Skip to content

Texas Tuesday (18)

July 6, 2010

Matt –

Ashley is still kinda recouping from sneezing out half of her existence over the weekend, so I cut her a deal. She comes up with questions (nobody sent us new ones), and I will answer them. So I will sit here, crunch on my cereal, sip my H.E.B. blend and get to work!

Plans are to modify this into a Texas theme.

1. What is the worst movie you’ve ever seen?

This is really hard. When Ash first decided to socialize with me (poor girl) we borrowed a movie from one of my dormmates, Room 1408. John Cusack, who quickly becomes my least favorite male actor (not joking one smidgen), plays a horror writer who ventures out to stay in a famous haunted hotel room. “Nobody lasts an hour” is the tagline of the movie, and it was dead on. I lasted about 45 minutes before I just started making fun of it relentlessly. Worst “date” movie I’ve seen.

Overall worst? Mamma Mia BY FAR. I just can’t even say anything about it. I get sick to my stomach. I ACTUALLY START GETTING ANGRY ABOUT THIS MOVIE. IT WAS TERRIBLE. THE ONLY MOVIE I ACTUALLY REGRET WATCHING. I WANT THAT TIME WASTED BACK.

BARRRRRF

2. Reading any books this summer?

I’m caving. Ashley has been putting on the pressure for me to read Twilight (which came in a close third for worst movie, by the way). So I suppose, this month I will crack the cover and read it. I swear though, if I see the phrase “chest sparkled” or something similar? I’m throwing the book out the window…into the yard next door with the rambunctious full-grown Boxer and chewy Dauschund.

3. July is for __________?

July is for sleeping in, potato salad, drinking Arnold Palmers, seeing movies in theatres you know are going to be bad but seeing them anyway, discovering daytime shows you never knew where there because of school, wearing shorts, remembering the sunburn from June and actually putting sunscreen on, pool basketball, golfing, fireworks, finding old trinkets in your room that you haven’t seen in years, trying new places and meeting new people.

4. What is one thing you’ve taught Ashley?

The one thing I think Ash has picked up from me is the ability to relax when its appropriate. Even after doing everything she can to do her best, she usually won’t relax and continue to worry about it. I’m in no way saying that hard work is bad, that’s one thing she’s taught me. But to stress over things you can’t change is unhealthy. Hopefully we’ve made some progress 🙂

5. What do you think about the “organic” craze sweeping America?

I think mainly right now, unfortunately, most of it is to be popular. There are however quite a few people who are realizing the real benefits of natural, all organic foods (myself included). It tastes better, its better for you. It is definitely a move in the right direction. Hopefully it becomes the norm soon!

6. Name your favorite non-animated kids movie.

I sat here for 30 minutes trying to think of one. The only one I could come up with is the original Air Bud. All of the movies that came after were complete trash. Air Bud was the best. He scored, he never hogged the ball, he was a good locker room guy, coachable, and looked good in a jersey. His owner was lame though.

7. What is one thing you’ve vowed never to try again?

I will never try to do Yoga again. It’s terrible. It hurts and it is harder then I thought and I hate it. You can’t make me!

8. What is your favorite dvd from the p90x series?

Not Yoga X. My favorite is probably the Core Synergistics one. It isn’t terribly difficult, but you are still super sore the day after. Great overall workout for abs, legs, and everything in between. Plyometrics is really fun too, but my knees get really sore after about 30 minutes of it. Can’t do that too often.

9. Name one word you can never pronounce correctly.

Conscientious. It usually ends up being con-stee-en-shus or con-she-shen-shus. Very annoying and it makes me self-conscious.

10. What is your favorite 4th of July tradition?

Unfortunately, we don’t have a steady July 4th tradition other than getting together with family to eat and hang out. That in itself is what I look forward to. We should really start doing our own fireworks…

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 8, 2010 2:24 am

    Room 1408 was tragic. Terrible and tragic.

    But Mamma Mia?! Oh Matt! It’s AWESOME. (Tragically awesome.) I love Amanda Siegfried (is that how you spell her name?) and omg, Pierce Brosnan trying to sing was like, so bad it was cute. And I love Abba. LOVE! Maybe it’s a big chick flick.

    I can’t say conscience. I get it and ‘conscious’ confused – all the time. In fact, looking back, I don’t think I’ve even spelled ‘conscience’ right? Yikes. It’s early – my brain hurts.

    I hope Ash is feeling better!

Leave a Reply

