Skip to content

Texas Tuesday (1)

March 9, 2010

Day 2 of DSoT, and we are already starting our first segment! Tuesdays will now be known as “Texas Tuesdays,” a day in which an entire post will be dedicated to answering your questions!

#1 – What defines a one-cup day vs. a 5-cup day? And is there a price to pay for those extra “shots?”

Matt – A one-cup day is every morning…and most nights. A 5-cup day is the morning after a huge research project when you still need the willpower to deal with high schoolers. Also, Mondays. Mondays are 5-cup days.

Ashley – I admit I’m too much of a wuss to go for 5 cups. The most I’ll drink during a stressful period is a cup of coffee that night and another one to wake me up in the morning – the stomach protests otherwise. However, my extra “shots” after those two comes from sugared foods. The price to pay is grumpiness and a need to go to the gym…. after I get my nap.

#2 – Of your current hobbies, which would you choose to spend more time, money, and effort on? Why?

Matt – Basketball has to be up there. I am always “in the market” for new basketball shoes. I’m always asking Ash or my friends as to what shoe looks best or is the coolest. I could always use a new pair of basketball shorts or jersey. It comes and goes with the season, and it just happens to be March Madness!

Ashley – I think I would choose cooking. There is just so much out there to try and yet my college budget means I don’t always have the money to buy the thousand and one ingredients some recipes call for. Seriously for Valentine’s Day I made a chocolate pie which meant that I had to buy a pie crust, baking chocolate, vanilla extract, a beater (did I mention I’m new to baking?), etc. I was considered the “bad cook” in my family so it’s nice to see that I actually can cook.

#3 – M&M’s: nuts, no nuts, or peanut butter?

Matt – Nuts. Definitely. Haven’t tried the peanut butter ones. I am quite curious now. Are they anything like Reese’s Pieces?

Ashley – They are all good for different reasons. However, the peanut butter ones are delicious. Peanut butter is somewhat of a weakness of mine. Unfortunately, it’s one of Matt’s weaknesses too (translation: we ALWAYS have peanut butter in both of our apartments).

#4 – Putting away the feeling of pride being a bad thing; what secretly/openly are you proud about yourself?

Matt – I’m proud of my ability to stay positive. There is a lot of negativity out in the world, but we gotta just do the best we can. God will look out for us as long as we keep His will first.

Ashley – I think I would’ve once answered about how much I study and my high ranking. I still study a lot, but I’m prouder of the balance I’ve managed to achieve. I truly dedicated myself to studying in high school at the expense of a social life, my weight, dating, etc. I never would’ve thought I’d come to college and find the man of my dreams, new friends, and that I can stay fit while maintaining good grades. Like Mary Poppins, I am now “practically perfect in every way” (just kidding).

#5 – Given one room in the house to do with what you want, not changing the actual size of the room and with all the money you would need, what would you do, and be specific?  (this can range from bouncy floor,walls & ceilings; to hard wood floor with wood paneling and purple ceiling with a chair; to nothing)

Matt – Really? Easy. Game room with a hardwood floor like a basketball court.

Ashley – Wow. I have no idea. Having never owned a house before, I’m a little lost on all the options. This is going to be a great thing to think about over the next year before Matt and I figure out where we are going to live. At the very least, I’d probably paint the walls since I like color. The Nest has some great ideas though!

#6 – What’s the next movie you’re going to see?  Not what you’d LIKE to GO see, but the next movie you realistically are going to watch.

Matt – Probably Funny People. Rented it from NetFlix.

Ashley – Hmmmm. So Matt and I were in the middle of watching “Green Card” before I got sick (kind of like the original “The Proposal”). Does that count? If not, the next thing I’ll probably watch is “How I Met Your Mother” with my family – I just introduced the series to them.

#7 – Use the keyboard only and make your best smiley/funny/cool face –> like this! 8^)

Matt – Here we go.

<(“) penguin.

Ashley – hmmm. let me see if my bunny will show up.

(\__/)
(>’.'<)
(“)_(“)

#8 – What makes you cry? What makes you pray? What makes you laugh?

Matt – About the only thing that can make me cry is Alzheimer’s, losing a child, and a relationship ending for selfish reasons. What makes me pray? I kinda feel like my whole life is a prayer. Just a constant dialogue with the Big Guy. Good things, bad things, things that we take for granted. They should all be prayed about. As far as laughing? Just about anything. Even the slightest way somebody says something can make me LOL.

Ashley – Lots of things make me cry. I really find myself crying more now than I did ever before. For example, I used to never cry in movies, but I was sobbing the other day watching the end of “Finding Neverland.” I think it’s part of the growing up process. As for prayer, lots of things make me pray both big and small. Some of the smaller and pettier things might be a test that I spent all week preparing for. Something bigger tends to be a family member is ill or a friend has asked for my prayer. Last but not least, tons of things make me laugh. My family, my dogs, Matt, my friends, etc. Which is great because I love to laugh.

#9 – What was your favorite way to use your imagination as a kid?

Matt – In the car, as we would be driving along, I would imagine Sonic or some other cartoon character running and jumping over obstacles alongside the car.

Ashley – I had a very vivid imagination as a kid. My father is a CPA meaning he had to do a lot of driving to clients’ houses. Sometimes I brought dolls and books to occupy myself, but most of the time I played “scenarios.” That is to say, I imagined I was a pop star discovered at the mall, I travelled to Egypt (watch out for the snakes!), I lived in a galaxy far far away, I had fins and friends in Atlantis, etc.  However, now I have trouble making fast decisions because I like to imagine all the different scenarios.

#10 – What is your earliest memory?

Matt – My earliest memory is from age 2ish or 3ish. I was wondering the house as Mom was doing laundry. There was a pile of laundry on the floor next to her. I thought it would be fun to hide in the pile to scare her. I succeeded. I succeeded greatly.

Ashley – Odd enough, my first memory is somewhere around the age of three. I guess you might call it more of a recalled memory since I was dreaming about being at the La Brea Tar Pits with my mother at a very young age (we lived in California until I was three). I had never seen a picture of the tar pits before, but my dream was so vivid and dead on in detail (I looked up a picture later). I also asked my mom about it, and she said we actually had gone to the tar pits. So there you go!

***Mind you, this segment is totally stolen from Roots & Rings, which can be found on our BlogRoll!

(except for #1 which comes from the lovely Florence Bolden)

One Comment leave one →
  1. Judi permalink
    March 10, 2010 8:41 am

    What is your favorite cup of coffee?
    AND
    If you had unlimited amounts of money, what would you do with your lives?

Leave a comment