Skip to content

The Ol’ Ball Game

July 28, 2010

Ash –

Everyone has something they aren’t good at. I have a confession to make. I am AWFUL at baseball. Really and truly. I mean we played in elementary school. My coach tried to teach me. My teammates encouraged me. Even the guy I had a crush on came over to show me how to bat properly. Nothing. The only people worse than me were the girls who were scared of the ball. I wasn’t scared. I just couldn’t hit the silly ball to save my life.

Perhaps I would have gotten better or at least practiced if I lived in Illinois with my Cardinals loving relatives (grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins, neighbors, dogs – I’ve never seen such avid fans), but instead I took up horseback riding lessons and girl scouts (not to mention a whole smorgasbord of other activities).

So we move on to high school. By that point, I had accepted my ineptitude at baseball. If we ever passed each other in the hallways, I looked the other way. Thankfully my friends weren’t really into baseball. Volleyball, sure. Soccer, of course. In fact, one of my friends coached a kids soccer team, and I was there almost every game to cheer them on (Go Vipers!). But baseball…. we kept our distance. The only baseball related activities I participated in was wearing an Astros shirt on the occasional days that the school said we could.

Which is how I got to college. Clueless about all things baseball. And I met Matt. Not a diehard fan of the game but certainly an appreciator. But with Matt came his friends – Rosey, Monet, Blaine, and so on. All HUGE baseball fans.

In fact, the first time I met Matt’s friends was a couple months after we started dating. A game night at Rosey’s house. I walked up to her game room and WOAH! Look at all the baseball stuff. Who are these people? And why are they talking about some guy named Hunter Pence? And why does it matter if he wears his socks up or down?

Last summer and the American pastime.

But the thing is that kind of enthusiasm is catchy. Not like a cold. I didn’t wake up the next day dying to see a game. But by the next year, I cautiously approached Matt. “So ummmm. Do you think we could maybe go to an Astros game this summer? We don’t have to get expensive tickets. I’d just… ummm… like to see a game.” Matt was both shocked and happy that I wanted to go (but mostly shocked – I refused to go to all Baylor games up until this point).

So we went to an Astros game, and it was… dare I say it… fun. We even ran into Monet and Rosey at the game!

Well who do we have here?

But the truth is tickets are kind of expensive (if you don’t want to sit in the nosebleed section). At least for a college student. And this summer our money is going toward Viva Las Vegas. I was disappointed we wouldn’t see a game, but honestly I’ve been so busy with wedding stuff, annual appointments, med school apps, birthdays, and training conferences. I haven’t had much time to be too upset about it. Which is why it was such an awesome surprise when hanging out with friends this weekend Rosey unexpectedly turns to me and mentions she has tickets I’m welcome to.

Yay tickets!

Turns out her uncle gets season tickets, and nobody in her family can go to this particular game. But of course they didn’t want them to go to waste. Free tickets??? Less than 20 rows behind the home dugout??? Rosey has a fairly large family so the fact none of them could go to the game is just plain fate that the tickets were meant to go to the loving Matt and Ashley foundation. And if I haven’t said thank you enough, thank you again!

So after a long and productive day, I was pumped to go to last night’s game against the Chicago Cubs. We found great parking and made the short walk to our beloved Minute Maid. The seats were incredible and we weren’t surrounded by the enemy (as a kid I went to game where everyone surrounding me were loud Mets fans… for some reason I’m still traumatized by that experience).

We're so close! Swoon.

I’ll go ahead and sum up the first six innings. Nobody scored anything. It was ridiculous. One foul ball or strike out after the other. Matt and I almost caught a foul ball (until the people next to us grabbed it). Our team hadn’t even made it to third base yet. Until that wonderful bottom of the 7th inning.

Finally we make it to third. First point of the game??? Yes! Jason Bouregois makes a gorgeous slide into home plate (Matt says he scored on a “squeeze play” but I have NO IDEA what that means). Dear lord I’m just glad the scoreboard still isn’t at 0-0. Then we score a second point. We’re el fuego! But the most amazing hit of the night? Lets give it up for Lance Berkman, ladies and gentleman! With the bases loaded and two outs, the “Big Puma” hits a grand slam. Be still my heart. Final score of the night was 6-1. Lets go ‘Stros!

And with that, Matt and I have crossed off one of the things on our 101 in 1001 list (along with a few other things that we really should write an update on). Although, even after crossing that off, I’d definitely like to go to another game next summer. Maybe along with learning poker and college football (other items on our list), I should get Rosey or Monet to start teaching me about baseball. Anyway have a great Wednesday everyone!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2010 11:28 am

    Lesson #1 in baseball: It’s called a “run” not a “point.”
    And that concludes our first lesson.

    (Those seats are fantastic, aren’t they?? Glad yall had fun.)

  2. July 28, 2010 10:17 pm

    I’ve never been a fan of baseball either. I grew up with the Toronto Blue Jays (until I was about 13), but never really cared about them. When I moved here to Calgary, we didn’t have a big baseball team to support. Just some local team (that doesn’t even exist anymore). I went to a few games, but only because they were free.
    And that’s all of my baseball encounters, in a nutshell.

  3. July 29, 2010 9:00 am

    So I couldn’t get past the fact that your family (or some of them, at least) are Cardinals fans!!! You do realize that I live in StL, the home of our beloved Cardinals, right!? (see how excited we fans get!? ) This also means if you EVER come to Illinois, you’ll have to let me know so that we can meet-up.

    Baseball is such a fun sport. I used to keep score for my brothers baseball team which was a great way to learn the sport. I may or may not have gotten into a few verbal fights with the other team’s score lady over the way the play was called. Which is totally a blog post now that I think about it!

Leave a Reply

