Skip to content

A Fond Farewell

July 14, 2010

Ash –

I know I know. I haven’t been around for awhile. But I have excuses! First, it was my allergies (which I should begin treatment shots the week after next!). Then it was working on my internship translations (el zorro café rápido saltó por encima del perro perezoso) and secondary med school apps (I should finish those any year now). Not to mention the numerous wedding florist appointments. But ultimately it was pure laziness. I can’t lie. It felt good to rest my blogging skills for a little while and let Matt take over. Help around the house. Go see a movie. But I’m back and ready for action.

Now I could maybe talk about dinner with friends last night. A last minute planning on Matt’s part but a great chance to catch up with everyone and laugh. A lot. Unfortunately I didn’t take any pictures (even though my camera was in my purse the entire time). Wonderful time. Exactly what I needed. But one little problem. There were four guys and two girls (including myself). Meaning the sexes were slightly lopsided (lots of talk about sports and checking out girls across the room). Most of the other girls are either out of town or were busy. Meaning us two ladies had to stick together. She (being the other girl) had purposely not eaten since noon in preparation for our little evening. I had…. lets just say I hadn’t.

However, if one girl gets a cute fruity drink, shouldn’t the other girl? I’m pretty sure it’s down there with the girls go to the bathroom in herds rule. And if said girl picks the one thing off the menu that you just spent the entire car ride convincing yourself that you weren’t going to get…. well what were the odds? How can you resist that kind of fate? Especially after waiting forty minutes for a table? That beautiful sandwich was going to be right next to me anyway. With mouth watering crispy bacon. Creamy avocado slices. A nice thick wad of turkey. All between a scrumptious roll. And perfect thin and crunchy french fries. I’m sure some of you are like so you had a sandwich, fries, and a drink. Not “good” for you but come on. You could do a lot worse.

Yeah…. did I mention dessert? My friends if you have never been to a BJ’s Restaurant then you may have never heard of the Pizookie. I don’t know if I should pity you or tell you to cover your ears right now. Maybe both? If I wanted to simplify it, I could say it’s a warm cookie with ice cream on top. But when we order the Pizookie, we don’t order one of those cute two person ones that disappear if you look at them too hard. Oh no. We order to “party” size version. The cookie that is literally the size of a pizza with a mountain of ice cream on top.

Matt - "It's a party. A party in my tummy."

Oh yes. I deserve to feel sick to my stomach. I can only blame myself. But it’s so warm! And doughy in the center! Which somehow makes it so much better than the individual size versions. The worst part is I ate this knowing we have two wedding cake tastings today. My stomach hurts just thinking about it.

What happened to the Ashley from last week? The good Ashley? That Ashley worked out almost every day last week. That Ashley did the eliptical. Ran on the treadmill. Worked out with Physique 57 (which I can now encourage as a great product for toning your arms, legs, and butt!). That Ashley ate carrots, zucchini, brussel sprouts, and other things you find in a garden. That Ashley walked around the Bridal Extravaganza at the George R. Brown Convention Center on Saturday for over two hours until her legs were going to fall off…. and that was after working out that morning! So healthy. So fit. So young and naive. My food baby and I will miss her.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2010 9:02 am

    I see nothing wrong with a day of indulgence, as long as you get back on track, it should not ruin your fun. You only get one life, I say enjoy it!

    Glad to have you back!

  2. July 14, 2010 9:18 am

    Oh man – that looks INSANE. I think I died a little. MMM. 🙂

  3. July 14, 2010 12:42 pm

    I’m kind of jealous that we don’t have anything like the Pizookie around here! But then again, I could always recreate my own version at home….I bet my boyfriend would love me forever if I did!

  4. July 14, 2010 2:06 pm

    Yum! I will never forget my first Pizookie. But I don’t miss the stomach ache. Hope you’re feeling better!

  5. Chisom permalink
    July 14, 2010 9:08 pm

    a.) I’m reading your blog, take note!

    b.) pizookie looks SO GOOD. also the list of what you ate sounds completely normal…girl you 21, if there’s a time to eat that nonsense it’s now!

    c.) bridal extravaganza? SOUNDS EPIC

    d.) “disappear if you look at them too hard” <— haha loved this

Leave a Reply

