Skip to content

Breakfast, Bowling, and Babies (and My Addiction to Alliteration)

August 9, 2010

Ash –

Look at us posting on time on a Monday morning! *Pats self on back* Sorry about last week. Between packing, the wedding menu tasting, driving to Dallas, no internet at the hotel, and then driving back it was a busy few days. However, if you didn’t get a chance to read them, Matt did write TWO posts on Saturday. Go ahead and check that out.

Also while you’re reading this post why don’t you go ahead and start brainstorming a couple of Texas Tuesday questions? Okay? Alright lets get to it…

I admit Sunday was a pretty quiet one. Ran a few errands with the Momma. An afternoon cat nap. Picked some basil leaves for homemade pesto. Played with the adorable one year old my sister was babysitting (who I then contemplated stealing she was so cute – but I will not post a picture in case you want to steal her as well). Essentially relaxing to the max (sounds like an oxymoron doesn’t it?).

Which was perfect after all the fun we had on Saturday. Started the morning off strong with a Physique 57 (eesh my arms are still sore) and a healthy breakfast (Greek yogurt, lots of blueberries, and cinnamon). Took care of some things around the house, a quick lunch (a couple handfuls of chips, salsa, and an apple with peanut butter), and a shower. All of that was before 1:30!

My favorite is extra crunchy. What's yours?

Then I began the hour and a half process that is straightening my hair (it might have been shorter if I took out the string cheese and dance breaks). Straightening is a pain in the behind for people with thick and long hair. Or people who don’t straighten their hair on a regular basis so never got “good” at it per se. But I felt like doing something different. After all, we had special plans that night. Our first “official” double date with friends.

Of course we’ve been out with other people before. Group nights with friends. Family nights or double dating with the parents. Even a semi-double date before we actually started dating (this was the “we’re interested but just hanging out” sort of date). But this was the first time we had actually asked a friend, “Want to do a double date sometime?” Yes, our rhetoric is awesome.

Maybe we feared rejection. Maybe we thought it sounded awkward. Maybe we were too busy curling up at home with movies. I don’t know. But we asked, and our friend Lindsay (also known as Rosey – I swear Matt and all of his friends have at least 20 different names for each other) said yes.

Being the girls that we are, Lindsay and I texted the night before to confirm our plans and gush about how excited we were. She was especially excited because Kory (her boyfriend – obviously the other person in our double date) would be helping her move into her new apartment in the morning. Which is why Matt and I being the outrageously kind, thoughtful, and generous people that we are brought her an apartment warming gift:

From Matt. Pinot Grigio. Classy.

From me. Hostess cupcakes. Even more classy!

So we met up and headed off to dinner. Or in my case breakfast for dinner. Because the best part about Rosey’s new apartment? It’s five minutes away from one of my favorite breakfast places. Buffalo Grille. Huge servings. Not bad prices. And some of the best migas, biscuits, and bacon around.

No they aren't paying me, but if you live in Houston you should eat here some time. You won't regret it.

Sufficiently stuffed, Matt, Rosey, Kory, Kory’s food baby (no food baby for me this time!), and I loaded back into the car for the second part of our evening. Bowling. Now I’m pretty good if we’re talking about the Wii version. I once got seven strikes in a row playing that game (of course that happened when nobody was there to witness it but I PROMISE it happened). Unfortunately we’re talking about the kind where you rent the shoes and hand over cash.

And of course we had to come with someone who was actually good at bowling. Kory came prepared with his own shoes and bowling ball. I was given the name slot right after Kory. Talk about making me look bad. Good news is I got second place in the first game. The bad news is I got third place in the second game and dead last in the third game. Learning curve there was not.

Bowling and Archie (plus gang) are fun 🙂

Really we had a great time. Kory’s friend showed up for the last game (and there was much teasing about him getting beaten by a girl – Lindsay…. obviously not me). Plus I’m very proud of Matt for not only getting a turkey (three strikes in a row) but winning the last game with a 150 score. That’s right y’all. Apparently my man can bowl!

Unfortunately the night had to come to an end. Everyone had been told to clear out at 9 (I think they were doing one of those Rock N Bowl’s after 9). So we called it a night considering the drive home would take close to an hour (everyone else lives semi-close to that area because they all went to high school together but I live on the other side of town). And of course on the way home we stopped by Blockbuster and picked up Did You Hear About the Morgans? An awesome double date and a chance to curl up with a movie? I guess sometimes you get the best of both worlds.

Needless to say I look forward to any future double dates. They’re a blast. Especially with Rosey and Kory. And you know what else is a blast? Texas Tuesday questions. That’s right folks. Brainstorming is over. Push the comment button and throw us a bone or two. Please and thank you!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Judi permalink
    August 9, 2010 1:54 pm

    If you were in Hunger Games, which character would you be and why?

  2. Lindsay permalink
    August 9, 2010 3:28 pm

    We had so much fun too! It’ll definitely have to happen again!

  3. August 9, 2010 3:46 pm

    I have super long thick hair, so I get the whole straightening it nightmare thing. I need to buy the John Freda straightening (that’s so not a word, is it!?) gel to help me out with that. At any rate, I’m glad you had fun on your double date. i’ve been craving those cupcakes (seriously) so i would have been thrilled if they were the gift you brought to my house!

  4. Flo permalink
    August 9, 2010 6:16 pm

    1. What do you associate with the following colors: Red, Blue, Orange?
    2. How do you imagine the world will be different by the year 2020?
    3. Which freedom were you denied as a child that you want to give your child when you have one, e.g., didn’t have a cell phone until you were X years old?
    4. The ability to fly like a bird or swim like a fish – which would you prefer? And does it matter how your life partner answers this question?
    5. Favorite comfort food when you are feeling blue? Favorite comfort food when you are feeling sick? Favorite indulgent food when you are feeling naughty?
    6. Name the photo you want to capture at some time in your lifetime, e.g., top of the Himalayas?
    7. I would like you to ask your readers to name their favorite book so we will have something new to read after Mockingjay.
    8. What is your ideal home? Ranch with lots of space for “fetch” and football? Apartment in the heart of the action with a fabulous view? Houseboat, perhaps? RV with WiFi? Treehouse?
    My contribution to TX Tues ends here… as my mind has gone blank

Leave a Reply

