Skip to content

A Little Time

July 21, 2010

Ash –

Good morning sunshines. Let me state the obvious. Today is Wednesday (a.k.a Hump Day). Which for me can be looked at in one of two ways.

  1. YAYYYY. We’re almost to the weekend. Other side of the hill baby! *Begin the happy dance*
  2. UGHH. Where is this week going? My list of things to do is a mile long, and somehow I’ve only achieved the first 1.763 things. And if this list doesn’t get done this week it’ll make next week’s list that much longer…. *Begin headache*

Right now I’m kind of feeling like the second one. I actually have lots of things to look forward to (like a business trip with my mom and Matt tomorrow and Friday, my aunt’s birthday on Saturday, beach on Sunday, and Vegas next weekend), but I also have my intern work. And I have those pesky secondary med school apps. And I’m trying to take care of those end of summer appointments (dental, hair, vision, etc). And and and… as I said, the list goes on and on.

Website this picture came from is linked. If I can get it to work this time, we might even start linking the Quick Takes!

Consequently I quickly spiral down in the world of all about me. Which is when I remember aren’t we all this busy? We all have things that need to get done, sisters to drive around, naps that don’t get to be taken, bills that need to be paid, and demanding dogs (you already had dinner!). And perhaps the time I spend worrying about getting things done could actually be used toward getting those things done. Funny how that works, right?

So here are some of the things I’m making time for in my life right now:

  • Working out again. That’s right. The food twins have got to go. Hello Mr. Treadmill. Long time no see. Ms. Physique 57. Nice to see you too. Now if there just wasn’t so many cookies for me to conveniently sneak around my house.
  • Reaching out to people. An old friend of mine is going through a hard time, and even though I haven’t talked to her in years, I felt the need to let her know that her family was in my prayers. As well as ask if there is anything I can do to help. She could ask me to pick up her dry cleaning, and I’d gladly do it.
  • Doing my work and enjoying it. I’m getting paid well to do something I’m good at. The answer to all those bills. And a little extra to put toward med school and married life. Plus I get to have my fiancee at my house almost every day because he’s working as an intern at the same company. What’s to complain about again?
  • And those secondary med school apps aren’t so bad. I have the outlines done so I simply need to finish writing the essays already!
  • Pampering myself a little. I like to save. A lot. Meaning most of my paycheck goes into my account and not my wallet. I don’t cut corners (when I’m at school I’m not starving or dressed in rags). I just don’t buy the unnecessary things. Those can be birthday or Christmas gifts. But mom offered to get massages this Friday, and without thinking it over too much I bought myself a new outfit from PacSun (shirt, shorts, and headbands). At this rate, they’re going to have to put me on that show “You’ve Been Cut Off” (kidding but has anyone else seen that show? it’s ridiculous how these girls throw away money. one girl even had a tiara collection because she decided she was a “princess”).
  • Laughing at the small stuff. Getting stuck behind a train for half an hour was annoying. But the girl in the car next to us was hilarious. Matt blew me a kiss, and she thought it was for her. So she kept staring at us in between her rockstar singing. Then she decided to take some pills and rest on her steering wheel.

I know it's hard to see, but nap time on the steering wheel? At least one of us is getting a nap. After this she kept trying to edge toward the gate like that would make it open faster.

Life is good. It’s something I’ve written about before, but it’s great to have life take you by surprise at just how good it is. I’m thinking I need one of those Keep Calm prints that are showing up all over the place. It’ll be my constant reminder how amazing I have it (plus the “keep calm” part will remind me to breathe every now and then). Enjoy your Wednesday everyone! I know I will. 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 22, 2010 1:26 pm

    That last picture/comment kind of cracked me up.

    Way to go on reaching out to your friend; it’s not always easy to do the first time after a hiatus from talking but I’m sure she’ll appreciate the gesture.

    I’ve never seen the show you’ve been cut off but I could only imagine. Especially if this girl has a tiara!

Leave a Reply

