Skip to content

Mr. Cold Pants

July 8, 2010

Matt –

I’m not the first guy to suggest my social group meet at a bar. It really isn’t normally my scene. Most nights I’m perfectly content sitting at home with a movie or board games or something. Also, looking like I’m fresh out of middle school doesn’t really fuel my ambition to go hang out with people who regular the night life.

“Dude, you look 12. How’d you get in here?”

This was going to be a long night. Here I was with friends, enjoying a new place, a new vibe, and up until that point a really nice night.

“Nah, I’m just playing,” said the piano player. I shrugged my shoulders and held up my arms in a “what can ya’ do?” way. I usually like to be a good sport.

But there we were, at a piano bar in downtown Houston by the name of Howl at the Moon. Two huge, beat up experienced pianos, a drum set, multiple guitars and some other eccentric looking instruments hanging on the walls. It really isn’t the place that asks for your coat at the door, but it doesn’t try to be.

We walked in, picked a table, got our first round and sat and watched for a few minutes. The two guys sitting at the pianos really had a cool, charismatic vibe going on. They spun off songs like “Benny and the Jets,” “Livin’ on a Prayer,” and “Africa” (it’s by Toto…shame on you if you didn’t know). I was having a blast. Until they poured ice down my pants.

Literally. Mary Kate, the mastermind behind the whole trip and the ploy to get Ash and I up on stage, was snickering the whole time we were up there. I had no idea what was about to happen. Man, I hope they pick a good song for me to sing. No. I WISH it was karaoke. It was instead, the Wheel of Death. A new piano player had taken over a few minutes before hand, and he was very excited about the WoD. He spun. Amongst options like “Sexy Dance,” “Fear Factor,” “Dance with Richard” (who’s Richard? <snicker>) and others, we landed on “Fear Factor.” Thank God. I can probably handle this. NO. APPARENTLY THEY LIKE TO CHANGE THE RULES. Just because they had done this option earlier, they decided to arbitrarily move the WoD to the right one. Ash and I were about to take an “Ice Bath.”  An empty washbucket was placed at our feet. One friend of each was brought up to the stage. There was some voting, some screaming, some laughing, and then…some cringing, some grimacing, and some very very cold body parts.

That's pain. Even before the ice was poured.

This isn't pain. It's just funny.

We managed to recover and move on with the night. Different players appeared and played, then switched again. Ashley tried a couple of different drinks, all WAYYY too fruity and sour for me. There were Queen songs, Journey songs, songs for girls, songs for….well a lot of songs for girls. There was also a jaunt of rap that was interesting. Overall, LOVED the experience. I will definitely be going back.

Just…with warmer pants.

(On a side note, you are still eligible to enter our giveaway until midnight tonight. We will try to announce the winner in tomorrow’s Quick Takes. Have a good evening everyone!)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2010 7:29 am

    It sounds like you guys had quite the night! 😉
    It’s good to know that you were a good sport about it.

  2. Victoria Taylor permalink
    July 9, 2010 8:10 am

    I wanna go. Sounds like fun!

    • July 9, 2010 8:42 am

      It really was a blast. They have locations all over the country.

      Matt Wilson

      Vice President, The Bear Pit Dell Digital RA (Campus Ambassador), Mosaic Sales Solutions Business Secondary Education Major Baylor University (832) 248-4828

  3. Flo permalink
    July 9, 2010 9:40 am

    Photos make the blog – priceless shots! So glad cameras are everywhere now.

  4. July 9, 2010 11:43 am

    That’s hilarious! Well, at least it’s summer right? 😀

Leave a Reply

