Skip to content

30 Seconds of OK

August 12, 2010

Matt –

Ash and I made a deal. If I postponed posting yesterday until this morning, I could post twice and all would be forgiven. Fair game. We sat down and I had her watch Gladiator (one of my all time favorites) for the first time last night. If she hadn’t had been fantasizing about Dairy Queen’s Peanut Parfait (a virus that she caused me to catch – although we managed to avoid succumbing to temptation), she might have paid better attention. Oh well, just ammunition to use to get her to watch it again.

I woke up this morning, mentally ready to write something… until I threw up. Now I’ve had friends and family with migraines before, and according to what I hear from them, this is what I had. And a big one. Light seemed to be screaming at me. I couldn’t lay my head on the softest of pillows without feelings like the green Power Ranger was roundhouse kicking me in the back of the skull. (And then he would play that little flute thing and a big robotic… never mind.) I stumbled downstairs, grabbed an advil, a bottle of water, and a couple of Excedrin. They worked like a charm… for the 30 seconds that I could keep them down.

How do you people deal with these on a regular basis? I wouldn’t be able to keep a job or go to school. In all honestly, one of the most miserable feelings I’ve had. I was lucky though, it only lasted a couple of hours. After that I got some solid food and some more water, and I started to recover. I’m still a tad dizzy, but I’ll cope.

Ash is going to be a stellar mom one day, I can tell. You know how you want to go back to being a kid when you’re sick? The soon-to-be Mrs. Wilson is crazy good.

Are those CUT UP hot dogs? A toothpick to eat them with and ketchup to dip in? Unbelievable. I’m gonna get sick every day! We both sat down with a plate of salmon hot dogs (interesting concept right?), yellow bell peppers, tiny cherry tomatoes (toe-MAY-toes) and carrots. Finish it with a little Dove piece of peanut butter and chocolate, and I was set.

After lunch we curled up, caught a recorded episode of So You Think You Can Dance, then hopped in the pool (or at least I’m hoping to convince her to jump in – she’s mentioning something about a 30 minute wait…). Hopefully this only happens to me once in a NEVER EVER AGAIN EVER.

I’ll be feeling better tonight so I can actually share something that isn’t whiny or sick with y’all. Catch you then!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2010 12:05 pm

    I used to get awful migraines when I was kid, and they were bad enough to keep me in bed. I would have to go home from school, miss play dates and sleep overs, all so I could lay and bed and wish I could just disappear forever. They went away for several years, but they came back for a few months two years ago. Not fun. Hopefully you don’t have to go through that again!

  2. August 12, 2010 12:15 pm

    Yep, they are awful. I got them reallllly bad when I was on birth control. After that, they weren’t quite so intense. I’ve had 2 or 3 while pregnant… Imagine having a migraine and not being able to take drugs. Yeah, that’s fun!

  3. Judi permalink
    August 12, 2010 12:41 pm

    Poor BAY-Bee! (Said in MsB voice). So sorry Matt. I hope you feel better quickly.

  4. Lindsay permalink
    August 12, 2010 8:20 pm

    Yeah migraines suck, but when you get them often, you can handle them better. YOu develope an entirely new concept of pain.

  5. Victoria Taylor permalink
    August 13, 2010 8:48 pm

    So sorry to hear you got the migraine gene. It is no fun and a terrible way to spend the day?or days, in my case. But some things to try for next time (hopefully there will be no next time). Coffee. I know it sounds wrong, but caffine helps. Get you one of those fru fru kinda eye masks. real soft and silky. Nice and cool, placed on the eyes, really helps. The nausea, well, just deal with it. No perfumes or colognes. Dark room is good. If you have one of those sound machines, try one! Hope it helps, but hope you don’t get anymore.

    • August 13, 2010 8:54 pm

      It totally did work! Weird! I had a hankering for coffee. So weird my body knew that. Seemed counter-intuitive, but definitely worked.

      Sent via BlackBerry by AT&T

Leave a Reply

