Skip to content

7 Quick Takes (20)

July 23, 2010

Matt –

The basis of percentages. A perfect score. The number of senators in the United States. The number of tiles in a Scrabble set. The standing record for the most points scored in an NBA game. The number of years in a century. Today we celebrate our 100th post here at A Double Shot of Texas. It has been a load of fun being able to share our lives with our friends and family, as well as strangers who are no longer strangers 🙂

Enjoy today’s Quick Takes, enter the CONTEST BELOW and spread the word. The next 100 days are going to be even better.

1. Ash – Wow. It’s Friday already? Really truly absolutely love it. Speaking of Fridays, I never had the chance to follow up on my night out with the girls to celebrate my friend’s 21st birthday (which I mentioned in last week’s Quick Takes). Overall report: Sushi and drinks = delightful. Pushy waiters and “Free Falling” on the saxophone = undesirable (great song but definitely meant for other instruments… ditto for all Mariah Carey songs).

2. Matt – I’m itching. I’m desperately wanting. I really, really, really want to go see Inception. I’ve been hearing way to many good things about it from my movie-critic friends. (Only the few movie-critic friends whose judgement I trust. Mamma Mia fans? You know who you are. You are not yet forgiven.) Don’t give any spoilers in the comments, but please let me know if you’ve seen it. I hear if you liked the Matrix, you’ll love this film. GRRRR. I can’t seem to get a certain girl to go with me though. Not for lack of desire to see it, but bad timing. Stupid other fun plans.

3. Ash – 8:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. of today and yesterday are being spent in a downtown hotel for a training conference. Other than a lot of sitting, it’s been fun. They use funny terms like “benchmark” and “key drivers” (does anyone else picture a literal bench and set of keys?). Although my enjoyment might have to do with the fact my mom is the one leading the training. I can only hope to be that great of a speaker some day. Trust me this isn’t just a biased daughter talking (although I am). At a previous training, some of the people joked about wanting WWJD bracelets, but in this case it would stand for “What would Judi Do.” On a side note, didn’t the hotel hear about how I am trying to eat okay again? They left an adorable box of m&m’s at everyone’s seat in the morning, brought a plate of desserts for each person at lunch, and then “snack” time was cookies and ice cream. I refuse to have food triplets!

4. Matt – Sitting at the bar last night with my fellow training attendees, the topic of celebrity mishaps came up. Mel Gibson, Lindsay Lohan, and Tiger Woods all made their cameos. As the only guy present, when talks of which male celebrities were handsome, I kept my mouth shut. I fully expected some girl talk, and I know very well what to do during such times. Don’t talk. Ever. I made a mistake though. I chuckled at one of the comments made. They turned on me immediately. Ashley was the first to speak.

“Well Matt, who is YOUR man crush in Hollywood?”

I was stuck. I had no desire to answer, but I knew it would be over sooner if I just did.

“<sighhh> Um…well…I guess Will Smith?”

They bought it. They all talked about Will for a few more minutes then the topic changed to something else. I had escaped, but with a large chunk of my pride missing. I’m pretty sure the bartender heard. He didn’t ask me if I wanted anything for the rest of the night. I don’t blame him.

5. Ash – Some of you may have read my Wednesday post where I mentioned reaching out to an old friend. I’m glad I did. In many ways I wish I had reached out even sooner. Unfortunately her mother died later that day. Out of respect, I won’t go into details, but my heart goes out to her and her family.

You can only have one mother
Patient kind and true;
No other friend in all the world,
Will be the same to you.

When other friends forsake you,
To mother you will return,
For all her loving kindness,
She asks nothing in return.

As we look upon her picture,
Sweet memories we recall,
Of a face so full of sunshine,
And a smile for one and all.

Sweet Jesus, take this message,
To our dear mother up above;
Tell her how we miss her,
And give her all our love.
– Irish Funeral Prayer

6. Matt – To all my friends who run regularly, stop reading. I don’t want to be read like this. But today I am proud. Proud of four miles. Today for the first time in a long time, I ran four consecutive miles at a relatively fast pace. Why? I don’t know. But the movie 300 was on the treadmill TV and I used that to distract myself at first. Then it just became a competition with myself.

