Skip to content

Texas Tuesday (22)

August 3, 2010

Matt –

Well we felt like a little change of pace here this week, so we thought we’d give you guys a “Currently” post. Here are all the “current” likes, dislikes, and other random tidbits 🙂

Current Book(s):

Ash – I’m almost done with Divine Evil by Nora Roberts. I admit I’m a little disappointed by this one. I recently discovered she has a series of books that are part chick lit and part mystery. I enjoyed the first three (Public Secrets was probably my favorite) but this one is a little dark for me. I’m reading it anyway since it’s long and I paid $7 for it. I think I’ll start Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins next (I’ve already read it but it is one of the best books out right now – PLEASE read the first of the series Hunger Games if you are looking for a new book).

Matt – Just finshed Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. Gotta say, it’s definitely in my top 3 books I’ve ever read. That’s including all 7 Harry Potter’s as seperate books. No way I’m letting Ash start Catching Fire before I do.

Current Playlist:

Matt – I recently rediscovered some great songs that I’ve been trying to find as well as coming across newly released songs.

  • “Here I Go Again” – Whitesnake
  • “To Be With You” – Mr. Big
  • “All For You” – Sister Hazel
  • “His Dream” – Asher Roth
  • “I Like That” – Static Revenger
  • “Timebomb” – Beck
  • “Cinderella Man” – Eminem

Ash – I just started a new one since I quickly get bored listening to the same playlist (for the purposes of working out). Here are a few on the new one:

  • “The World” by Brad Paisley
  • “California Girls” by Katy Perry
  • “My Life Would Suck Without You” by Glee Cast
  • “Sometime Around Midnight” by The Airborne Toxic Event
  • “The Final Countdown” by Europe

Current Color:

Ash – Probably my current toenail polish – Red Hot Tamale.

Matt – Gold. It seems to be popping up everywhere. Caesar’s Palace was covered in it, as was most of Las Vegas itself. After that, I just seem to be noticing gold more often.

Current Drink:

Matt – Arnold Palmer’s. 1/3 lemonade, 1/3 iced tea, 1/6 lemonade, 1/6 iced tea. Added in that order. Summer heat destroyer.

Ash – Water. Lots and lots of water. My body is trying to detox after Vegas. Not that I drank that much, but add any drinking to over 100 degrees (in the shade) and excessive amounts of smoke. My head still hurts.

Current Food:

Ash – So far today I’ve only had cereal. But it was the Great Grains kind with pecans. Really good. However, I’d have to say favorite foods right now are spaghetti squash (for dinner) and Greek yogurt (for breakfast). The squash is great because we’ll add a little marinara sauce, some cheese, and other veggies. I’m stuffed and don’t feel guilty about anything I ate. The Greek yogurt makes a yummy breakfast depending what else we have in the kitchen: maybe some berries or a banana, a little bit of granola, or my favorite is to add some cinnamon.

Matt – I’ve really been craving crunchy foods. I occasionally get little sores when I bite my tongue. I’m starting to get over a particularly bad one, so the things that hurt too much to eat before are starting to sound good again. Chips, croutons (a food group all their own), etc.

Current Favorite Show:

Matt – I recently, and I mean RECENTLY started watching episodes of Curb Your Enthusiasm. So far, really freaking funny. I know I’m behind, but in the end I can predict I will be a huge fan.

Ash – Still watching So You Think You Can Dance. Although I’m two weeks behind. I’m kind of out of the loop on television.

Current Wishlist:

Ash – I’m really excited about Mockingjay (part of the Hunger Games series) coming out later this month. Also I wish I didn’t have to wait until September for the fifth season of How I Met Your Mother to come out on DVD. Other things on my wishlist: a puppy, for medical schools to offer me interviews, and an extra month of summer. While I’m at it, let’s throw world peace in there.

Matt – I am really, really only wanting one thing: not to completely embarrass myself during my presentation for my internship this week. I travel up to Dallas tomorrow night to present on Thursday, and I’m hoping I don’t look like some unprepared kid. Also, a GoldenDoodle. Two. Two GoldenDoodles.

Current Needs:

Matt – I need willpower. I need the willpower to drag my lazy self out of bed earlier, before all my other duties during the day, to actually workout. I’m eating a lot better lately, but I still need to, you know, do stuff. I also need new underwear. Fun, right?

Ash – A new planner. Classes are about three weeks away, and my favorite thing to buy for the school year is a new planner. When I was scheduling the date to have my wisdom teeth removed earlier this year, I pulled out my planner and the surgeon laughed. He said, “You don’t see too many of those anymore. Almost everyone uses their phones now.” I admit I do have a planner-type application on my phone but during the school year I prefer to have a true planner. More space. Easier to see upcoming weeks. Plus I can use my colorful highlighters J

Current Triumphs:

Matt – I did it. I finally ordered my parking pass on time. This means, for the first time in 4 years, I will have a parking pass before I get on campus. This is of course assuming that my application went through just fine. And that is assuming a lot. And you know what happens when you assume. You end up taking the trolley to campus.

