Skip to content

7 Quick Takes (17)

July 2, 2010

Matt –

Ashley is pretty much exhausted. She’s been thinking of new blog topics for the past month and she’s done an absolutely KILLER job. Here is what you do:

  1. Stand up in your seat at home, work, or whereever you are.
  2. Jump up and down, swinging your fist in the air, and yell in a rhythmic and audibly pleasing manner, “WHO CAN WRITE A BLOG POST?”
  3. Find somebody else to answer, or answer yourself in the same manner, “ASH CAN WRITE A BLOG POST.”
  4. Repeat until there is confusion on what to do afterwards.

1. During this last week of school, I’ve experienced the weirdest phenomenon. Past 8:00pm, I eat snacks much like a wood chipper. Seriously, I can’t get full. Cereal, peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, apples, just plain bread, hamburgers, carpet and some small novels. It is seriously getting out of control. But this story is about the person who decided it would be funny to find a picture of a “fat baylor girl” and thought our site would be a good place to find one. Here is the picture you were looking for:

...now you have made her mad. Have some freaking manners.

2. On the topic of food, I have been trying desperately to get Ash to make something from her little cookbook. I figure, hey, I’ve eaten like a pig for the past two weeks and only gained half a pound, that deserves a reward. And for my reward, I choose Pioneer Woman’s strawberry shortcake. Ashley said that she would make it if I buy her the pan. I thought a bread loaf pan would work. The laughing is really starting to grate on my self-confidence.

3. Summer schoolin’, happened so faaassst. No mas escuela para mi. Today is the last day of class with my finals tomorrow. Then? Driving back to Houston where I belong. To do what? Wedding planning, having time to actually workout, actually doing my job for Dell, and sleep. Oh the sleep. Remember when Romeo and Juliet were trying to get together? It will be like they actually got together, minus the suicide and crying stuff.

4. Independence Day – the 4th day of July in which the entire nation simultaneously watches the movie of the same name starring Will Smith, Jeff Goldblum, the other Quaid brother, and Vivica A. Fox as a stripper. HOW IS THIS NOT CONSIDERED THE BEST MOVIE OF ALL TIME!??!! Ash does not consider it to be the best, a mere “seven out of ten.” Pshh. Whatevs. Remote please. In all seriousness, I AM IN ALL SERIOUSNESS. WATCH THAT MOVIE IF YOU HAVEN’T. IT’S INCREDIBLE.

5. When I brought up movies, Ashley brought up Jacob. Which Jacob? The bad actor Jacob (one million boyfriends just went “oohHHHHHH, him”) In order to be nice and supportive, I usually take Ash to see the new Twilight movie on the midnight it comes out. This past Tuesday I had major studying to do for Accounting, so unfortunately we had to pass. We still haven’t seen it, but I’ve heard the stupid werewolf kid is introduced into the movie with a shirt on (acceptable) then remains shirtless for the rest of the movie (nauseating). Seriously, if you want more ticket sales, make it a little more appealing to single guys. Or just guys in general. OR people who like good movies. The Count from Sesame Street has way more street cred.

6. So I got a call yesterday from the doctor’s office. They left a message telling me some good news. My Pap smear came back normal and my HPV test came back negative. This IS good news, except for the fact that I abandonded my female reproductive organs quite awhile ago. Aren’t doctors’ offices supposed to have some sort of pact of secrecy? What if that lady didn’t want people to know that she was perfectly healthy?  This country is broken, and it starts with people who leave bad voicemail messages. (FYI, it probably ends with somebody like Carrot Top or Mike Tyson.)

7. I consider myself a Star Wars fan, but not a junkie. Last night during So You Think You Can Dance Well Enough to Win a Popularity Contest, they did a group number to the classical music that was played during the fight scene where Darth Pointy Head and the two hippies fight. It made me want to watch all of the movies again. Because of time limitations, I watched this instead:

Also, here is probably the best performance of the night (Alex Wong and Twitch’s hip-hop routine) from SYTYCDWETWAPC:

Have a great Friday and weekend everyone! And don’t forget to send in any Texas Tuesday questions if you have them.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2010 8:01 am

    Can you tell me who did your layout? I’ve been looking for one kind of like yours. Thank you.

  2. July 2, 2010 8:02 am

    Matt, my single guy friend went and saw Eclipse with us. No he is not gay. Yes he thought the movie was. But they still made money off of him.
    To the both of y’all but mostly Ashley, they’re making Breaking Dawn into TWO MOVIES. And the first part doesn’t come out until Nov 18, 2011. Of course that might change when there’s a riot. But I just know what I’ve read.

    Good luck on finals!

  3. July 2, 2010 8:22 am

    I always wonder what kind of person is searching for the things that lead to my blog. Fat Baylor girl? Really? Jerk faces.

  4. July 5, 2010 2:46 pm

    Ha, funnily enough (I am not American) I was struck by the urge to watch I.Day yesterday and I LOVED IT. It’s been years since I’d seen it (like, years) and I was pleasantly surprised. So many characters. I loved it.

    And also.. mmm. Brownies.

Leave a Reply

