in shame*

Reminds me of the time my parents were given one of those “free gifts” with purchase. They swear the sign said “crystal ball” and were very excited about giving it to me (this was during the Harry Potter craze). Christmas morning I got to my last gift and opened a crystal bowl…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Judi permalink
    June 30, 2010 7:15 am

    Oh sure! Don’t mention the 600 other presents that you got – 453 of which were Harry Potter related! Is it my fault they mislabeled the sign and then handed the “crystal balls” to you already wrapped up! Seriously, it is hard to believe that Jared’s didn’t have a mass revolt on Christmas morning!

  2. June 30, 2010 7:59 am

    If I cut into a watermelon and it was yellow, I think I would check to see if I was hallucinating. And then I would dig in, ’cause nothing is yummier than watermelon. I also share your feelings regarding scales, I swear mine is out to make me crazy, so now I refuse to step on it. As long as my clothes keep feeling looser, I am on the right track! Keep smiling!

  3. June 30, 2010 8:00 am

    Okay so I thought that watermelon was cheese until I scrolled down enough to see the rhine. That’s just weird. I probably wouldn’t have even tried it. Yellow watermelon.

  4. Flo permalink
    June 30, 2010 8:12 am

    Matt does a good Charlie Brown impersonation. Ash, need I remind you stress and lack of sleep affect your weight? Give yourself a week at home in Houston, all will be well. B safe, all

  5. June 30, 2010 12:53 pm

    I hear you on the whiney days; it’s ok! Happens to ALL OF US. Sending hugs from afar and hope that the school work turns out ok and that Hurricane Alex behaves himself a little bit and doesn’t bother you guys too much.

    Good luck!

    (and yes, yellow watermelon! I’ve seen it before!)

Leave a Reply