Ash – Finishing almost all my medical school apps! I am done with the primary and secondary apps in Texas. I’m just waiting to hear back from one or two other schools if they want me to fill out their secondary. But for the most part I’m done. Huge weight off my shoulders. Next hurdle is interviews.

Current Bane(s) of My Existence:

Ash – My allergies. Not as bad as they were in June but still rather annoying. I should be starting the shot treatment any week now though (just as soon as they finish preparing them).

Matt – My budget. I hate saving money. Ashley has always been the saver in the relationship. I’m a “free spirit”. I kept under my budget for Vegas. I’m proud of that, but money just seems to be seeping out of my wallet quicker than Usain Bolt being chased by cheetahs on motorcycles. Yeah.

Current Celebrity Crush:

Matt – Ashley won’t ever let me down, nor will most of the female friends I have. I recently watched Hot Tub Time Machine, and while the movie wasn’t as good as I had hoped, there was one bright spot. Tara Reid. I knowwwwww. But I can’t help it.

Ash – Until I see someone better, I think I’ll stick with the actor Ryan Reynolds. Although I was recently devastated to find out he’s married… don’t ask how I didn’t already know that. Maybe I didn’t want to know.

Current Indulgence:

Ash – Sleep. I’m pretty sure you have to call it an “indulgence” when you allow yourself to sleep until 10:45 in the morning. And then sometimes take a nap in the afternoon. But after Vegas, it feels great. And I can’t lie. I was sleeping like that even before Vegas. Summer is a wonderful thing.

Matt – She stole sleep before I could mention it. My other would be the drinks I had in Vegas though. I don’t frequent alcohol much, but I do like to splurge on a nice drink every once in awhile. I’ll go into this a little more tomorrow, but Vegas is, believe it or not, geared towards those who imbibe.

Current #1 Blessing:

Matt – My #1 blessing TODAY is that I didn’t get fried while outside. It was already in the upper 90’s this morning, so I had to figure out how to cool off. I decided the pool was the best way to go. Ashley read on the steps while I swam around and shot hoops. And no burns that I can see…yet.

Ash – How much I’ve traveled this summer. No it hasn’t been to an exotic island or the luxurious Europe, but I have gotten to go to quite a few places. Such as staying in the hotel in downtown Houston a couple weeks ago. Spending a day at Galveston. Going to Vegas this past weekend. Driving to Dallas in a couple days. Not to mention going to Vegas again in a few weeks. I’ve been having a blast and am lucky that my mom offered to pay for most my travel expenses and that I had the money to pay for the rest.

Current Slang or Saying:

Ash – “I’m just saying.” I use this phrase a ridiculous amount. Matt teases me all the time about it and that still hasn’t stopped me from saying it any less.

Matt – Any chance I get, I mean ANY, I say “WHOAAAAH DOUBLE RAINBOH”. OR, if something is really awesome, I refer to it as “Double Rainbow awesome” or “almost Triple Rainbow” or my favorite, “Double Rainbow ALL THE WAY awesome”. I have issues.

Current Outfit:

Matt – I’ve had a shirt since freshman year of high school. It’s a cheaper looking tank top that was given to us by the spring basketball league I played in. Baby blue with white lettering, it’s the perfect summer/beach/swim shirt. Ashley is not as approving. She lovingly refers to it as my “maternity shirt” because it doesn’t necessarily conform to my stomach, but rather waves about aimlessly.

Ash – My new swimsuit. The pups and I are hoping to go enjoy the pool and some sunshine before my optometrist appointment.

Current Excitement:

Ash – I might finally see Inception tonight. We keep making plans to see it but then something else comes up. Usually they’re good things like tickets to an Astros game, but that means we’re still behind the movie times. Keep your fingers crossed that we actually see it this time.

Matt – I get to see Inception!!!!

Current Mood:

Matt – Excited! Less than three more weeks until school starts up again. I’m really excited to be back in a classroom.

Ash – Anxious to finish this blog already! Sheesh these things are long. Somebody please send actual questions for next week’s Texas Tuesday!

Current Link:

Ash – Other than my usual blogs, facebook, and email, I haven’t been checking out too many other websites. Those three things take up enough time on their own. So all my other computer time is spent doing Spanish translations. Although I did look at this jewelry website the other day when the Pioneer Woman recommended it. I particularly liked the earrings.

Matt – Not all of them are exactly appropriate, but my favorite online comic strip is Cyanide & Happiness. You can find it at www.explosm.net.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 4, 2010 8:49 am

    You guys are too cute.

    I loved Hunger Games and Catching Fire is sitting on my shelf begging me to read it =)

    Matt- you have some great taste in 80s rock (seriously!); glad to know I’m not the only one who stills enjoys those songs.

    Ash- totally feel you on the Vegas hangover that lasts for days and days. It’s dreadful, isn’t it? Even if you didn’t drink much it still gets you.

    Good luck to you both the with internship presentation & med school stuff!

Leave a Reply