7. Ash – Because it’s Friday. Because it’s our 100th post. And because we just love y’all, today marks our second giveaway – a $25 Starbucks giftcard. What better giveaway for a blog partly named after coffee, right? And summertime is the perfect time to go pick yourself up a light frap or lemonade. So here are the ways you can enter:

  • Leave us a comment and tell us about your favorite type of coffee.
  • Twitter about our giveaway and leave us a comment letting us know that you did (we will be checking to make everything fair).
  • Mention the giveaway on your Facebook status – in case you don’t have a Twitter like me (again leave a comment here and we’ll check it out).
  • Blog about the giveaway on your own blog (once more you know the drill).

Sitting next to my bed just waiting to find a loving home.

That’s right. Y’all have up to four chances to enter this giveaway (No, Matt, you aren’t eligible). No more submissions after noon (Texas time) this upcoming Thursday. We’ll either fish the winning name out of a bowl or look up one of those random name generators. The winner will be announced next Friday. In the meantime, have a great weekend everyone and good luck!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2010 7:26 am

    Will Smith is one of my celebrity crushes, so I really can’t blame you for liking him Matt!
    Ash- I’m sorry to hear about your friend’s Mother. I bet your friend is glad you reached out to her regardless.

    As for my favorite coffee drink, I’m a sucker for white mochas from Starbucks, and iced coffee from almost anywhere!

  2. July 23, 2010 8:11 am

    I don’t drink coffee so this would be for my husband. He loves caramel macchiatto.

    mami2jcn at gmail dot com

  3. July 23, 2010 9:58 am

    You guys were going to get a comment anyways, but I love coffee so now I have two reasons. I love all coffee. I don’t think I’ve ever tried something at Starbucks and not liked it. Why? Because if it’s bad you just add sugar and the world is right again. But I guess my favorite is a caramel macchiato. It reminds me of my mother (because it’s her favorite too) and of HAMUN conferences.

    Ok, so now to the real comment. GO SEE DESPICABLE ME. GO. Right now. And you must absolutely go see Inception as well. You will be confused, but you might not be. They are both awesome movies. I cannot stress that enough.

    And I read the part you told runners not to read anyways. And you can be happy about 4 miles! You can even be proud. Especially if you stick with it.

  4. July 23, 2010 4:14 pm

    Matt- I saw Inception last week. It was good. LONG but good. And one I think I’d need to watch again to fully understand it. But I’m a girl so maybe that’s why.

    And giveaway! Woohoo! Congrats on 100 posts 🙂 Consider this my first entry 🙂

    • July 23, 2010 4:19 pm

      ugh. i’m such a friday dunce. favorite kind of coffee: well, i don’t like coffee, but the creme based drinks are ah-mazing, specifically the double chocolate one. it’s like a milkshake on steroids.

  5. July 23, 2010 4:17 pm

    (also, Ash, so sorry to hear about your friend’s mom. I can’t even imagine. I’m sure she’s glad you’re there for her.)

  6. Becky permalink
    July 23, 2010 5:11 pm

    My favorite coffee drink this summer has been the Java Chip Frappuccino because it is cold, chocolate-y and full of coffee. Definite must in this heat.

  7. July 24, 2010 5:51 am

    I’m a chai tea latte kind of girl. Always have been, always will be. 🙂

    Also.. tweeted!

    http://twitter.com/breathegently

  8. July 24, 2010 10:11 am

    On a daily basis I will usually just have black coffee, but when I am in the mood for a treat I will get a Starbucks Cinnamon Dolce Frappuccino. Yum!

  9. John Kunick permalink
    July 24, 2010 4:04 pm

    Two favorites:
    First, whatever the “bold” brew of the day is from Starbucks. I order a Venti size, put some half&half and one (just one, not two) packets of Equal.

    Second, Mocha Frappucino – no whip cream.

  10. Meghan permalink
    July 25, 2010 1:31 pm

    Grande soy latte!

  11. July 26, 2010 7:14 am

    4 miles, you’ve got me beat. Although, I’m Canadian, what does 5k equal in miles?? As for coffee, since it is summer, I have to stick with Iced Peppermint White Chocolate Mocha!!

    MMmmmm mmmmm good!

  12. July 26, 2010 4:54 pm

    Following up on my blog comments sure proved beneficial today! As you saw in our engagement photos, we love us some Starbucks. Summertime calls for an iced coffee with a shot of peppermint syrup and a splash of milk. Yum 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention 7 Quick Takes (20) « A Double Shot of Texas -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

