Skip to content

The One with No AC

June 2, 2010

Ash –

Ever have one of those days where you are exhausted but so proud of all you accomplished in that one day? Or in my case how patient you remained through everything? That was my yesterday. First I had to get up early (and I don’t mean my usual summer “early” of 9-10 a.m.). My first class of the day doesn’t start until 11:30 a.m., but I woke up at 6:30. Why would a non-crazy person do that? Because she doesn’t have a car. Mom requested I leave my car at home for the next couple of weeks so the people in my house would have an extra set of wheels.

Only fair since they’re getting the house ready for the engagement party, and honestly I don’t mind. But there is an obvious downside to not having a car. At least there is when the school trolley doesn’t run during the summer (something I didn’t realize until after I promised away my beloved car). Instead you have to depend on your wonderful fiancee to offer you a ride to and from school. No big deal since we have the same last class of the day. But the morning… remember the part where Matt has a much heavier course load than me? Yeah that means his first class starts at 8 a.m. Which meant I needed to get up at 6:30 to dress, eat breakfast, pack lunch plus snacks, put together the school supplies that I purposely avoided the night before, and be out the door and in Matt’s truck around 7:30.

I figured, “Well I need finish Texas Tuesday anyway. And this will give me some time to continue working on my medical school applications.” But this is what my computer heard, “Please don’t connect to the campus internet. Even if I mess with you for nearly an hour. And should I travel across campus to hand you off to the nice tech guy, please try to be as difficult as possible.” Sigh. Computers. You just can’t seem to teach them right from wrong.

But you got your blog…. eventually! Of course by that point it was time to go to class. British Literature should be a lot of fun. Here’s our reading list. Has anyone heard of the last few? Good? Bad?

  • Richard II by William Shakespeare
  • Gulliver’s Travels by Jonathan Swift
  • Selected Poems by Robert Browning
  • Howards End by E. M. Forster
  • The Go-Between by L. P. Hartley
  • The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro

The teacher even let us out an hour early. Awesome. You know what’s not awesome? When your next teacher has a personal anecdote to share after every other sentence. To be fair, I think I’m really going to enjoy his class. But I was dressed to workout. To run. To play. To be active! Sitting on a gym floor for over an hour hearing about how many mountains he has climbed in Colorado? Or how he has 7 bikes and 8 guitars? Not as much. He had a good ice breaker question though: “What is your guilty pleasure song? The one you switch radio stations when other people are in the room but that you dance to when you’re all alone?” Some of the answers (you’d be surprised by how many of these are guys):

  • “Poker Face” by Lady Gaga
  • Anything Beyonce
  • “Spice Up Your Life” by the Spice Girls
  • Anything Micael Buble
  • “Tik Tok” by Ke$ha
  • Anything Taylor Swift
  • “Honky Tonk Badonkadonk” by Trace Adkins

Yay classes are finished for the day! All I have left is to drop off a request form to the pre-med office, and I can go get food (cue the audible noises coming from my stomach – the lunch I packed for myself might as well have been an appetizer). I e-mailed the office earlier to make sure I could drop it off. I was told anytime except 1:30-2 p.m. Hey it’s 2:30. That works out perfectly! However there’s a sign on the door that says they’ll be closed until 2:45. Might as well wait.

Distracting myself with “Muddled” on the iPhone. Anxiously looking around the deserted hallway at every noise. Finally it’s 2:55 and someone opens the office. Unfortunately it’s not the woman in charge of the request forms. He offers to leave it on her desk, but I have to pay $10 (or they won’t send out my letters). And wouldn’t you know it, I only have a couple $1’s and $20’s. Slowly backing into his office, he explains how he doesn’t have time to help me but promises she’ll be back in a few minutes. Fifteen minutes later he comes back out of his office and suggests “maybe” he can find the money bag in her office. “Oh look. How lucky. I found it in the first drawer I opened.” (I wish I was being sarcastic but that’s exactly what he said.)

Alright one more thing crossed off my list. Stomach is about to declare war on the rest of my body BUT I need to go buy my books before the bookstore closes (since that took a little longer than expected). And shoot I forgot that my apartment is a sauna. I need to report that to the apartment office before they close as well. People at the bookstore are rude. People at the office are rude. But you know what. That’s life sometimes. And even though everyone was a grouch, my AC still isn’t fixed (God bless whoever invented fans), and I need to take care of my homework…. in the long run I’m actually pretty happy. There’s always a lot to be thankful for in life. The fact I got to talk to my mom on Skype. How Matt rushed me to an emergency dinner. Or even something as simple as my date with Glee and a pudding cup in 2 hours.

Mom took this awhile ago in our backyard. Just another one of those silver linings in life 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2010 7:53 am

    i missed glee last night! 😦 granted i missed it for p90x so i think that’s ok. but i can’t watch it because i forgot my ethernet cord in houston. sad day. i hope you get your ac fixed. my apartment was miserable until our’s kicked on again

  2. Flo permalink
    June 2, 2010 8:20 am

    Great blog, Ash – Hey, two of the books I’ve heard of – in movie form: Howard’s End and Remains of the Day. I haven’t read them, but the movies were good as I recall. Have a great day – cooler than the last, I hope.

Leave a comment