Skip to content

7 Quick Takes (19)

July 16, 2010

Matt – Ahh Friday. The pinnacle of all days. Work hard, but take time off to enjoy our week so far!

1) Matt – I’m a working man once again! This week I started as an intern for the company Ashley’s mom works for. It’s really a great real-world business learning  experience, plus I get to work from Ash’s house. Not a bad deal, eh? The only draw back… when my email was set up, it was set up as “Mike Wilson.” To my knowledge, which has always been under scrutiny anyway, I’ve always been called “Matt.” I’m gonna have to ask my boss… not sure if I’m qualified to make that call.

2) Ash – Yesterday, throughout the neighborhood, electricity unexpectedly decided to go on a little vacation around 6 PM. Somewhat problematic. Especially in a household of people all working on their computers (welcome to the consulting business). Interns Matt and Ashley had to figure out something else to do. My solution was to curl up with a book. Matt decided he was going to watch t.v…… until I reminded him that was power operated. After crying over his loss of sports television, he chose to nap.

Those rants take a lot out of you.

3) Matt – Before I met Ashley, I really didn’t enjoy being photographed. It wasn’t terrible, but it wasn’t my all time favorite activity so I avoided it when I could. After being with Ash for a couple of years now, I’ve been photographed more times then I have over my entire life. The newest additions? The recent photo shoot we did with our new wedding photographer, Weihan.

He was really laid back, very easy to work with and obviously knew his stuff. He even led us to some spots in Houston we didn’t even know existed. Not bad for a 1 hour photo shoot, eh? Seriously though, all the photos came out perfectly. A true master of light. Can’t wait to see what he can do during the big day!

4) Ash – Thankfully when last night’s “blackout” (is it really a blackout if there is still lots of light outside?) happened, the timer on the oven had just gone off. Dinner was safe. Tried spaghetti squash for the first time. LOVED IT. For those of you who have never tried it before, the squash is similar to the consistency of angel hair. So add a little marinara sauce and you have a healthier “pasta.” Also add mushrooms, a little chicken, and the Pioneer Woman’s recipe for spinach with garlic chips. The best blackout dinner ever.

Notice the lovely flowers Matt brought my mom.

5) Matt – Well it looks like BP finally got that leak plugged…for now. Here are some interesting points that I’ve found:

  • The leak started on April 20, 2010. It was supposedly plugged yesterday, July 15, 2010. That comes out to a total of 88 days, or 2 months and 27 days.
  • Estimates of the volume of oil leaking per day ranges from 20,000 barrels to 70,000 barrels. This comes out to a range of total barrels spilled at around 1.7 million to 6.1 million barrels.
  • 20 years and $1 billion later, the Exxon Valdez spill might be considered “clean”…but only by some. It was, estimated, a 500,000 barrel spill.

We’ll be living the Deepwater Horizon spill for, pretty much, the rest of our lives. Very sad.

6) Ash – No real plans for Saturday or Sunday. Maybe something unexpected will come up? Or maybe I’ll even just hang by the pool with a book? That’s assuming those blasted mosquitoes go away. However, I am going out with the girls tonight. My friend Angela turned 21 last week, and we were waiting until tonight to celebrate (one of our other friends is coming back in town for this weekend). Gift already bought. Restaurant already picked. Ugh. Actually not so much. Maybe I should give the girls a call….

7) Golf has always been a big part of my life. I love playing and I enjoy (not many LOVE) watching it on TV. But it gets really hard sometimes. No movement except for about 3 seconds every so often. The excitement is only during the last 3-4 holes, and only if its a close tournament. John Daly has always been a long swinging, loud mouth, troublemaker in the PGA. He’s changed his ways, but he’s still doing things to keep your eye on the tube…

...I'll let him get away with the pink and blue. He's 3 off the lead after the first round. No excuse for the pants though. They didn't make the cut.

I can only hope he has more planned for this weekend. Guys, have a wonderful weekend. We will be back Monday with, hopefully, some incredible life changing story. But chances are we’ll forget about it…they happen so often.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

