Skip to content

Day 182

July 1, 2010

Ash –

AHEM. Please notice the very cool sticky note.

Does anybody want to explain how it’s already July 1st? Also known as the 182nd day of the year. Meaning only 183 days left in 2010 (what some of us like to refer to as the “halfway point”). Time is mind-boggling fast and slow all at the same time (just think on that for awhile).

A little fun trivia: July 1st is the day zip codes were introduced to the U.S. mail system (1963), Sony pulled out the Walkman (1979), O Canada officially became the national anthem…. of Canada (1980), PG-13 was established by the MPAA (1984), and we said a final goodbye to Marlon Brando (2004). Check out more fun July 1st facts here.

I wanted to thank everyone who commented on the blog or messaged me otherwise yesterday. Much needed encouragement and love. We all have our down days and that was definitely one of mine. I vote we blame it on Hurricane Alex (who is now a Category 2). On a happier note, I have lots of things to look forward to this month. To name a few:

  • Summer session 1 officially ends this Saturday, and I’m heading home as soon as I finish that last exam. Woop! I can’t wait to have my three pups barking and telling me how much they missed me.

my sweet little Hershey boy

  • Um how about the 4th of July? Potato salad? Steak? Pool time with my and Matt’s families? Fireworks? Or maybe not the last one depending on how bloody thirsty the mosquitoes are…. they love themselves some Ashley. Also y’all should check out the America photography contest the Pioneer Woman is hosting. There are some absolutely fantastic shots. And I think you can still enter if you want to share.
  • It’ll be busy, but I’m excited that we have appointments with five different wedding florists next week. One of the many things still on our wedding to-do list. And something we decided we might as well figure out while we have all this time in Houston. Matt wants to do cakes also, but I think that’s just because he wants to eat cake.
  • Our plan to go to Froberg Farms (Alvin,Texas) sometime this month to pick peas and buy other fruits and veggies. Several people have recommended this place so I’m kind of excited to check it out.
  • Trying Physique 57. Another workout video (mostly aimed at toning). I’ve been wanting to try something other than the Jillian Michaels videos (for the days I don’t feel like going to the gym). Which are great but make me want to strangle her. Plus I could use a change of pace. When I mentioned it, my mom spent 15 minutes teasing me for needing to “try every DVD” but then offered to buy it for the family. They’ll all thank me later. 🙂
  • Maybe even a trip to Vegas at the end of the month? Monet – one of my bridesmaids and one of Matt’s best friends from high school – is turning 21 and invited a group of people to help her celebrate. Now lets just see how much my wallet celebrates.

Of course there are other things on my plate. Work to get done. Annual appointments to schedule. And so forth. But the point is that I’m a lucky girl. So welcome July! I hope you have a pleasant stay.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2010 8:02 am

    Thank you SO much for that little sticky note. I totally would have forgotten to pay my utility bill today! Which would have sucked incredibly.

  2. July 1, 2010 8:36 am

    I know, I can’t believe we are 50% through this year! It’s insane.

    Enjoy the weekend and time with the pups; so glad that Alex was downgraded to a Trop Storm (at least that’s what my news said this morning). it’s my firm belief that a trip to Vegas can cure anyone’s blues 🙂

  3. July 1, 2010 10:57 am

    Nope I have no explanation either… Too too fast. I was just thinking that about a week ago

    Tracy

  4. Haily permalink
    July 1, 2010 9:41 pm

    Froberg is the best…. be prepared to eat like o75975487574 million berries.

  5. July 2, 2010 7:47 am

    I kind of love that this year is flying, but then I’m sad about it too. Good because one step closer to moving home and wedding stuff, but bad because that means our time in London is coming to an end.. Ack!

  6. July 4, 2010 8:15 pm

    Your little dog reminds me of my Lilly 🙂 Their coloring is a little different but they have similar faces….so naturally I think he is a cutie pie 🙂

Leave a comment