Skip to content

Scatterbrain (6) – The One With 4 Brownies

July 5, 2010

Matt – Well good morning sleepyheads! We’ve got a lot of good stuff from the weekend to talk about. I think it will be best to work backwards through it. No way it all logically fits into one post without it being a…

 

1) As you know this past weekend was July 4th, the birth of our country. So my family all packed in the car and moseyed over to Ash’s family’s place. Everyone mingled and talked and enjoyed themselves. We ate steaks, grilled zucchini and asparagus, a refreshing crunchy coleslaw type salad, Flo’s incredible potato salad, and 4 (COUNT ‘EM FOUR KINDS) of brownies. Ashley’s Aunt Pat and Flo both unknowingly made the same dessert. I love snafu’s that end up working in my favor. I walked in the kitchen as I first came in the house. My ears perked up. I heard tidbits of them talking…

…brownies….cakey….no nuts!

…fudgy….can’t make up his mind…nuts!

I jumped right in. How could I not? “Is there anyway I can help?” Apparently I needed to settle the dispute on which brownie is better. I’ve made my decision. Cakey with no nuts. But fudgy with nuts comes in a close second.

We all told stories and laughed. We took pictures of two families about to come together. We lazed about watching corny reality shows. We were a big family. Definitely what July 4th should be like.

…plus it was great to actually be outside without drowning or baking alive. The weather actually cooperated. Ashley still couldn’t really stay outside long because…

2) …the girl got sick. Again. Waco and her really had it out on Saturday. As we were getting everything packed into the truck, she had to be sneezing every 15-30 seconds. Religiously. Poor girl slept the whole way just to get some rest…plus Nyquil will do that to you. Anybody know a sure fire way to get rid of allergies? She really got hit hard. I think there is the long treatment of shots coming up, one every week as I understand. No way in the world I could do that. All it took was one month. ONE MONTH in Waco did this to her. Welcome to Baylor.

3) Summer school is dead and gone. Finished up my tests on Saturday, then turned in my last essay on Saturday night. It feels good knowing I put in an effort I can be proud of. This month coming up should be a busy one though. Wedding appointments, possible trip(s) to Vegas. Who knows what will happen? Until tomorrow, enjoy this little tidbit. It’s random I know, but it made me laugh until I cried….consequently so did the guy in the video.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Judi permalink
    July 5, 2010 10:44 am

    The video was hysterical. I’ll have whatever he’s having!

  2. July 5, 2010 10:54 pm

    I had just watched the video before reading this blog post, the guy was hilarious.
    I’ve never been a big fan of cakey brownies. I figure you might as well just bake a cake at that point!

  3. July 6, 2010 9:40 am

    Now I’m craving fudgy brownies. 🙂 I say no nuts only because I’m allergic to them but I used to love brownies with nuts in them! Cakey brownies are my least favorite though, no matter what.

    Ash- sorry to hear about the allergies! I have awful ones as well so I take Allegra D twice a day, ocean nasal spray as often as possible, and flonase twice a day, two shots in each nostril each time. It’s a lot but it helps; doesn’t make it all better but it helps!

  4. July 6, 2010 12:10 pm

    Looks like someone likes a little extra ingredient in their brownies! Nice rainbow though, although I doubt it would make many a person cry…….

    I hope you feel better soon Ashley! Allergies are never much fun to deal with.

Leave a Reply

