Skip to content

A Whole Mess of Cake

July 15, 2010

Matt –

There are three main reasons I decided to do this whole “wedding” thing.

1. I get Ashley out of the whole ordeal. (Not bad.)

2. I might get to use the scan gun in the electronics department when we register. (I’ve really thought about this. I wear all athletic gear, headband and all. I get somebody to put White Snake’s Here I Go Again on the PA system. Now if I can just get Ash to dance on the hood of my truck like that…)

3. And lastly, I was told I get to tag along for the cake tastings.

This girl DOES love me! Or at least she thinks I deserve a reward every now and then. In the end, these three things would MORE than make up for the bridal conventions and the florists and the dragging up of my old baby pictures.

Yesterday was one of the Big 3. Cake Tasting.

The trail of destruction.

We had two cakery’s lined up. Cakes by Gina landed first.

Matt: <thinking> OHBOYOHBOYOHBOYOHBOYWHEREDOWESEETHECAKEANDTHENEATTHECAKEOHBOYOHBOYOHBOY

Cake Lady: Urmmm….<flipping pages in the date book>… when were you scheduled?

M: <thinking> Wha? NO. Nonononono. Today is cake tasting day.

CL: <more flipping> Where is your venue?

M: <thinking> There is no way this is happening to me.

It did all get straightened out (the classic looking at the wrong month in the planner mistake). We were seated. We were handed books. We were brought coffee (how did they know!?!?! that’s almost like cheating.) My mind was racing. Did you know they made “buckets of beer” shaped groom cakes? Did you KNOW that?!?!?

We started off with selecting flavors. We chose as many as we could without looking greedy. White with buttercream, chocolate with chocolate buttercream, lemon, red velvet, chocolate with hazlenut, white with buttercream and rasberry, italian creme. It was all too much. Too much.

We all did the polite “well I’m not a huge cake person, but I’ll take a bite to taste anyway” thing for awhile. That didn’t last long. We all had second bites. Some of us had thirds. Some of us snuck fourths when Ashley others weren’t looking. Some of us might have even used our fingers to snag a little icing off the plate.

The stuff was amazing. But we’re not satisified yet. Let’s go to cake appointment number 2.

Edible Designs by Jessie was nice, but they were playing from behind. At the bridal convention last Saturday, one of the ladies snapped rudely at Ashley for trying to take a picture of one of their cakes. (The best part? Watching the lady trying to cover the cake with her hands to prevent it from being photographed. Keep it up champ.) Apparently they are copyrighted and very original (they looked the same to me <shrug>). If Ashley held grudges, Jessie’s place wouldn’t even be in the running…

“…but they have a STRIKE against them”, says an embattled bride-to-be.

Oh boy. Hope Jessie has something incredible up her… oh my God what is that smell?!?! It’s like heaven and cake and happiness and joy?!?!?! Jessie did have the my nose’s vote. (Gina was at a very slight disadvantage. You could see her immaculate kitchen through big pane windows, but you couldn’t smell it.)

We sat down, explained what we had figured out what we wanted at the previous place… but it just didn’t feel the same. The “receptionist” wasn’t very welcoming, nor was the apparent owner. The only person really willing to even talk to us (or seemed like he wanted to) was the salesman that was assigned to us. Cakes weren’t photographable (EVEN IN THE STORE, AS POTENTIAL CUSTOMERS) and you couldn’t see the kitchen. Even the presentation of the cakes was similar to a pre-teen’s birthday party, just kind of slapped on styrofoam plates with the addition of plastic spoons.

Oh and their cakes sucked. The white cakes were bland and boring and their fillings were, quite frankly, gross. Their strong point? Their chocolate. But not nearly enough to overtake Gina.

Gina won out, hands down. The combination of the taste, the presentation, the custimization, the personality of the staff all made it a great experience. So much so that we even canceled our <burp> appointment on Saturday. It’s okay though… I think I’m tired of cake.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2010 11:33 am

    Good customer service can really make or break my shopping experience, but with my boyfriend, he seems like he could care less.
    I’m glad you guys didn’t end up picking Jessie.

  2. Hansen permalink
    July 15, 2010 12:02 pm

    Now I wanna get married.

  3. Flo permalink
    July 15, 2010 10:28 pm

    Matt, you told that story so well I could tast the raspberry filling! U r funny

  4. July 16, 2010 4:28 am

    We don’t really have cake tastings in Australia. Are you sad for me yet? 😦

  5. July 16, 2010 10:43 am

    Jealous, we’ve decided to forgo having a cake, and are having a dessert buffet instead, can’t wait to try out all the goodies for that one!

Leave a Reply

