Skip to content

Texas Tuesday (21)

July 27, 2010

Ash –

Good afternoon everyone. Sorry we are coming to you so late today. Honestly it’s my fault. I’ve spent the day taking care of stuff around the house (like dogs who demand treats after their medicine), running errands, and wrapping up these secondary med school apps. Long story short. I haven’t answered any of these questions and need to get ready for my appointment this afternoon. So please forgive me, but Matt has written some great answers! For that matter, he and Monet (our friend who is turning 21 this weekend) came up with half of the questions along with Kristen at Sugar and Love. Thanks for picking up my slack, guys.

1. If you were guaranteed an honest answer, what would you ask?

Matt – What are the winning lotto numbers for the next 10 years? It was worth a try. I think I would ask people what they really thought about me. I hope I would like the answer, but if I didn’t, at least I would have the knowledge to change.

2. What book could you read over and over?

Matt – I’m not nearly as big of a bookworm as I used to be. I would read anything I could. Towards the tail end of my reading addiction, I read a book by the name of Freakonomics. If you aren’t familiar, two economists took ordinary daily scenarios or examples and applied the laws of economics to them. For instance, a drug gang is run very smiliarly to a Fortune 500 company. People with certain names are more or less likely to succeed financially. New editions are released every so often. Definitely should go pick up a copy. (end book plug)

3. What wedding related task are you dreading the most?

Matt – I really wish I had an answer to this. I don’t. Ms. Flo has done an INCREDIBLE job of making this process painless and even, <gulp> FUN. We keep telling her that she should do this for a living, but I’m not sure she’d enjoy it as much if it were other couples :p

4. When was the last time you thanked someone?

Matt – I say thank you a lot. I don’t wake up every morning with the thought to say thank you a lot, but it just happens. How hard can it be? It tells the person that you know what they did and you appreciate it. Makes everyone feel good. Little cost, great reward. I probably last said thank you to the guy at the drive through. I figure they don’t hear it a lot. Maybe I helped somebody have a better day? Sounds corny, but I believe in it.

5. What is your favorite mistake?

Matt – I still maintain the fact that this was a mistake. When Ash and I were making cinnamon rolls (via Pioneer Woman), I was in charge of combining the ingredients for the dough. I did not remember, however, to cut the ingredients in half. This in turn lead Ashley to just give up and make a full size batch. My most favoritest mistake EVER.

6. What are you looking forward to most in Vegas this weekend?

Matt – I can’t wait to walk down the strip. You see it in movies, you hear about it, you can see the lights when you close your eyes, but I have a feeling that standing outside of the Bellagio Fountains will be wayyy better than anything we’ve seen on TV or imagined.

7. Are you going to gamble?

Matt – I love Texas Hold ‘Em poker, so yeah. I really need to put a limit on it though. Like $50 maximum. Gives me a chance to play at some of the smaller tables for awhile without going broke. I hope I’m good enough to actually win some money out of it…. I mean I spend enough time playing online…

8. What do you get for “waking up in Vegas” (like the Katy Perry song)?

Matt – I just want to be able to say that I stole Mike Tyson’s tiger.

9. Do you have any strategies for remembering the night you just woke up from?

Matt – Hangover recipies? Hmmm. Luckily I haven’t suffered through too many hangovers. And only one makes me cringe thinking about it. Coffee, water, more sleep. Also? Stuffed french toast from IHOP. Nothing else will do.

10. Would you ever consider getting married in Vegas?

Matt – Consider? Of course. Realistically, knowing the whiplash from the mothers involved? Never. I can’t risk our safety like that. HOWEVER, if we did, I would make sure it was as cheesy as possible. Elvis, candles, big flourescent neon heart sign on the outside, and a chapel with a name like “Chapel of Eternal Love and Passport Photos”.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2010 3:28 pm

    My favorite answer was number 10 simply because of the way I pictured you guys getting “whiplashed” by the family members 🙂

  2. Flo permalink
    July 27, 2010 4:00 pm

    First, thank you Matt and u r correct, I would not enjoy being a “wedding coordinator” for any other couples. Second, if after all of this you get married in Vegas I’ll never forgive you (that is until the grandbabis arrive)

  3. July 28, 2010 6:39 am

    We always joke about getting hitched in Vegas (SO MUCH EASIER!) and while our mums probably would be on board, I fear the wrath of my grandma. Really. Fear.

  4. Jackie Parkes permalink
    July 28, 2010 4:27 pm

    brilliant response to question 10. I watched the hangover 3 times (HBO on demand), it is not funny.

Leave a Reply

